We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Madison, WI
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I usually do not write reviews, but I had such a bad exprence, I just had to tell. I am currently in my room, sitting at the desk because this is the only place I feel is clean. I am a very clean person, so this might be ok for some people but it is sure not for me. When I came into the room, I immediately smelt a very musty old smell. I went down to the front desk, and told them it had a bad smell. They did give me a key to another room, but that one just smelled worse. I proceeded to go to bed. I pulled back the bed and their were yellow stains all over the sheets and pillow cases of each of the beds. They were discussing. I than went to take a shower and there was hair all over the shower and all in the sink. I was so grossed out. I am currently sitting at the desk because everything else is not clean at all. If you are looking for a clean place to stay, I warn you, DO NOT stay here. I am very disappointed and I know that I will never stay at another cheap hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaylorTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISMadison, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Madison, WI, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the housekeeping concerns with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,
Erica Waller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 325 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

This motel is well and conveniently situated on the East side of Madison near the freeway and just off the Beltline around Madison. Variety of chain restaurants nearby. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were quite clean and comfortable, but starting to get "dated". Very nice hot continental breakfast. Fruit and cookies in the lobby 24/7 is a nice touch. At about $100 per night the motel is not expensive for the area. You can get a cheaper place in the area, but those places are much less appealing overall.

Room Tip: If possible, the rooms higher up and facing the lagoon are nicer, but might be more pricey too. If n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISMadison, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Madison, WI, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at our conveniently located hotel. I also noticed your comments about the friendly staff, comfortable rooms, and delicious breakfast. I will be sure to share your kind words with the rest of my staff.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,
Erica Waller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Not disappointed...fast wireless, clean, comfortable bed and reasonable price. Not right in town but very easy and fast driving route right to Capital Square in only 5-10 minutes.
Very quiet location at south end of Lake Menona.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Madison, WI, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and experience. We really appreciate it and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Randy Rudd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We visited for a one night stay. The staff was very nice and welcoming.
However, for a room that cost over $100 a night . . .
-Our room was on the first floor, and the only curtain was sheer. We had to rig our comforter to hang in front of the window for privacy.
-It seemed as if some work was done in the room, but was not cleaned up. There were pieces of sheetrock and other debris on the counter and floor. Someone must have been thirsty, as there was red punch and a cup in the garbage.
-Earwigs.

Room Tip: Don't get a first floor room due to lack of privacy (curtain is sheer and parking lot is right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Madison, WI, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us. We apologize for the inconveniences and the cleanliness issues that you experienced with us.

Sincerely,

Andrea Hunter
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Third floor north is the nicest view. there's a lagoon and occasionally some kaykers, canoeists or stand-up boarders to watch. B'fast good. Mostly well kept. Always a pot o' joe and some cookies and fruit in the lobby.

Room Tip: We always ask for high up, north side. You can see a lagoon and canoeists, kayakers and paddle boar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dicksdeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Madison, WI, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and for the wonderful description of our backyard.

Randy Rudd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for a college visit to the University of Wisconsin-Madison. We had the two-room parlor suite. The separate room is perfect for putting the little one to bed earlier, while staying up for a few hours with the older two. The suite was extremely roomy. We did enjoy swimming at the pool after check-in. The pool area was clean and nice! The thermostat in the room with the king did not seem equal to the front room. With both rooms set at the same temperature, the front room was almost cold while the room with the king was a bit warm. Breakfast was good, but it took time to refill the waffle batter, juice machine, etc. My daughter liked the burrito. My on-line reservation specified a king bed in the one room, and a single and double pull-out in the other room. Upon arrival, we saw that the single was not there. We were charged $10 for a rollaway. I did follow-up with customer service via email to explain the discrepancy. The manager agreed that the on-line description did not match the room and gave me bonus points for a free night.

Room Tip: The two-room suite is very roomy for a larger family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Madison, WI, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay while visiting the UW campus. We apologize again for the room description discripancy.

Randy Rudd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here on a recent business trip. I got an extremely good rate which made up for a lot. Overall the facility seemeed rather worn. I was upgraded into a suite which did not feel very roomy - old design. The room was ok - not as nice as a Residence Inn but much cheaper. The only problem was an extremely heavy comforter - even with the thermostat set at 65 I was too warm. The internet servise was very fast and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Madison, WI, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your stay with us. We very much appreciate the feedback and we are happy to inform you that we are currently renovating and updating our hotel.

Randy Rudd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
6.1 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Madison
Days Inn & Suites Madison
#27 of 64 in Madison
558 reviews
8.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Madison Hotel
Sheraton Madison Hotel
#26 of 64 in Madison
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Madison, WI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Madison, WI

Address: 400 River Pl, Madison, WI 53716-4028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: $80 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Madison, WI 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home when you stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson in Madison, WI. Each room features a king or two queen size beds with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. The Free High Speed Internet Access will keep you in touch with work or family. The great central location is just minutes from Downtown Madison, University of Wisconsin and the State Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Madison, WI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison Hotel Madison
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Madison
Country Inn Monona
Monona Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing