We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fountain

The Fountain
Ranked #460 of 975 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Bar, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We will DEFINITELY be back...the food was great, the server was super friendly and attentive (but not annoying/let us sit and chat too) and the atmosphere of the dining area can't be beat...a definite gem in the Madison area that I would not have guessed from walking by it in the past...

The burgers were huge and cooked perfectly! I would definitely recommend "The Fountain" burger. Super yummy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I love the Fountain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

picking up where Cafe Montmartre left off, the Fountain is a gem of a nightclub! Late night food rocks very hard; bar staff (esp. Craig) attentive & cool: a winner!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vincent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had about 12 people for a post-meeting dinner; our table was all set up when we arrived. Pleasant service. Burger was cooked the way I liked, with those great sweet-potato fried. A couple of local beers as well. Not too noisy, made for pleasant conversation.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
225 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great bar food and amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just got back from a meal at the fountain and can't wait to post a review that is very well deserved. The service was cheerful, efficient and thorough. Ten of us were seated immediately. I had a bun-less black and blue burger. If I had any quibble, it would be that bringing the burger on one small plate, my cole slaw on another and a pickle on a third plate got awkward, but everything was fresh and tasty. Around the table, my colleagues also raved about the cheese curds and the Reuben sandwich.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gazooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is just a really comfortable place. It 's got a nice, relaxed atmosphere, and the food is tasty. During the summer months there is outdoor seating available right on State Street,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TandGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain also viewed

 

Been to The Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing