We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fountain

The Fountain
Ranked #499 of 975 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Bar, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is just a really comfortable place. It 's got a nice, relaxed atmosphere, and the food is tasty. During the summer months there is outdoor seating available right on State Street,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TandGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A favorite for meeting friends after work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Menu is mostly burgers and sandwiches, but the food is good, and there is a good selection of beers. My favorite menu option is the "build your own." Start with black bean burger, portobello, chicken, or beef, then add whatever you want: local cheeses, grilled veggies, sauces, and many other toppings. Pay the extra dollar for the sweat potato fries.

There is both a smaller front room facing State St and a roomier back room off Dayton St. Beautiful old wooden bar in the front and bar memorabilia give it a homey feeling. In warm weather, you can sit outside and people watch.

I've never been in a hurry, so I can't comment about the speed of service, but the staff is very friendly and welcoming. There is often music in the back room, and this bar is also a favorite gathering place for leftie political causes and celebrations, i.e. all of Madison's hometown folks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WiscPedalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
148 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“New favorite lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Fountain is my new favorite lunch spot on the Square/State Street. Laid back atmosphere, good menu, fast service (but not fussy service). So far I've had the mushroom & swiss burger, BLT, clam chowder, sweet potato fries. Loved the clam chowder (only served on Fridays), the mushroom & swiss burger was cooked perfectly and wasn't overloaded with fixings . . it actually stayed together and stayed in the bun when I ate it, always a plus! Sweet potato fries were tasty, BLT was a perfect BLT. I will definitely continue to test out the menu . . . hopefully I will not gain 10 pounds! As for the service it's exactly what you need for lunch . . casual, order in, order up, bill - nothing fancy on that end. The place hasn't been packed during lunch, if it was too get packed I can see the need for more servers, for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank uwred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
164 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Friday Night Fish Fry is Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's great to find a new spot for Friday night fish. After being disappointed with a few of the top-rated places around Madison, we've scored a winner! Right in the heart of the city, (rather than a drive to an off-the-beaten-path small town) the meal and drinks we had were excellent. At $10.99 it's also a great deal. From Manhattens to Old-Fashioneds, our libations were a good start. The wait staff was prompt and friendly. The star of the show was the cod dinner! Lightly-battered, piping hot and delicious. The cheesy potatoes and coleslaw side were also yummy. We just had to sample desserts -- carrot cake and chocolate buttercream cake -- both declared winners. The waitress didn't even seem to mind that we lingered over dessert and coffee for quite a while, and the live music starting at eight was a nice touch too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JAP1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Cheese Curds?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Visited on business, very friendly staff and food was excellent. Had to try out the cheese curds (tasty, but probably cut 5 years off my life). BLT was also quite good, though the bacon was charred a bit (just add water to the pan, come on people!). Would come again

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Happygoluckyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain also viewed

 

Been to The Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing