We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (774)
Filter reviews
774 results
Traveler rating
493
160
73
35
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
493
160
73
35
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel red camp randall honor bar monroe street field house polished concrete boutique hotel dairy bar football stadium cool hotel soaking tub mini bar great shower chain hotels front desk staff living room uw madison
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 774 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel feels new, hip and fresh. The front desk woman was not particularly friendly. She got her job done but she seemed to have some attitude. I had a question about parking a couple of hours before official check in and she said it wasn’t possible at all. I parked somewhere else and checked in and looked at the parking lot and there were plenty of open spaces. The room was nice, spacious and clean. I was a bit confused what came with the room (they had a lot of little stuff) so I asked about the coffee pods. The front desk person said the coffee was complimentary. I was frustrated that they didn’t restock the coffee and creamer for the second day. Seemed I had to ask for complimentary (parking and coffee) items and that was a hassle — especially since staff wasn’t particularly friendly.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank AuntieMRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

Great stay, but needs more local art. I'm not sure why all the artwork was bland and generic in a place that isn't a big hotel chain. I appreciate that Hotel Red is a sponsor of the local arts by sponsoring DABL, but purchasing local artwork for their walls would mirror the local culture and flavor of the city. I'm not sure why places proudly advertise the local food and beer that they serve, yet the artwork is rarely done locally.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank philipsalamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllieS335, Marketing & Promotions Coordinator at HotelRED, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Hi Philip,
Thank you for staying at HotelRED! We appreciate your feedback regarding the artwork at the hotel. While there isn't currently local artwork our guest rooms, the artwork above each guest room bed is a visual representation of some of the most popular local phrases and places. The artwork displayed in the Monroe Room is provided by a local arts incubator, Arts + Literature Laboratory. The iconic images of a popular Madison-based photographer, Zane Williams, can be seen throughout the hotel, as well.
However, we will keep your comments in mind as we go through our upcoming expansion project.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

I wanted to love this hotel. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite that was not inexpensive. After settling in for the night, we realized our balcony door lock was broken, leaving me anxious. Additionally, the soaking tub drain did not stop so the tub was unusable. In theory, this was the perfect hotel. In reality, I had a hard time giving it more than 2 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TravelMamaCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllieS335, Marketing & Promotions Coordinator at HotelRED, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review. Our sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. It is understandable that the broken door lock and unusable tub put a damper in your stay. Your concerns will be addressed with the team to ensure that this does not repeat itself for future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

We were in town for a medical emergency for a family member and was looking for a place close to the hospital the quality and price of the 2 room suite we rented for the evening was amazing. Very updated and modern room very comfortable and spacious. We highly recommend Hotel Red and I know if we need to stay in Madison again we will be staying at Hotel Red also want to add if you were to be attending a badgers game that is where to stay directly across form the stadium and restaurant and bar on property.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllieS335, Marketing & Promotions Coordinator at HotelRED, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

Hi Thomas,

Thank you so much for staying choosing HotelRED, even though it was under unfortunate circumstances. Our proximity is conveniently located to many prominent Madison areas, including the hospital. As always, we appreciate the kind words and the recommendation to others. We hope you're able to stay with us again in the near future, hopefully for fun or relaxation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Fun, contemporary hotel in great location to camp randall... complimentary breakfast buffet on gameday was a plus.. restaurant had just started a friday night fish fry, and it was good and convenient, stayed in a suite with balcony overlooking stadium and amenities in suite make it perfect to have friends over before the game...

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sherpa55245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllieS335, Marketing & Promotions Coordinator at HotelRED, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Hi Sherpa55245,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts about your recent stay with us. Thank you for choosing us for your Game Day lodging! We know how important it is to provide excellent service so our guests can have the best experience possible. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet and Friday Fish Fry. We hope to welcome you back again next time you're in Madison!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews