We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Enjoyed My Stay”
Review of HotelRED

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HotelRED
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I Enjoyed My Stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Before booking my room anywhere, I read the reviews so I was aware of many of the complaints against HotelRED. My wife and I went there for a one day visit to Madison and just wanted to hang out away from the kids.

HotelRED is a unique hotel and not for everybody. The use of concrete throughout the hotel (floors, ceilings) will put people off but I rather enjoyed the look. I can see why people would complain about the shower because it does look to be complicated but I figured it out pretty fast and really enjoyed it. Quite honestly, it was one of the top ten showers I've had in a hotel room. The rooms are spacious and bed was very comfortable. An unexpected plus was a 24 hour pass for use of the city's public bikes and complimentary paddle boat use at a nearby lake. We took full advantage of both.

I would have given the hotel 5 stars except for the following reasons:
1. Showers were mostly clean but there was dirt or mold at the bottom corners.
2. Because of the concrete and the semi open layout of the room, the room became humid whenever the shower was running. I turned on the AC to help with this but not sure how bearable that would be during the winter months.

It's the little things for me and the hotel nailed most of it. I wasn't planning on heading back to Madison but I am now and will stay again at HotelRED.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank trackstar1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    132
    68
    31
    9
See reviews for
175
198
20
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mequon, wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just got back from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We stayed with my daughter and family with a one year old who was crawling. The floor was dirty when we came in and even after 3 phone calls and one person to person contact the floor never got cleaned, it was FILTHY, not even swept.

Kitchenette very sparse, exactly 4 cups, bowls, etc. in the 2 bedroom suite with a pullout which sleeps six. No blender or toaster, even upon request. The AC in our bedroom was incredibly loud, shower control so tight it was barely movable (didn't bother talking to them about this since they didn't even clean the floor).

For the price I was definitely disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorie71050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay. I am very sorry you had several issues. With this information I can work with our team to improve on everything that happened.
If we say we’re going to clean the floor then we need to clean the floor. It should have been properly cleaned to begin with and then when you raised the issue we should have rectified it immediately. There is no excuse for this and we are all certainly sorry.

As for not having a blender and toaster, we will go out and buy both right away. It is a great idea to have both since guests clearly request them. Thank for the great idea.

Again, I am very sorry for the issues throughout your stay. If you ever need anything in Madison please let me know, I’d love to help.

I hope you have a great summer.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were in Mad-town for a 50th birthday party in Shorewood Hills.
Recommended by our dear friend. She was spot on!
Hip, cement, clean lines, and friendly.
Wonderful staff. Have a hotel shuttle. Ben took care of us and loves and knows Madison well. Thank you Ben!
Great mini bar stocked with WI high-end products.
Great out-door balcony
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Walls maybe a bit thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review of your stay. I’m really happy to hear you enjoyed yourself. I am also happy that you were able to use the shuttle. We are very lucky to have Ben.

Please let me know if you ever in Madison again, we’d love to make your next stay even better.

I hope you have a great rest of the summer and thanks again.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel. Very contemporary, so if you want typical "mid west" don't stay here. But we loved it. Large rooms, very comfortable bed, and absolutely fantastic shower. Service good but just lacking something - not sure what. But saying that, I will definitely stay here again if I return to Madison.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed at HotelRED for a personal getaway of a few days in Madison. This boutique hotel was everything I had hoped it would be, and even a bit more. I had a king executive room, which was extremely spacious, and had a well-equipped kitchenette and a fantastic bathroom. The multi-jet shower really is worth raving over. The bed was very comfortable, and the wifi worked with no problems. The little extras are what makes it worth coming to this hotel. The bathrobes were plush, and the hotel staff ran a pair of slippers up to my room to keep my feet warm on the cold floors. There is a hotel shuttle that will take you where you need to go within about a 3 mile radius (you do need to pre-book it), which was nice on an evening when I wanted to go downtown for a meal. The one drawback is that it is a bit of a hike to downtown - it is about a 30-40 minute walk to the Capitol building, and about 25 to the UW Madison Union or State street. But there are nice amenities nearby, including Indie Coffee and a Trader Joe's (good for stocking up the in-room fridge). Parking is included, and I never had trouble finding a spot. The chocolates they provided on arrival (from a chocolatier a couple of blocks away) were delicious!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STILLWATER
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Don't be deceived by the exterior. This boutique contemporary hotel is delightfully warm. We were greeted by charming staff who treated all four of us to local gourmet chocolates. The rooms were quiet, and perfect location for us to explore the campus. I imagine during a football game the ambience is different as it sits next to the stadium.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012travellingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us at HotelRED. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the Maurie’s chocolates. We’re very lucky to have such a great local chocolatier so close. I also hope your exploration of UW was successful.

If I can ever help with anything in the future please let me know. Thank you again and I hope you have a wonderful summer.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We (two couples) came to Madison for the weekend and stayed here. What a great find. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, including Ethan, one if the chefs, who helped us with our bags and gave us some yummy strawberry cake to sample. Free biking and boating. Comfortable rooms.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jrmsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review of HotelRED. We are very thankful for both the review and your choice of hotels.

I was very excited to read the nice comments about Ethan. We are very luck y to have him as part of the team. He has been with us since opening and his joy has not quite since.

If you’re ever in Madison again please let me know. I’d love to try and make your stay even better.

Thank you again and I hope you have a wonderful summer!

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
1.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
713 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western PLUS InnTowner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HotelRED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HotelRED

Property: HotelRED
Address: 1501 Monroe St, Madison, WI 53711-2020
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HotelRED 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay, work, and play in one of 48 modern guestrooms and suites at HotelRED, Madison’s newest and most contemporary full-service urban boutique hotel. With vivid colors and sleek Euro-design, HotelRED surrounds guests in absolute indulgence and comfort. Join us for a cocktail, Wisconsin micro-brew, and appetizers at our lobby bar and bistro TheWise, the smoothest place to chill in town. Business meetings, private parties, and banquet facilities are available. Enjoy the local color! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your HotelRED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing