We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Madison”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of HotelRED

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HotelRED
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Madison”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Was only able to stay one night here due to other commitments, wished I could have stayed longer. Location is great, close to campus and State St. action. (But not TOO close) Thought noise could be an issue but was not. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was good sized and very clean. Bathroom was exceptional. Everything has a very modern, sleek look and feel. Finally, Madison has a hotel as hip as it is.

Room Tip: Hotel has a variety of different room floor plans, check web site be fore deciding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. It sounds like you really enjoyed your time in Madison and at HotelRED. I will certainly pass on your kind words to our team.

If you’re ever in Madison again please let me know, I’d love to help make your visit even better.
I hope you have a fantastic spring and thanks again.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    124
    62
    29
    6
See reviews for
168
192
19
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have stayed in many of the Hotels near campus in Madison. Proximity to Camp Randall and the South Union is very good. At this end of Madison, this hotel is a must stay. Younger traveling companions say this is their favorite hotel and they loved the bathroom amenities and shower.

Great Badger spirit.

Room Tip: A balcony room facing Camp Randall Football Stadium s a very good view. On a game day, with a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hibbing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us at HotelRED. I’m very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I highly recommend joining us for a Badger Game Day. It’s a sea of red! If you’re ever in town for a game please let me know, I’d love to help make your experience even better.

Thanks again and I hope you have a wonderful spring (if it ever comes!).

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Madison is a rough place to visit in February, but this boutique hotel was clean, modern, and interesting. The staff was helpful. And the artisan chocolates they give to all visitors were tasty! Worth a visit

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you very much for the nice review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit (and the Maurie’s chocolates!).

Madison certainly is a rough place to visit in February, particularly this winter. I grew up in the Minnesota and can’t remember a winter as bad as this. Hopefully you’ll be able to visit again in the spring or summer; I promise there will be better weather!

Thank you again for staying with us. Please let me know if I can ever help with anything in the future.

Have a great week.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I went to visit my son, and chose the Hotelred because the pictures looked great and thought it would be the right fit. While the accommodations were beautiful, and the staff very accommodating , the distance from state at and the university was just too far.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank saltysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

First of all, I loved the hotel room. I thought that the room was clean, and the bed was the best bed I've ever slept in. I thought that the rainfall shower was amazing too, but my boyfriend was not a fan. His first shower was scalding hot, and his 2nd shower was ice cold. This hotel is not that big, and it is new, so there should be no excuses for running out of hot water at 9 am. I also loved that checkout time was noon, and that pets are welcome, even though we did not bring ours on this particular trip.

I was not such a fan of the staff, however. Everybody was very nice, but we wanted to use the shuttle to get to the hockey game on Friday night. We signed up for the shuttle and asked if we were to meet here in the lobby. The girl at the desk told us yes, you can meet right here. Well it turns out we were supposed to go to the ground floor and meet the shuttle at the back entrance by the valet. Twice, the guy driving us pulled out right into oncoming traffic, nearly causing more than one accident. Secondly, he dropped us off like 2 blocks from the hockey game and opened the door. There were lots of people in the shuttle going to different places, and none of us knew who was supposed to get out at this spot. After he told us this was our destination, we had to ask him where we were supposed to walk to. When he picked us up again, he told us the name of some streets that we should meet him at. If we are staying in a hotel in Madison, we are obviously not from Madison, and therefore you should not expect us to know where we are going at any point.

The next day we called the shuttle to come pick us up again, and this time a girl was driving. We walked to the shuttle, around to the side entrance, and tried to open the door but it was locked. We knocked on the window for the girl to let us in, and then while I was holding onto the handle of the shuttle, she started driving off and a minute later we were getting a phone call from her trying to find us. "Um, I was standing at the shuttle knocking on the window.....????"

Then Sunday morning came around and we were finishing up our showers and getting ready to check out by noon. We had our do not disturb sign on our door. At 11:40 am I am standing in the bathroom (which is right by the main door) with the door open, only half dressed and curling my hair, when the maid unlocks the door and starts to come into the room. She sees me in the bathroom half dressed and closes the door again. When I went to check out I verified with the front desk that checkout is in fact at noon and told the girl that the maid barged in on me in the bathroom. There was no apology, just an excuse, "Well we were full last night, so the maids are pretty busy, and sometimes people forget to take the signs off the door when they leave, and she was just checking to see if the room was available or not." EXCUSE ME????? First of all, you need to have some sort of system in place that allows the maids to know if the room is empty or not. Second, if she isn't sure, then she should KNOCK first. Thirdly, if I am complaining to you that I was barged in on while in the bathroom, you freaking apologize to me, you don't make excuses!!! This should never happen under any circumstances!

My final gripe about this place is that they seem to be advertising the theme "going green." There is even a sign in the bathroom that encourages guests to save water and "shower together". Another sign about how to reuse towels, etc. BUT...this hotel room came with a dishwasher. We used two coffee cups on our first morning (none on the second morning because they never replaced our coffee supply), and instead of just washing them by hand, we found our two cups had been placed in the dishwasher and the dishwasher was started. If that isn't the biggest waste of water I have ever seen, I don't know what is.

I would probably stay here again, just because it was in a convenient location and the room itself was great, but the staff needs some serious retraining in my opinion if this place is going to make it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank okruhlik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us at HotelRED. I am sad to hear about the services issues you had during your stay. I am personally very sorry for our miscommunication, lack of understanding and compassion.

All of your issues should not have happened. We should certainly communicate better with you in our shuttle. The shuttle service is great but only if we effectively work with our guests. Next, our housekeeper never should have entered the room in the manner you stated. We need to ensure we fallow all of our room entry procedures every time. Lastly, our team must understand the situation you presented us; we must listen, apologize and react properly. We did none of the above.

With our comments I can use your example as a training guide to ensure this does not happen again.

I am very sorry these incidents happen to you. If there is any way I can help further please let me know.

I hope you have a wonderful end of winter.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Traveling to Madison once a month is made pleasurable with a stay at Hotel Red. Always I am greeted by friendly staff and clean, classy rooms. The bar staff is very professional and live music creates a great ambiance. Great location and original atmosphere!

Room Tip: A room facing Camp Randall with a balcony is your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bomarjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for an event at Uni Wisconsin. Great hotel - clean, modern and very functional. Due to the weather we decided to eat here as well and the food was simply outstanding. We had a one bed suite and having a bath tub in the room was a little weird but room was fine if not a little awkwardly shaped. No fault of the hotel but the snow outside combined with concrete floors in the hotel room led to a bit of a messy floor in our room. Staff friendly and restaurant service very quick. Would stay here again and would look forward to doing so,

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 565NOSTAY565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
1.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HotelRED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HotelRED

Property: HotelRED
Address: 1501 Monroe Street, Madison, WI 53711
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HotelRED 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay, work, and play in one of 48 modern guestrooms and suites at HotelRED, Madison’s newest and most contemporary full-service urban boutique hotel. With vivid colors and sleek Euro-design, HotelRED surrounds guests in absolute indulgence and comfort. Join us for a cocktail, Wisconsin micro-brew, and appetizers at our lobby bar and bistro TheWise, the smoothest place to chill in town. Business meetings, private parties, and banquet facilities are available. Enjoy the local color! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HotelRED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing