We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, rooms & best location for badger football visitors”
Review of HotelRED

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HotelRED
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Right across from the stadium. Outstanding service, comfortable beds, modern clean rooms. We even got a complimentary ride to and from dinner.Though this hotel is long walk or ride to state street you can't beat the location for coming in town for a game. The bloody Mary's at the bar are ranked in my top 3 with bacon and a strawsage stick even. Can't say enough about this place. We came in town for the Badger vs BYU football game and the guys always stay closer to state street but said the Red is the place from now on. Expensive but worth it. The breakfast joint next door "dairy bar" or something is worth the wait if there is a line out front...they move 'em fast.

Room Tip: The elevator can be slow. Go for floor 2 and take the stairs when u have no luggage with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreshaAschenbrener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us over a Badger game day weekend. It sounds like you had a great time! Your kind words about our hotel are so appreciated. I will make sure to let all of our team know.

If you ever need anything over a future visit to Madison please let me know. I’d love to try and make your stay even better.

I hope you have a wonderful winter and thank you again for everything.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 703 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay in a two bedroom suite in October. I couldn't ask for a better experience! The location of HotelRED was perfect. My room's balcony overlooked Camp Randall and we were minutes from capitol square.

Room were perfect. Modern but comfortable and inviting.

I had lunch at The Wise and enjoyed an awesome special. I ran into one of the cooks while heading back up to my room and he was extremely friendly, asking what I had and how it was. He obviously knew I was with the large group in their private meeting space. Those little touches made a great experience!

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick_Argires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is literally across the street from Camp Randall so if you're here for a Badger game you cannot get much better. My daughter was touring the campus and I was sick so I got plenty of time to get to know our room and she was in walking distance of everything she needed to do. The rooms are modern with neutral black, white and greys and of course red as an accent color. There is only a walk in shower in the bathroom but that's ok because it was a great shower with body jets and a tall overhead shower head which is great if you are tall like we are. Rooms were clean and had all the basic amenities and free WIFi. The staff was polite and efficient. It has underground parking. That is nice considering the location. The only downside is since it is close to the campus there is a lot of traffic, if you are a light sleeper like I am you might want a higher floor or a room not facing Monroe St. There isn't much they can do about that so I don't count it against the hotel because it's excellent in every other way. I highly recommend this hotel if you have business at UW

Room Tip: Light sleeper? Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went to the University of Wisconsin for Homecoming and stayed here and really had the best time since the location is perfect, the service is excellent and they will even drive you to anywhere in Madison with their Hotel Excalade/SUV- and they will pick you up after a night on State Street! Too Good not to try it, and the lobby bar is excellent!

Room Tip: If you want the best in Madison with a different type of upscale new hotel- try this place for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lblivas148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us over Homecoming. I hope you were able to enjoy your trip back to Madison. I’m glad to hear you made good use of our shuttle, we love taking guests around to all the great spots Madison has to offer.

If you ever need anything over a future stay please don’t hesitate to ask. Thanks for the great review and I hope you have a great rest of fall.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I don't know what I can add to the other positive reviews. After 5 nights in Door County B&Bs, we were ready to switch gears to a modern hotel in the city - and HotelRED was perfect! We love boutique hotels and have stayed in several great ones in NY and Chicago, and were excited when we found HotelRED online while planning our first visit to Madison. Loved the location amidst the campus. All the staff were so friendly. Jyothi was SO helpful - drove us to Monona Terrace/Capitol area in the shuttle and offered good tips for meals, shops, etc. which were right on target to what we like :) We didn't realize until we got home that we'd been upgraded from a King Executive to a Premier Studio - thank you! It was a fabulous room (317) with a great view onto the stadium. Very pleasantly surprised to find free parking at the hotel; totally unexpected. Bar staff very pleasant and breakfast at Wise very good. We both loved the shower and the décor. We will absolutely be back!

Room Tip: Room 317 is a premier studio looking over Camp Randall stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuffyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us at the end of your Wisconsin voyage. We truly appreciate all the nice things you said about us, especially regarding Jyothi. Jyothi has been with us since day one and is a true asset. I can safely say she knows Madison better than anyone I know.

Please let me know if you’re ever in Madison again, I can do whatever it takes to make your stay even better. Have a great fall and thanks again.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My sister in laws and myself stayed at HotelRED a few weekends ago and had a wonderful time! We were celebrating my upcoming birthday and the RED employees were fantastic! First time there and not the last! We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite which was great. Loved everything about the hotel, room and staff!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you so much for not only staying with us but for writing such a nice review. It sounds like you had a great birthday celebration at HotelRED!

I am delighted to hear you were treated well by our team. We are very lucky to have such a wonderful staff.

If you ever need anything over a future stay please let me know, I’d love to help out however I can. Thanks again and have a wonderful rest of fall.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at HotelRED earlier this year for a special occasion and have been back a number of times for other events. Great rooms, great food and cocktails, and the level of service is outstanding. Ray and Kayla especially went out of their way to make our visits special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
769 reviews
1.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
1.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HotelRED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HotelRED

Address: 1501 Monroe St, Madison, WI 53711-2020
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: $131 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HotelRED 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay, work, and play in one of 48 modern guestrooms and suites at HotelRED, Madison’s newest and most contemporary full-service urban boutique hotel. With vivid colors and sleek Euro-design, HotelRED surrounds guests in absolute indulgence and comfort. Join us for a cocktail, Wisconsin micro-brew, and appetizers at our lobby bar and bistro The Wise, the smoothest place to chill in town. Business meetings, private parties, and banquet facilities are available. Enjoy the local color! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your HotelRED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing