We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Red/Most accommodating hotel.”
Review of HotelRED

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HotelRED
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
1 review
“Hotel Red/Most accommodating hotel.”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Our stay at Hotel Red was, by far, one of the best experiences we have had at a hotel. The entire staff, at every level, was very courteous, pleasant, friendly and efficient. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fremont80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you very much for both staying with us at HotelRED and your kind words about our staff. I will certainly let everyone know what you said. They always love hearing what guests have to say. If you’re ever in Madison again please don’t hesitate to let me know if you need anything at all. I hope you have a great week.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    128
    67
    30
    7
See reviews for
173
196
19
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

HotelRed, one night for business. Interesting hotel, much like the W hotel with bare concrete floors and ceilings, which gave off an acrid wet concrete smell which was somewhat annoying. The floor grew cold, with outside temperatures in the upper fifties. My location overlooking Monroe Street was noisy with the morning and evening rush hour traffic, trucks and buses.

The staff was overwhelmingly courteous and helpful. The item that really irritated me was the fact that all news channels, MSNBC CNN, CNNHLN, and Fox were listed, however on the 3 flat screen tv's in my room none of them would receive a signal for Fox, even though it was listed on the channel menu in the room. A technical glitch or deliberate attempt to censor the news in this great city?

I will leave that for future discussion. Overall an average hotel, but I think I would have rather had double points at the downtown Hilton!

Room Tip: Warm weather? I would choose a room (odd number) on the Monroe street side, despite some minor traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwilliams901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason I, General Manager at HotelRED, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you very much for both your recent stay at HotelRED and your feedback. I want to personally apologize for not meeting your expectations. All of the issues during your stay were within our control and therefore we must do a better job of quickly solving the problems. In particular we were experience problems with two television channels, including FOX, throughout the week. We were able to resolve the issue by the end of the week (an issue with the floodgate) but it still interrupted your stay and for that I am sorry.

If you ever need anything in the future please let me know personally. I hope you have a wonderful summer and thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jason Ilstrup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I truly enjoy staying at boutique hotels and HotelRED is a winner! From the pleasant staff at the front desk...big shout outs to Jyothi and Jessie to the overall design, decor and esthetics of this establishment, HotelRED should be highly considered when planning a visit to Madison, WI.
Carefully tucked away in a residential neighborhood near Camp Randall StadiumHotelRED is located on popular Monroe Street, which offers a plethora of shopping, dining options and things to do and see.
My room was fantastic! I stayed in the King Executive, which was artfully decorated with modern furniture and clean lines coupled with the signature red, black and white color palette which made the room welcoming and warm. This room had a kitchenette-dishwasher, fridge, etc which blended seamlessly with the room's decor.
I found the hotel to be quiet (Mid April), the personnel from the housekeeping staff to the front desk to be professional and caring and the overall aura of the hotel peaceful and serene.
Without hesitation or reservation-no pun intended-I highly recommend HotelRED to be the 'it' hotel in Madison, WI.
Just to give full disclosure, I did luck up and find this hotel on Jettsetters, so my room rate was discounted however, because of my positive experience I would pay full price for my room if I was to return to Madison, WI.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SParris11216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We pulled into the parking lot during an extremely busy time, and had not checked in yet. The valet attendant told us that he already had our name and would provide free valet service. I don't usually find free parking at higher-end hotels like this. When we checked in, the front desk staff was very friendly, and offered us free candy (red gummy bears, etc.) and also a complimentary adult beverage (some red vodka drink). The room was incredible. The floors and ceilings are all concrete, and the decorations are extremely modern and unique. We had a King executive, but it had plenty of space for two of us. The shower is very large and had multiple jets for a full-body experience. The free shuttle service is first-class. The driver took us to State Street in a full-size black Suburban, and he was extremely friendly. When we came back, we checked out the Wise lounge for a couple drinks, and the service was top-notch there as well. Even the mini-bar in the room was not over-the-top expensive. I actually thought the prices were fairly reasonable compared to standard mini-bar prices. I booked this room online for $179 at a AAA rate, and it was probably one of the best hotel values I've ever received. We will definitely try to stay hear again whenever we come to Madison.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siouxspuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marsfield, wi
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The HotelRED is a brand new boutique hotel across the street from Camp Randall Stadium, immediately adjacent to Mickey's Diner and on the biking/hiking trail. We toured State Street for the restaurants and stores. The hotel gave us a shuttle ride to the beginning of the strip. We made arrangements for them to pick us up after our show at the Overture Center, about 1.5 miles from the hotel. Unfortunately they overcommitted but they paid for a Green taxi (a Prius only company) to drive us back. We only waited about 2 minutes!
The hotel has spared no expense on furnishings. We stayed in a 1 bedroom with a large balcony and fully equiped kitchen. The shower was incredible with more knobs and whistles than I could figure out! The towels and bedding were luxurious. The style is quite modern - chrome and steel, with red accents. I loved it.
The Wise is the hotel's restaurant and bar. The drinks and food were great. The service attentive without being overbearing.
My recommendation is to check out this hotel now, before it gets too popular to reserve a room!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillpickle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I attended a business conference at Monona Terrace Convention Center April 20-21 and had a heck of a time finding a hotel with space available. I ended up at HotelRED and was just glad to have a room somewhere.

The decor is hip, modern, and in my opinion - trying way too hard. But that's a matter of personal preference. I admit I was inwardly rolling my eyes at the 80s, black/white/red motif (which granted is executed in a very 'hip' fashion and is appropriate given the campus location). BUT THEN.

I slept in a super comfortable bed on some of the best pillows ever. Woke in the morning to a 'tower shower' with adjustable massagers. Dried off with soft, sumptuous, thick towels. And had a cup of coffee so delicious, when I got home I bought KCups of that brand.

The staff is friendly and enthusiastic, there are nice 'extras' like complimentary vodka lemonade and chocolates on check-in, and the facility is NEW (front desk personnel said it was built 4 years ago but they were then "on hiatus" so they had just opened fall 2011), super clean, and super quiet.

There is a bar/restaurant I didn't try, free on-site parking, and if you're going anywhere on campus or on the isthmus the location is great.

Room Tip: Executive suite (their smallest suite) comes with a kitchenette complete with fridge, microwave, 2-b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I travel to Madison often for business, and attended undergrad in the university as well. The location of HotelRed in Madison cannot be beat if you are attending a football game. The suite I stayed in had a balcony that faced Camp Randall, which is a dream for anyone going to a Badger football game. The hotel is very new and has a very upscale feeling to it. The staff is very friendly. The parking for the hotel is right underneath the building, and especially convenient for those who have tried to park near Camp Randall on a football Saturday. The rooms are very nicely appointed with new appliances, a very comfortable bed, and modern fixtures. The shower in the bathroom is amazing. Overall, this is a great hotel and I would recommend it to anyone attending any university function or business.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the suites that have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trailtroooper125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
714 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
703 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western PLUS InnTowner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HotelRED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HotelRED

Property: HotelRED
Address: 1501 Monroe St, Madison, WI 53711-2020
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HotelRED 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay, work, and play in one of 48 modern guestrooms and suites at HotelRED, Madison’s newest and most contemporary full-service urban boutique hotel. With vivid colors and sleek Euro-design, HotelRED surrounds guests in absolute indulgence and comfort. Join us for a cocktail, Wisconsin micro-brew, and appetizers at our lobby bar and bistro TheWise, the smoothest place to chill in town. Business meetings, private parties, and banquet facilities are available. Enjoy the local color! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your HotelRED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing