We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Gift At Family Christmas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnuson Grand Hotel
Ranked #50 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Howards Grove
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Special Gift At Family Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We decided to hold our Family Christmas In Madison WI this year. We spent a weekend checking our the Hotels. At the Magnuson Grand Hotel, we met the General Manager Aaron. We told him what we were looking for. We needed (5) rooms for (2) nights. Santa gave us an early Christmas Present. That being Aaron & The Magnuson Hotel. From the first time we came in to check things out, Aaron took us under his wing to make sure everything was right .From before we got there, to check-in and throughtout our stay. He accepted our family as his & was there for all our needs. When Aaron was not there Kevin was there , he too was tremendous. What a God-Send those two were. The facility, rooms, breakfast were great .From the front desk to room associates, everyone was so pleasant and concerned on what our needs were. A treasure Is awaiting you at The Magnuson Grand Hotel Madison WI

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueBobK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    45
    17
    19
    17
See reviews for
61
28
13
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Don't think I've ever been to a hotel that offered 24-hour access to their pool and jacuzzi which was amazing after arriving late and thrilled to be able to relax and enjoy it. The beds were comfortable, room spacious and clean, front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed the hot breakfast items, fresh blueberries and rasberries and yogurt! Will be our only hotel destination in Madison!

Room Tip: Easy access off the Interstate and 12/18
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SEB62677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We check in and enjoyed the pool the kids love to swim. The room was very nice and clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was great we all started are day happy and got back on the road. The staff was friendly and we had no troubles.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank familytimes2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I would like to thank the staff for all of their assistance during our stay. We booked the Magnuson for our wedding guests to stay following our wedding reception. And they truly bent over backwards to take care of our guests, especially the manager, Aaron. He ensured that all of our guests had transportation, on behalf of the hotel to and from our event at the times we requested. We were never told "no" or "that wasn't and option," the staff at the Magnuson always made it happen! The housekeeping staff did an excellent job with our rooms and we could be more impressed. Would definitely recommend and use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CCS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked for my daughters wedding, and continually needed more rooms, which they came up with and also endured all of our early check ins. They also took us to and from our wedding.
I left my camera there when we left and of course it was left with Aaron the manager. Can't say enough about how nice they all are. Clean, reasonable, friendly, helpful. We will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for second time last Sat and Sun. Mainly went there for two or three reasons. First off, it is a short walk to Ho Chunk casino, it has a very nice and clean indoor pool and whirlpool that stays open 24 hrs, and because the accomodations are pretty nice for a reasonable price.

The staff was very helpful, including giving comps to casino, and making sure the continental breakfast was well stocked and cleaned the area nicely. We did not see any breakfast mests at all, not sure we missed them or got there when they had to restock maybe. All else was very good for free breakfast!

If you ride a Harley, there is a pretty nice HD dealer right next door. At night, a nice little walk over to window shop there was interesting. A steak joint is down the road, and though we did not go there to eat, it seemed busy Sat night.

The casino is okay, not the largest or classiest, and the grill there serves up good food and a lot for reasonable prices. They were a little slow though.

Sun morn after breakfast we were going to hit the whirlpool(hotub) again because we both had sore and tight backs and muscles, but the twenty or so young jerks who crowded into it after we got out about 10:45 pm, had polluted it too much and the staff wisely closed it until cleaned. Not typical guests and thinking they were partying before heading back to colkege or something.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blumaninwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I had one of the most horrific experiences I have ever had at this hotel. I booked a whirlpool suite, and upon turning it on, the whirlpool jet water smelled like sewage and began spraying black flakes/goo into the water. Allow I jumped out quickly, I still spent 30 mins washing this out of my hair. It was absolutely disgusting. When I went down to the desk to complain, I was told I would have my money refunded to me in the morning. Come morning, I was told I would have my money money refunded to me on Monday (3 days later). And was treated with horrible customer service. I was being very nice and the front desk manager just seemed to want to argue with me. Even though I was offered both of my nights for free I left the next day due to the poor conditions of the hotel and the horrible customer service. I stayed on July 19th and I have yet to receive my money back for either of the nights. Very disappointing. This hotel is not worth the money.

Room Tip: My tip would be to stay at the Courtyard Madison East around the same price, you will have a much be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leahann r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Madison
Days Inn & Suites Madison
#33 of 61 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Madison
6.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Hotel

Property: Magnuson Grand Hotel
Address: 3510 Millpond Road, Madison, WI 53718-6810 (Formerly Grand Hotel Madison)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management and new renovations. A complimentary hot breakfast is served early each morning. In addition to indoor pool and hot tub, Magnuson Grand Hotel Madison provides 24-hour fitness room and business center with complimentary fax and copy service. Magnuson Grand Hotel Madison also features conference rooms and party rooms. Flat screen television in lobby. The property has a knowledgeable 24-hour front desk staff eager to help guests with any questions. Wine, champagne and beer available on site until 2am. Many packages available including golf packages and casino packages. Frequent stay program and discounts available upon request. Rate match guarantee program available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Magnuson Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnuson Grand Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing