We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was Expecting Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Grand Hotel
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Kimberly, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Was Expecting Better”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I tend to trust the reviews on TripAdvisor an usually agree with my fellow reviewers, but my impression definitely differs from recent reviews. When we arrived at check-in time, the outside trash cans were overflowing with garbage. There was no one at the front desk to greet us. That's because she was standing outside taking a smoke break. When she came in, she was friendly and professional, but smelled like an ash tray. The lobby was clean and so were the rooms. However, the rooms were in need of a face-lift. Very 90's with a small tube t.v. and the mattresses on the beds were very uncomfortable. Walls were thin and we could hear most of what was going on in the room next door. I went to use the fitness facility the next morning at 7:30am, and there were water cups all over the floor and no towels or spray to clean off the machines. It obviously hadn't been cleaned from the day prior. When we checked out, the garbage cans outside were still overflowing with trash. I was not impressed by this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasajs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    49
    20
    22
    21
See reviews for
74
38
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prophetstown, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we pulled up we realized this hotel was in the middle of nowhere. It was great. Prices were excellent. We had a room with a jacuzzi. Very nice. Very quiet and the workers were pleasant. Breakfast was really good also. We will return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tompkins2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel was very reasonably priced for booking a last minute room. Within 1/2 mile of the casino, this was the better choice of hotels. Even though it is an independent hotel, which I usually avoid, this hotel offered the same ameneties as other hotel chains.

Pool was excellent and very warm
Beds were fairly comfortable (a bit on the firm side, but not too bad)
Refrigerator and microwave in the room

I would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay close to the casino.

Room Tip: Ask for the casino voucher if you plan on going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoNavy1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Beloit, IL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here because my cousin was getting married next door at Capital City Harley Davidson dealership (tell you about that later). During check in I asked about the shuttle to Ho Chunk Casino (which is about 2 minutes from the hotel). The receptionist told me they call the Casino to come pick up guests. Once she found out we were interested in the Casino, she offered us a $10.00 voucher each to use at the Casino. She had to date it for the day you are going to use it. I believe they would not have offered this unless they know you might be going.

Room was clean and comfortable. Didn't spend a lot of time in the room. It did have a refrigerator and microwave which we did not use. We were only staying one night so didn't pack my shampoo or conditioner because most hotels supply. They did have shampoo but no conditioner. Sat down in the lobby as we had several family members staying here for the wedding. Very comfortable. One thing I have never seen before is they actually sell beer, wine or champagne right at the front desk. You could buy a Miller Lite for $3.00/bottle. The next morning I did not take full advantage of the breakfast offered but my husband did. He said the biscuits and gravy were good and the eggs were ok. I only had a couple of powdered doughnuts. Some of my family members mentioned how nice/helpful the staff was.

The wedding/reception was right next door at the Harley Davidson dealership. You could walk out the front door of the Hotel into the parking lot, cross through some grass and you were in the parking lot of the Harley Davidson dealership. That was awsome! Don't understand the addresses of the hotel and dealership for being right next door, anyway, reception hall upstairs and I was very impressed. Very classy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzarkME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here October !9 and 20 for my sons wedding excellent service the staff was wonderful The room was very comfortable.the shuttle service back and forth to my sons weeding was an excellent service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lakes, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the end of September. Though our room was spacious, it was in need of updating including painting, new carpeting, and fixing the cracked window (Room 402). I could tell the hotel cleaning staff did not open the drapes when they cleaned that day, otherwise they would have found tissue stuck in the upper track of the window. That was kind of gross. The desk person upon checking in was very nice however, the two ladies in the morning were not as friendly and even though one was on the phone did not acknowledge my presence. Breakfast should be served until 10:00 instead of 9:00 for late travelers. Otherwise, an OK stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAVY_YNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here overnight while visiting family in nearby Cottage Grove. The hotel staff was great and greeted us in a friendly manner. We got checked in with no problems. The lobby was nicely decorated for Halloween and made us feel very comfortabe. Our room was nicely furnished with very new looking linens and clean including the bathroom. Breakfast was about normal for this type of place. The eggs and hash were Ok per my wife but I skipped it for toasted muffins and coffee. choice of lots of cold cereals and juices. Coffee was great!!! We would stay there again when we are in the area for sure!!!

Room Tip: The king bed with sofa sleeper worked great for us. We had a "highway" view but never hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrantmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Madison
1.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Madison
Days Inn & Suites Madison
#25 of 63 in Madison
508 reviews
6.6 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Hotel

Property: Magnuson Grand Hotel
Address: 3510 Millpond Road, Madison, WI 53718-6810 (Formerly Grand Hotel Madison)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management and new renovations. A complimentary hot breakfast is served early each morning. In addition to indoor pool and hot tub, Magnuson Grand Hotel Madison provides 24-hour fitness room and business center with complimentary fax and copy service. Magnuson Grand Hotel Madison also features conference rooms and party rooms. Flat screen television in lobby. The property has a knowledgeable 24-hour front desk staff eager to help guests with any questions. Wine, champagne and beer available on site until 2am. Many packages available including golf packages and casino packages. Frequent stay program and discounts available upon request. Rate match guarantee program available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnuson Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnuson Grand Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing