We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
251 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed one night while en route to a Badger basketball game. Two room suite for the price of most regular hotel rooms. Clean, micro & 'fridge, very comfortable. Quiet area. Breakfast was acceptable... Waffles, "hotel" eggs, cereals & oatmeal, fruit, pastries, etc. Staff was very accommodating. They also have a "mini" store on site with beverages, snacks, microwaveable meals, etc. which you don't see that often. All in all a very nice place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    186
    66
    34
    18
See reviews for
293
157
45
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We spent two days at this hotel for the Madison Marathon. The only issue we had was that our room was not ready upon arrival (3:30 pm). We were cool with that as we had to drive into downtown Madison to get our marathon bibs and would not be back for an hour.

We got back to our room about 5:15 pm and found all of the rooms on our side of the hallway propped open. It appeared that the carpets had been cleaned and maybe they were allowing the carpets to dry. There were no linens on the bed and no towels in the room. My son and I waited in the room while my wife went down to the front desk to see how long it would be before our room was ready or if we needed to change rooms. The maids came up to the room about 15 minutes later, apologized, and finished preparing the room. My wife returned about 15 minutes after that (30 minutes after she initially went to the front desk). She was angry. While I thought that she had spoke to the front desk and they had sent the maids, she told me that she spoke to the front desk woman (same one we checked in with and who also said rooms were supposed to be ready by 3pm) and that after asking about our room the woman disappeared into the back room and did not reemerge.

Other than that minor incident, everything was excellent. The rooms are spacious and the beds are incredibly comfortable. My son did say that the sleeper sofa was a bit rough, but nothing major. The hot tub was great after the marathon and the furnishings are nice and well maintained.

My son frequented the pool often and enjoyed it. He also liked having his own TV (there were two in the room). The hotel is about a 15 - 20 minute drive from the Capital building. This worked out great for us. The hotel is in a business park, so there aren't many food options within walking distance. We ate at the Irish pub that is about a 1/4 mile away as well as picking up pizza from a nearby place (Uno).

Breakfast opened at 7 am which was great as I could nab a bagel before the run. There were two waffle makers and an assortment of breads, eggs, fruit, yogurt, juices, and coffee.

We paid just over $200 for the two day stay and felt that we more than got our money's worth. I will definitely stay here the next time we visit Madison.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lprynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
189 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Enjoyed our stay and would probably come back. We were a group of six, visiting for the weekend. This hotel has many amenities and the front desk staff were very helpful. Housekeeping was only average. Upon check-in we toured our room and found food leftovers in refrigerator left by a previous room tenant. Our friends had similar issues. Housekeeping managed to vacuum and provide clean towels daily... but overall room cleanliness was only average. In their defense, this was a UW home game weekend and hotel was sold out. The free breakfast they offer is average... bagels/toast, cereal, fruit, yogurt, waffles, etc... but stay away from the sausage gravy. It made me ill.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDRKMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on business and it was very accommodating. The continental breakfast was very good: make-your-own waffles, bagels, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, etc. Maid service was fantastic. Close to the highway so it was very convenient each morning. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benmfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamassee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I booked a 2 room suite for a few dollars more than king room and it was great. Large bedroom. living area with wet bar and bath in between - great for a family.
2 large flat screen tv's. clean rooms. good breakfast. friendly staff. quiet rooms.
Would recommend fora great value in the Madison area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sher222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford City, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is clean but a bit dated. The staff was friendly. It was almost eerily quiet. We stayed just one night, got there around 7 pm left by 8am. It was difficult to find if you have no clue about the Madison area but once you find it, its not too difficult. The beds are comfortable. Out of all the hotel bathrooms, this is my favorite due to the size. The pool was cold so I didn't swim in it but my daughter and husband did. Great play to stay, will stay again if passing by.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

When we arrived here, we were pleasantly surprised. This property appears as nice and classy as most Hilton's and marriotts. Check in friendly and efficient, rooms large very clean and generally quiet. Stay as close to the North end to limit the freeway noise. The price is likely market based on the business traveller location so not a deal but ok. Because of this location there is limited evening fast food anywhere near. So buy in advance. The front desk has a very good variety of fresh and frozen food at fair prices, so that is what I did. The breakfast is average to a little below. Only eggs and they were very bland. Limited selections but the area clean and well laid out.

Room Tip: Stay near the north end to limit freeway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#17 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN East Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Madison at The American Center
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Madison East
Courtyard Madison East
#22 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
Address: 5217 E Terrace Dr, Madison, WI 53718-8339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Madison
#1 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#12 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LaQuinta so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Hotel Madison
La Quinta Inn And Suites Madison American Center
La Quinta Madison
Madison La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing