We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eclectic stay!”
Review of Hotel Ruby Marie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ruby Marie
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
East Quogue, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eclectic stay!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel and very friendly staff, especially Travis in the bakery downstairs. This hotel is an easy walk to the downtown and capital area. The only downside is the train horn that blows at 7:30 am! There is a lively bar in the ground floor with a cast of local madison characters.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mindy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    42
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
20
73
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
253 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The rooms our group stayed in were large. It is a vintage hotel, but has been well maintained. It exudes a classic quality you just don't find in a more modern building. The staff treated our group well.

You're near the lake, the train tracks, plenty of shops and restaurants, and a bike/walking trail. Luckily the train doesn't go by very often. Great location, great place to stay, and well worth the extra money compared to a more normal hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianD317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2014

For several reasons, staying at the Ruby Marie felt great. One was the satisfaction of supporting a local outfit. Beyond that were several other pleasures. One, the hotel was totally lovely, quirky, fun, reasonably priced. People were friendly, and the place was cozy and tastefully done.

Two, location! Right on the lake, and across the street from one of Madison's fabulous bike share stations. And right up the street from beautiful residential areas and Madison's downtown. A great spot. Next time I would maybe ask for a room facing away from the lake, actually, so that the trains going by are quieter at night.

Also, next time I would skip the complimentary breakfast downstairs and go out to eat instead, or order there off the menu.

Room Tip: Next time I would maybe ask for a room facing away from the lake, actually, so that the trains going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaVallia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The hotel is old and kept up pretty well, although they could clean a little better. I don't they have a crevice tool to use when vacuuming. We stayed 2 nights and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheeseheads2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel had a older classic look and feel. It seemed a little worn around the edges, but not too bad, and was very clean. Access to the hotel was only through an elevator that could be entered either through the back by the parking lot or through the Up North bar, which was located below the hotel. Desk staff was very friendly. The trains were very loud, but there were only two of them during the night, so overall it didn't detract much from our stay. We were there on a weekend, so the breakfast was at the Come On In, and was nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stay 4 nights. What a great hotel to stay at. The staff was super friendly. Room was nice and clean. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. To top it off the location was a walk to down town. Don't miss breakfast at the bakery down stairs, great bake goods and even better staff. So if in Madison go for the cheese BUT!! Stay at Ruby Marie's!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlM58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our third stay here, we enjoy the historic charm, wonderful beds and linens, fluffy generous towels, wet bar, fireplace and lakeview (some rooms), proximity to walking/biking trail along Lake Monona (across the street), interesting area restaurants and most certainly the welcoming, personable staff. Enjoy complimentary breakfast (hot on weekends), happy hour drink coupons at the on-site Up North Pub and homemade cookies upon arrival. Avoid rooms above the Up North Pub (the hotel fills these last by protocol). We now bring and use ear plugs at night, as the hotel is next to a functioning train track which may/may not have activity during the night. Ruby Marie is endearing, welcoming and fun. We'll be back ... again. Thank you, amazing staff!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the Up North pub, ask about lakeview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wausau_WisconsinJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby Marie

Property: Hotel Ruby Marie
Address: 524 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703-3431
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#6 Best Value Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ruby Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ruby Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruby Marie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing