We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ruby Marie
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Madison
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Edgewater(Madison)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
96
44
7
4
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
44
7
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsessen hausnorth bargerman restaurantrailroad hotelbakery downstairshistoric feeltrain noiseturnoversmodern amenitiesrenovated hotelfree drinkschain hotelsfirst floorelevator ridejetted tubtake advantage of the freecinnamon rolls
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 159 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The room was nice, comfortable, a bit noisy because of the nearby train tracks and loud bar music from the floor below. The comp'd drink and breakfast tickets were a nice touch, and the breakfast menu was great!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank muse2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Ruby Marie for seven nights when we visited our son who’s studying at the University of Wisconsin during the fall semester. The first two nights we had a smaller room, after that we had a large room. Both were convenient and nice. The service was very good. We´re from the Netherlands and were to stay in the USA for a couple of weeks. That’s why part of our laundry was done by the hotel without any additional costs. The hotel staff was really warm and welcoming.
The complimentary breakfast was just great. On weekdays breakfast was served at the Lake View Bakery and Deli. It was delicious. Each morning the baker surprised us with all kinds of fresh baked goods and hot breakfast items. During the weekend a delicious breakfast was served at the Come Back Inn. You could choose from a large menu. The free drink vouchers each day were also a nice gesture.
The hotel is situated very conveniently, about a 5 minutes´walk from the Capitol Building. A walk to the Campus takes about 20 minutes. There are also a few parking garages at the campus. They are not expensive. You can get a map of the campus in the UW-building in the Union South in Union Street. The map is very convenient when looking for a parking garage at the campus.
Madison is such a nice town. There is also a nice walk along Lake Mendota to Picknick Point. There’s a beautiful view of Madison. If you’re in Madison on a Saturday, don’t miss the Farmer’s Market. We also loved the piano bar and the stand-up comedian in the Comedy Club. All at a short distance from the hotel Ruby Marie.
When staying at Madison, the hotel Ruby Marie is a perfect choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobyvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We made last minute reservations for a campus tour for my daughter and had to scramble for lodging. We could have stayed on the outskirts of town, but parking on campus is crazy and we wanted to leave the car at the hotel and walk if possible. I found Ruby Marie's on TripAdvisor and decided to check to see if they had any rooms with two double beds. Bingo! The place was perfect for us and included breakfast in the downstairs cafe which is very quaint. A bar is also attached which we unfortunately never had time to visit. We never heard the train noises that some reviewers mentioned, so sleeping was not a problem!

Room Tip: If you need more than one bed, there are only two room options, but that is more than most B & Bs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandering_Chimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Old building made new! Our room was good size with small fridge, new TV, jacuzzi type tub/shower. Delicious choices for breakfast - not the factory-made kind. Our room had a view of the lake. We would return to this hotel on another visit to Madison.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a peaceful stay at the Hotel Ruby Marie. Room was small but that made it cozy. Breakfast was delicious, and it was awesome being so close to the square. We will definitely be going back to this gem!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIbound2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews