We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lowest price i could find..but worth twice as much”
Review of Hotel Ruby Marie

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ruby Marie
Ranked #38 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
New Lisbon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lowest price i could find..but worth twice as much”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Why would anyone want to stay at one of the chain same old same old modern hotels? This is are 2nd stay. Lowest price we could find but twice the hotel as the rest. Old 1800's building...such character! compentary drinks at their bar which has a beer garden....free breakfast in the
morning...and not continental either! Love this place!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cyle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    42
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
20
74
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Hotel Ruby Marie is a hybrid hotel and bed & breakfast. Don't expect the usual hotel perks like a pool or 24 hr staff. Instead you get a most unique experience with beautiful old rooms, excellent location, and wonderful dining/drinking options next door. This is the perfect place for couples wanting something different during a Madison stay. I would not recommend this property for families. Great people and funky flavor make this a must stay in Madison.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrickTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed at the Ruby Marie and I will return. It is an old boarding house and full of history. The staff is very accommodating and helpful. Check in and out can be unusual during after hours as the front desk is only staffed during the day. The hotel is conveniently situated within a 5 minute walk to the square and several nice restaurants, among them, Sardine & Osteria Papavero. It also sits above four intertwined eateries. In fact, you'll have the opportunity to experience the Up Front Bar for happy hour, the Come Back In for weekend breakfast and the Sunshine Cafe for weekday breakfast. The fourth restaurant, The Essen Haus, is known for their boot of beer and polka dancing, a real midwest experience. I would recommend getting coffee at one the nearby local spots: Ground Zero, Bradbury's or Ancora Coffee. There is free parking in at the back of the building- which is also the entrance to the hotel.

Room Tip: The inner courtyard rooms are dark and on the smaller side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The pictures and reviews do no say enough about this hotel! The historic decor was a turn-off to me upon booking, but seeing it in person, it is nothing short of lovely. It's old decor with a modern take and is truly gorgeous, not gaudy. I stayed in room 12 and don't have a bad thing to say about it. The bed was comfortable, I definitely used the jacuzzi tub, and it had large windows facing out toward the lake. I also enjoyed using the drink tickets at the Up North (I think?) Bar. The bartender was friendly and the atmosphere was great. We met new people and had a blast!
The breakfast is from the local bakery so it is all pastries. However, there was a wide variety as well as savory pastries and everything was excellent.
The only negative I have is that it lies right next to the train tracks, and there is a train that comes by early... like around 6. However, I did not find it to be too loud and really all the wonderful benefits of this hotel easily outweigh that small inconvenience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshKicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

What a fun way to experience downtown Madison! The Ruby Marie made us feel like a part of the emerging West, but with convenient surroundings. It is also a different B and B experience, since we walked downstairs to the bakery and chose our own breakfast goodies. Our baker/manager/server there was a gem, and really the single individual we had most consistent contact with on this outing. Ruby Marie is nice walking distance from the Capitol, State Street restaurants, and just across from the bike rental shop. We loved riding around the city on its paths, as well as on one of the Rails to Trails. That was the purpose of our trip initially. Thank you Ruby Marie for enhancing our experience in Madison!

Room Tip: You might want to be aware of neighboring night-life and request a quieter room if that is your pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in roon #23 which was a large suite with a hot tub. The room was a great location to celebrate Octoberfest as all the festivities were in our parking lot, Dylan and Joshua were awesone on recommendations and directions. The location puts you in the middle of Madison. The breakfast the next day was special. You could order anything you wanted off the breakfast menu including alcoholic drinks. We had a great time !!

Room Tip: top story rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbearfatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Outstanding boutique inn located in a great location on the lake in Madison. The inn is very cute and clean and would stay there again. Also, you cannot beat the deal - two comp beers and breakfast too. You have to stay there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CybilRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
703 reviews
0.3 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
1.0 mi away
Graduate Madison
Graduate Madison
#31 of 63 in Madison
209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby Marie

Property: Hotel Ruby Marie
Address: 524 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703-3431
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ruby Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Ruby Marie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing