We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit to Madison” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ruby Marie

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ruby Marie
Ranked #35 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First visit to Madison”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in roon #23 which was a large suite with a hot tub. The room was a great location to celebrate Octoberfest as all the festivities were in our parking lot, Dylan and Joshua were awesone on recommendations and directions. The location puts you in the middle of Madison. The breakfast the next day was special. You could order anything you wanted off the breakfast menu including alcoholic drinks. We had a great time !!

Room Tip: top story rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbearfatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    42
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
20
73
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Outstanding boutique inn located in a great location on the lake in Madison. The inn is very cute and clean and would stay there again. Also, you cannot beat the deal - two comp beers and breakfast too. You have to stay there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CybilRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle on tyne UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Ruby Marie for the second time whilst on an American road trip. The Hotel has an excellent position for visiting Madison. The rooms were excellent decorated in an 'old fashioned ' theme. Staff were friendly and helpful. breakfasts were very good and the drink vouchers for the downstairs pub were helpful. Excellent value and one of the best hotels we stayed in on our trip

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We found the Hotel Ruby Marie on the internet and we were not disappointed. It is lovely boutique hotel that has been refurbished from it's original use as a railroad hotel and they have done a great job. The room was nicely appointed with a referagator, coffee machine, comfortable beds and nice bathroom. Guests are given a token each for a drink in the hotel's pub, which had good draft beer and two very good pinball machines. A stay there also entitles you to a complimentary breakfast in the deli on the first floor. There we found cereal, fresh fruit and just baked muffins, danish, scones and bread with cold cuts. Right next door is the Come Back Inn, a nice pub and next to that The Essen House a great German pub and restaurant. We loved The Essen House for it's atmosphere and great food. This hotel will definitely be our future stop in Madison.
The only downside was that the wireless connection faded in and out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I wanted to like the Hotel Ruby Marie, but there were significant issues. I wrote to the manager, who responded that some of the issues might be addressed (in future!)

1. The first and crucial issue is security. Neither night that I was there was the front door locked, even though it would have been possible to do so. Especially for women guests, this is a huge concern.
2. To compound the problem, there is no staff on duty. I was given a cell phone number of the manager. This is just not adequate. I had no blanket and no hair dryer in my room during my stay, but there was no one to talk to, even during the hours of 7-7, when there was supposed to be someone on duty. The only staff that I ever saw was on the day that I checked out, when I had to call from the front desk and wait for ten minutes for the man who was also vacuuming a room to call me back.

There was no one to help when my room was not restocked the second day. No coffee for me.
I wanted to like the hotel, as the location is convenient and the rooms are lovely but those issues, plus the noise from the bar below, and the smokers outside my window, made me go back to my regular hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 13 that had a view of a busy intersection, the train tracks, and a peak of Lake Mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msclavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Ruby Marie for three nights recently. The hotel has been lovingly restored and the rooms are comfortable and clean. You feel as if you have walked back into the past with the decor. This hotel was a hotel used by railroad passengers when it was originally built so it is next to the railroad tracks. We asked for a room over the "courtyard". The courtyard is next to the bar/pub downstairs on the first floor. There is some noise from the bar at night, including live music, but they seem careful to be sure and keep things under control so it is not really intrusive. One night it was rather loud but suddenly got much quieter so we assumed that they shut the door to the bar. We stayed on the third floor so that may have helped. The hotel is on the second and third floors of the building.
The deli/bakery that they use for breakfasts makes very good pastries both sweet and savory. The last morning there, I was not feeling well, and the fellow in the bakery made toast for me which they normally don't have. He was very nice about it. The hotel is on a busy corner in the mornings and it was fun to sit next to the big windows and watch the world go by. All staff is friendly. There is a good German restaurant, Essen Haus, next door.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor over courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anglophile58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Ruby Marie has been wonderfully renovated and comfort was no problem - good mattress and water pressure in shower was great. We walked to the farmers market then took a walking food tasting tour. Some reviewers said it was noisy at night but we were on third floor and had no problems. The bar downstairs where you get drink coupons was friendly. We had our breakfast at the Come Back In anything on menu and food was good and generous portions. Second night we ate at the Essen Haus and was good German food. The only downfall is if you get there late and lot is full, which with two bars and two restaurants it is a lot, you have to park in overflow lot a couple blocks away. The value for the money was great. Have already told many friends about it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruby Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruby Marie

Property: Hotel Ruby Marie
Address: 524 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703-3431
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#5 Best Value Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ruby Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Ruby Marie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing