We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved over previous report”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Much improved over previous report”
Reviewed January 26, 2008

I wrote a review of this hotel a few years ago (Feb 2004) expressing some disappointments. We were back this month - booked via Hotwire - and it was a much more agreeable experience.

We had booked as a family of 3 and (like last time) were given a room with one bed + a sleeper, but they moved us to a two-bed room when we asked. The internet connection (wired, not wireless) was working and free. And the free breakfast was nicer than I remembered: some hot food (eggs, biscuits & gravy, fresh waffles) as well as cereal, fruit, breads.

We'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Liked — Spacious room, very clean, decent free breakfast
  • Disliked — No issues
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    109
    30
    15
    8
See reviews for
82
60
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

I work in Madison quite a bit and usually stay at Inn on the Park for convenience. They don't always have availability so I have tried a couple of other hotels not downtown. The Clarion is a short drive, closer than the east and west towne area hotels. Very easy to get to.
This hotel might get a better rating than it deserves from me because last week I tried the Sheraton across John Nolan Dr. To compare: Sheraton internet $10 a day. Clarion free. Clarion large two room suite with kitchen (great when you have to stay a couple of days and work at night). Sheraton, normal sized room.
Plus free beer and snacks at night and free breakfast in the morning (which admittingly I have not had yet). Makes Clarion a good second choice type hotel (or first choice when attending something at the coliseum).

  • Liked — Free internet
  • Disliked — View
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thetruth36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

This was an AWFUL Hotwire purchase. The Hotwire price was less then the Clarion price, but still not worth it. Our bathroom was dirty and it took 5+ min of running the water to get it warm enough to shower. The "complementary" breakfast was a filthy buffet. Be prepared to clean your own table to find a spot to sit. Not a bad place to Flop but not for 120+ a night.

  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank roodrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Spotless rooms, very large. Plenty of space for a family, though this time it was just the two of us. Afternoon cookies in lobby were a great touch. Location was good, close enough to downtown without downtown prices. We booked through Hotwire and got a great price. I probably wouldn't pay full price for the room, but if you can get a deal it's an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank nobigdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2007

Stayed at Clarion while bringing a child to UW - Madison. Since we knew we wouldn't be spending much time at hotel, we chose the Clarion based in part on great rate (had previously stayed at downtown Madison Concourse and Governor's Club and felt that room was small and pricey for the time we spent there). Clarion is about 7 minute drive from campus. Large one bedroom "suite" (all one big room) had queen bed (very comfortable), sleep sofa, one tv, desk, small kitchen with refrigerator and microwave but few dishes or silverware, vanity with sink and chair, decent size bathroom. More than enough space for 2 adults and teenager. Complimentary breakfast more than adequate: eggs, potatoes, make your own waffles, bananas, yogurt, mini-muffins, mini-bagels, cereal, instant oatmeal, coffee and juices. No restaurant on premises and nothing within a few blocks (but downtown Madison is very close). Staff was very nice and easily accomodated a request for very late checkout due to 6:00 pm plane flight. Definitely felt like a "budget" option in terms of decor compared to Homewood Suites we had just come from in Chicago (but that was 2 1/2 times the price)! Best indication we felt we were getting our money's worth: we booked it again for parents weekend!

  • Liked — great value - less than $100 per night for a lot of space with breakfast
  • Disliked — didn't adore the location (next to Sheriff's Office, empty Alliant Energy Center)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank soresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

8 women for State Tennis stayed here 9-11Aug07. We had 3 rooms. The rooms were a nice size and clean, very pleasant white comforters and pillows, hot breakfast with scrambled eggs and waffles was a plus, with good working AC and nice quiet room. Hotel was easy to find and the parking is free.
We had asked for all rooms on one floor; we did not get that, but for the most part, we were happy with our accommodations.

  • Liked — white comforters
  • Disliked — dirty bathtub floor
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TennisgalGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2006

We stayed here March 5-14, 2006, for the birth of our first grandchild. After researching various web sites for a good deal, we called the Clarion direct, and they offered the information that if the baby was to be born in certain hospitals, which was the case, they could give us a special low rate! They even got us the reservation for the whole period even though they were supposed to be booked for the weekend. Throughout our stay, the staff was unfailingly helpful and pleasant.
The room price includes a hot breakfast buffet, happy hour with free wine & beer six afternoons a week, excercise facility, indoor pool, and free internet access from the Business Center.

Helpful?
9 Thank MPMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#13 of 63 in Madison
682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Madison Hotel
Sheraton Madison Hotel
#24 of 63 in Madison
849 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
3.2 mi away
Best Western PLUS InnTowner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center

Property: Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
Address: 2110 Rimrock Road, Madison, WI 53713-1444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay with us at The Clarion Suites at The Alliant Energy Center in Madison, WI! Our hotel is adjacent to The Alliant Energy Center Campus and connected to The Exhibition Hall. We are conveniently located near downtown Madison, The Monona Terrace, The UW Campus, Camp Randall, The Kohl Center, UW Hospitals, Meriter Hospital and St. Mary's Hospital. Our hotel is also 20 minutes from Epic Systems training facility.Our rooms are spacious with one or two Queen Beds, Sitting Areas with Queen Sofa Sleepers and Microwave Wvens and Refrigerators. All guests recievd a Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet and a Complimentary Social Hour (M-Sat. We have an indoor pool/whirlpool, Free WIFI and 32" Flat Screen TV's. Complimentary Shuttle service to/from Dane County Regional Airport is offered from 7am-10pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Central Hotel Madison
Clarion Hotel Madison
Clarion Madison
Madison Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing