We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barriques

Barriques
Ranked #218 of 980 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: There are multiple locations for this cafe/coffee shop/wine cave. We went to the West Washington location multiple times on our trip. It is a wonderful place!
Columbia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great coffee and food”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I went to Barriques to do some work while visiting family. I was disappointed that they were out of yogurt but the wrap I ordered was delicious as was my mocha! However, I was a little annoyed that there were not more outlets to plug in our computers. Overall, I would come back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KristiS627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hard to find good help”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Though my food was good, my companions was forgotten. After I brought it to the staffs attention they seemed to take their time to whip together the four ingredient salad. I would expect an establishment of this price to at least deliver the lost meal. Not this slow business day. My name was yelled and the sorry salad sat on the shelf as one staff member dusted wine and another stared at the ceiling :(. No offer of a free cookie or beverage to make up for our coffee shop lunch taking a full hour. I left hungry for service!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Always good coffee, always good food”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stop here every time we pass through Madison. We choose to avoid the busy roads at rush hour by parking it downtown and enjoying coffee and food before we head back out. We travel between Wisconsin and Iowa often. On the way down it's Friday evening and we always stop here. They have a wine tasting if you want to hang around for a while (on Friday evenings) and if you aren't planning on driving. It is a great way to educate yourself on wines. The person doing the pours is very knowledgeable and easy to approach.
Espresso macchiato please, or crazy foam with the cappuccino. They know how to make them all perfectly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pcguy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Coffee Shop in Midwest!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I dream about coming back to Madison for the coffee at Bariques! Try their menu items too :) Wine at night, nice local feel, not big chain and fabulous coffee

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank artandbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What is wrong with their staff?”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have no problem with the coffee. Usually very good. But, what is wrong with their staff. I go to either the Middleton shop or the Old Sauk Rd. shop and the staff at both places are unfriendly and taciturn. I know they don't make much but managment can still do things to make the staff customer friendly. I just went to the Old Sauk Rd place two days in a row. The guy making my latte acted like I was a big inconvenience. I won't be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barriques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing