We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean or 1 star rating end of discussion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Ok standard Hilton- except if our hotel room isn't clean you'll only get one star. Examples: empty old soda bottle in corner of room. Drapes lined with dust once pulled across window. Bathroom vent fan not operational and filled with dust/lint: all for 200+ a night. Not worth 50$ if a room is dirty. Boo.

Room Tip: At a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garratys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times now. This hotel is very nice and the staff is excellent. Very impressive restaurant too. Their tuna tartar was better than the restaurant at our hotel in Maui! I recommend a high level room , king suite. The bed faces the window overlooking the lake and its very relaxing!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jeri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently stayed at the Monona Terrace, the location is excellent. The room is clean but I would have enjoyed it more if I was not as tired during the day. The air condition kept me up all night it was really loud!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fkiNy_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for the review! I'm very sorry to hear about the air conditioner noise. We have had some issues this summer with loud fans and/or compressors and have been proactive in fixing or replacing them as part of our preventative maintenance, unfortunately it looks like you encountered exactly that and I apologize. I can understand how that type of noise could disrupt your stay. We will continue being diligent in preventing issues like you had and again my sincerest apologies for your inconvenience.

Best wishes,

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tha Hotel was very clean, it was just a few minutes from the capitol, restaurantes and state street (the mail street in Madison). Tha Hotel has beautiful view or the lake Monona, you can go walking to see the lake. Tha Chops restaurante is very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

David,

Thanks for the review! We consider ourselves very lucky to have the Capitol and Downtown Madison on one side of the hotel and beautiful Lake Monona on the other side. It makes for a great view from any room and is convenient to explore downtown.

See you on your next visit!

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

As far as Hilton hotels go, this one is top notch! The location right at the terrace is awesome, and the live music/beer on the night I was there was just a special surprise! The room was nice, clean..,,a bit on the small side, but that's how downtown hotels generally are. I had an amazing continental breakfast at the hotel restaurant and walked right down the street to my meetings. The only downside would be that one of the elevators were broken and there was a big group there that night so getting up and down was a real pain. The staff was super - friendly and helpful. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to both business and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Front desk staff is welcoming, helpful, attentive. Hotel is right near the Capitol and the lake. Nice views either direction. Very clean, rooms were very spacious and nicely decorated. Small fridge in room. A/C works great. Only negative is the sound insulation. You can hear the water pipes running from other rooms, people talking comes through the walls, and loud bangs when people close their door rooms. But we just kept the fan running and that helps. Try it on Priceline, 3 1/2 star, Express Deals in downtown Madison. Online rate is $169 and got it on Priceline Express Deals for $75!! Location is GREAT.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbirdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was simply the best experience I have ever had at any hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff genuinely cared about what kind of day I was having. I cannot think of any way in which it could have been better. The room was clean and the price was fair. If I am ever in Madison I would definitley look forward to staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Mike,

Wow, that is high praise! I really appreciate the comments and taking the time to post it on TripAdvisor!

Please stop to say hi next time we are able to have you back in Madison!!

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#11 of 63 in Madison
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Address: 9 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703-3421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range: $105 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, perfectly located in downtown Madison just two blocks from Capitol Square, is an elegant property connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with spectacular views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. With an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces, the hotel boasts full service dining and bar options as well. Transportation service is provided complimentary to downtown locations, including the University and Kohl Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing