We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Staff Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, United States
1 review
“Best Staff Ever”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was simply the best experience I have ever had at any hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff genuinely cared about what kind of day I was having. I cannot think of any way in which it could have been better. The room was clean and the price was fair. If I am ever in Madison I would definitley look forward to staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Mike,

Wow, that is high praise! I really appreciate the comments and taking the time to post it on TripAdvisor!

Please stop to say hi next time we are able to have you back in Madison!!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    302
    129
    45
    25
See reviews for
232
237
48
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The facility was nice, quiet, and clean. It was a perfect location to stay for business at the Monona Terrance Convention Center. They had efficient check-in and check-out, and the staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Justin,

Thanks for the review! Being attached to the Monona Terrace is certainly one of the best benefits of staying at the Hilton when you are here for a conference. Especially since Wisconsin weather likes to surprise us often!

Thank you for the review and I hope you can make it back to Madison soon!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
1,018 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is one of the better hotels in the Madison area. It's location is ideal, right smack in the middle of downtown, not too far from the square. I stayed here once when I was interviewing in the area, and several friends subsequently stayed here as well. The facilities are nice and clean. Staff is extremely helpful and there's a decent restaurant housed here as well.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tunaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I appreciate the nice review! Our location is a great starting point to experience Madison. Being flanked by the Monona Terrace and the Capitol is a great advantage of our location.

Thanks for taking the time to write the review and good luck on the job search/new job!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmsford, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A fairly tepid welcome at reception in the lobby, with no bellmen in sight after a long day of delayed travel, but at least the room was fairly clean and appealing when we arrived. It turned out to have a great view of the lake, from the 4th floor.

The second day, however, maid service never came to make up the room, until we called at 4:30 pm to ask them to do so, as we left for the evening. Further, as happens in a lot of hotels, the "blackout" shades didn't stay closed, so the early morning sun (5:30 am) shone brightlyh on our eyes. Worst of all, though, was the repeated loud noise from the hallway, which woke up my wife and me several times each night - a loud "thunk' or "thud" that was startling at first, and then, merely annoyingly sleep depriving. This middle of the road Hilton earned its faded reputatoin.

Room Tip: High up facing the lake, is better, if you can get the shades to stay closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAREsq7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Location, service, and cleanliness distinguish this hotel. We were there for a weekend family wedding and enjoyed walking to sites nearby for Friday and Saturday events. Rooms are comfortable with clean and current carpets, furniture, and bedding. Bathroom is a bit small with one sink and a door that bangs into tub. Elevators handled guests efficiently even at checkout. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John & Gloria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me and some friends splurged on the Presidential Suite at this hotel and it was very nice. Not what you'd expect in a larger city, but for Madison, it was very nice. It's well located within the city and we didn't have any trouble walking to where we wanted to go. Parking was interesting at the hotel as there are many levels. It was confusing how to get to the lobby from the parking garage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks for the review Chris! Glad you enjoyed your stay. I agree with you about the garage. My Chief Engineer and I are talking about how to improve the wayfinding right now actually. I hope to have you see the improvements on your next visit!

Take care,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The staff was professional and helpful, from the valet parking staff to the restaurant manager. The location is convenient and the rooms have great views. I didn't bring a pet, but saw that it was pet friendly, with a sign welcoming its "four-legged guests" and a dog bowl with treats on the floor near the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Nice review, thank you for mentioning the staff! The parking is so limited downtown that the valet guys are the busiest guys in the city at times! Next time definitely bring your pet. It was funny a couple weeks ago we had a guest with his dog that were return guests and right when they entered the lobby you could tell the dog remembered right where the bowl of treats were. :)

Thanks again!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
659 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Property: Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Address: 9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, perfectly located in downtown Madison just two blocks from Capitol Square, is an elegant property connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with spectaculor views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. With an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces, the hotel boasts full service dining and bar options as well. Transportation service is provided complimentary to downtown locations, including the University and Kohl Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing