We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just got back from a stay at the Hilton Madison Monona Terrace. Service is wonderful but the location is perfect. Once you're there everything is walkable from state offices to the top, new restaurants. This time of year is bitterly cold so dress warm. The only annoyance is the extra charge for in-room wireless but it's free in the lounges - so that's sort of weird. The breakfast room is really nice and open with a fireplace and comfy furniture at one end. It's a great area to work and the breakfast food is far better than the standard hotel fare. Capital Grille off the lobby is handy for business meals but a tad overpriced at night. Rooms have everything you need for business travel. Don't bother with valet parking, just drive right into the courtyard, follow the sign to go through to the ramp and park B2-B4. The elevator takes you directly up to the lobby.

Room Tip: High floors get you unencumbered views to the Capitol on one side or Lake Monona on the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane11B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you for the nice review! It is a great location and it is a great location to work at as well! I can appreciate your comments about the internet charges. I am currently reviewing them as well the technology of our current internet infrastructure to see where we can make improvements! The goal is provide you with the best guest service experience and your feedback helps in that. I hope to have you back soon and would love to chat with you more next time you are here!

Best wishes,

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very nice hotel. Just a 5 minute walk from the State Capitol and probably 10 minutes to State Street - the fun area of downtown Madison. The hotel room was clean and inviting. Two gripes - internet access fee (come on, really?) and the bathroom is small compared to the rest of the room. Fitness center is good - three treadmills, elipticals and weight equipment. Nice but small indoor pool. Parking is underground but ambient temperature. Parking is $13 a night. Staff was nice and friendly. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Facing the lake is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papo_del_wikend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

I appreciate the feedback! We are definitely reviewing our internet fees as I write this. Also, you will be glad to know we are currently specing brand new fitness equipment for the fitness center! It should be here early this summer.

Thanks for the review! See you on your next visit.

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed two nights on business and was happily surprised by how good it was. The bar is great with super friendly staff who know their stuff about local micro-brews. The room was enormous and spotlessly with fast wifi. The jewel in the crown is however the restaurant. I cannot recommend the huge steaks highly enough, with an excellent (unsurprisingly, new world orientated) wine list. Service was brilliant. The staff could not have been nicer from check in to check out and had the good grace to be embarrassed about the $13 dollars a day parking fee. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you for the great comments on the Capitol Chophouse! We are very proud of our steaks, seafood and fantastic winelist. The staff has a true passion for what they are selling as well. We hope to have you back soon, make sure you say hi to myself or our Chophouse Manager Jen!

Take care,

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Pros:
I love the clean Hilton bedding. Absolutely no "ick" factor.
It is a short walk to all kinds of great restaurants and entertainment venues and it is a lot of fun to stay downtown.
Nice view of the lit Capitol dome at night.

Cons:
Be aware of pricey extra charges: $13 parking fee, $3 delivery fee for room service on top of automatic gratuity (took our $14 cheese and sausage tray to $21 in a hurry).
I was surprised to see only double beds--no queens. Seems oddly outdated and uncomfortable for a Hilton in a capital city.

Since we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel I would not pay full price but if I got this hotel for a discounted price again I would definitely re-book. Nice experience overall.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Bubbletone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

One of the cooler looking Hilton's you'll find. Blends well into neighborhood, super convenient for everything downtown and a little off the Madison party path so good for families compared to something closer to campus bars. Super clean, nice and close to a bunch of good restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nunuthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Was there when outside temp hit zero degrees -- yikes. Fortunately, this is a cozy Hilton -- a quite nice bar / breakfast area, big fireplace, windows letting in the sunshine. Room was typical Hilton and nice. had great view of Capitol Dome.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a great location, close to food, walgreens, the capitol, state street, etc. Staff were wonderful! I stayed here on business for 2 weeks in December and a week in October. The hotel is hard to get booked at the rate I'm authorized for, and could be slightly out of some traveler's price range.

My car battery was dead, and a wonderful staff member let me borrow his jumper cables! The breakfast staff downstairs is superb! A very nice gentleman working the Starbucks counter in the morning was always smiling and attentive. A wonderful woman, (Julia was her name, i think) always available to answer Billing questions and ensure my stays were prefect. overall, amazing staff!

Views from the hotel are great!

Can't wait to come back! Thinking about making a stay for leisure!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wondering_Knowmadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 64 in Madison
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#11 of 64 in Madison
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Address: 9 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703-3421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range: $136 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, perfectly located in downtown Madison just two blocks from Capitol Square, is an elegant property connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with spectacular views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. With an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces, the hotel boasts full service dining and bar options as well. Transportation service is provided complimentary to downtown locations, including the University and Kohl Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing