We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Location location location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

An excellent spot for being convenient to everything in downtown Madison.

Hotel is exactly what you expect for a Hilton- excellent service, very comfortable room and their standard decor. They have an indoor pool and hot tub, that although on the small side looked to be very well kept.

But like other chain hotels, this one suffers from thin walls and doors- very easy to hear everything going on in the hall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wahoowahuvahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    278
    125
    44
    23
See reviews for
218
222
44
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed at Hilton recently after having stayed at Hyatt before. Hilton is a short walk to downtown (be sure to stop by Fromaggio cheese and Square Wine) and on lake. Also, inside access to winter farmers market (summer version is phenominal).

My favorite hotel in Madison combining location, view and value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for the review and mention of the indoor farmers market at Monona Terrace! I also enthusiastically agree with your wine and cheese recommendations!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We booked last minute on Hotwire and scored a great rate. The location is perfect as there are dozens of restaurants and shops within walking distance. The lobbies, corridors and rooms all looked brand new and they were very clean. The staff was very friendly and they quickly accommodated all of our requests. Thanks to the hotel staff for a great stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner king room on the 5th floor and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenTravelerMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
318 reviews
289 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

The capitol is at the center of Madison. It occupies a square block. If you walk 2 blocks in any direction you will hit all of the Madison downtown hotels.They are all walking distance to the Capitol or the restaurants etc.

the Hilton is one of the nicer properties. It feels like a high end hotel - valet at the waiting - nice lobby - good restaurant. The room was the current theme of fridge, work space etc all built into one long wall - bed across - sofa at the end of the room. I found the space comfortable, the rooms very well sound-proofed. The bathroom was nicely finished.

All in all this was the best choice I found in Madison.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

As stated above, this was year 2 in a row for me for Ironman Moo. When comparing this hotel to other race hotels on the IM circuit, this is easily one of the best if not the best in the continental US. The hotel is very clean, rooms are newer and excellent, and the staff bends over backwards for the athletes. The pre-race buffet and breakfast is great and I'm booked here again for 2013.

Also, we too did have a momentary glitch with the AC this year. The room at first was warm. All you need to do is call the desk and they or maintenance will tell you how to operate and program the thermostat. Easy as that.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We love having Ironman as much as the participants love being in it. It is a trill for us to be so close to the event and host so many world class athletes. Thank you for the feedback, it is much appreciated!

See you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had a very enjoyable stay at the Monona Terrace Hilton. No issues at all, very nice accommodations, etc. However, the reason that this hotel receives an excellent rating is the service provided after the stay. I somehow forgot to pack up my wife's hair dryer and curling iron and left them in the bathroom of our room upon checkout. I called the hotel and spoke with a member of the housekeeping staff. She took my name and address, and two days later, UPS was delivering my forgotten items. Very impressive! Saved my bacon with my wife, too!

Room Tip: Some rooms have two DOUBLE beds - might want to specify two queens if staying with a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samuelgarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! I have shared the review with my housekeeping team this morning. It was a nice validation of their hard work!

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to your next visit!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have never written a review on a travel website before, but I read them frequently and felt compelled to add my experiences with this Hilton. I travel frequently for business and have stayed at this Hilton more than once in the past 3 years, the most recent being two weeks ago. Every stay was consistenly excellent. The rooms are well appointed with wonderful beds and bedding, and spotlessly clean; I've had a view of the Capitol from one side and a view of the very large lake from the other. The staff - from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the bellmen - are friendly, courteous, well-informed, and extrememly helpful. I have dined in the smaller room lake-side off the lobby, and also in the Chop House, which is one of the finest restaurants in Madison. The hotel is centrally located and seems to always have their shuttle available for transportation to and from the airport or wherever else necessary in the area. In my travels I have found this hotel to be one of the very finest.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank polly r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank Polly! We strive to provide the best service in Madison and I couldn't be happier that you had great experiences!

We look forward to continuing the trend next time you are in town!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Property: Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Address: 9 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703-3421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, perfectly located in downtown Madison just two blocks from Capitol Square, is an elegant property connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with spectaculor views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. With an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces, the hotel boasts full service dining and bar options as well. Transportation service is provided complimentary to downtown locations, including the University and Kohl Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing