We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
333 reviews
300 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“good spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

The capitol is at the center of Madison. It occupies a square block. If you walk 2 blocks in any direction you will hit all of the Madison downtown hotels.They are all walking distance to the Capitol or the restaurants etc.

the Hilton is one of the nicer properties. It feels like a high end hotel - valet at the waiting - nice lobby - good restaurant. The room was the current theme of fridge, work space etc all built into one long wall - bed across - sofa at the end of the room. I found the space comfortable, the rooms very well sound-proofed. The bathroom was nicely finished.

All in all this was the best choice I found in Madison.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    303
    129
    46
    25
See reviews for
232
238
48
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

As stated above, this was year 2 in a row for me for Ironman Moo. When comparing this hotel to other race hotels on the IM circuit, this is easily one of the best if not the best in the continental US. The hotel is very clean, rooms are newer and excellent, and the staff bends over backwards for the athletes. The pre-race buffet and breakfast is great and I'm booked here again for 2013.

Also, we too did have a momentary glitch with the AC this year. The room at first was warm. All you need to do is call the desk and they or maintenance will tell you how to operate and program the thermostat. Easy as that.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We love having Ironman as much as the participants love being in it. It is a trill for us to be so close to the event and host so many world class athletes. Thank you for the feedback, it is much appreciated!

See you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had a very enjoyable stay at the Monona Terrace Hilton. No issues at all, very nice accommodations, etc. However, the reason that this hotel receives an excellent rating is the service provided after the stay. I somehow forgot to pack up my wife's hair dryer and curling iron and left them in the bathroom of our room upon checkout. I called the hotel and spoke with a member of the housekeeping staff. She took my name and address, and two days later, UPS was delivering my forgotten items. Very impressive! Saved my bacon with my wife, too!

Room Tip: Some rooms have two DOUBLE beds - might want to specify two queens if staying with a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samuelgarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! I have shared the review with my housekeeping team this morning. It was a nice validation of their hard work!

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to your next visit!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have never written a review on a travel website before, but I read them frequently and felt compelled to add my experiences with this Hilton. I travel frequently for business and have stayed at this Hilton more than once in the past 3 years, the most recent being two weeks ago. Every stay was consistenly excellent. The rooms are well appointed with wonderful beds and bedding, and spotlessly clean; I've had a view of the Capitol from one side and a view of the very large lake from the other. The staff - from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the bellmen - are friendly, courteous, well-informed, and extrememly helpful. I have dined in the smaller room lake-side off the lobby, and also in the Chop House, which is one of the finest restaurants in Madison. The hotel is centrally located and seems to always have their shuttle available for transportation to and from the airport or wherever else necessary in the area. In my travels I have found this hotel to be one of the very finest.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank polly r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank Polly! We strive to provide the best service in Madison and I couldn't be happier that you had great experiences!

We look forward to continuing the trend next time you are in town!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel has a good location with updated rooms and decent Internet connection (for an additional fee). Those who complained of poor Internet reception were probably trying to connect via the free Wi-Fi in the in lobby. You get what you pay for, or don't pay for.

The only grudge I have with this hotel is management and the cleaning crew. Maybe I have my undies in a wad for no reason, maybe I don’t. This is what happened: I had gone to the famers’ market and they gave me three golden dollar coins. I decided to leave the three coins on the bed for the cleaning crew to take. I came back to my room about 30-minuts later and the coins were gone … the room had not been touched. The real cleaning crew came while I was still in the room and they said they did not take them, and had never seen the coins.

I alerted management and while they seemed concerned, it was not a big deal to them. They said they would follow-up with me. They did not until I sent the general manger a note. While I appreciate the manger finally writing back, I found his excuse to be, well … not so believable.

What the General Manger did not realize is one of his assistant mangers had told me they were having cleaning crew issues and they had hired an outside contracting company to clean. In short, don’t leave any valuables out in the hotel; the cleaning crew cannot be trusted not to mention the management. Just my opinion.

This is the email the manger sent me after I reached out:

Mr. XXXXXXX,

Thank you for reaching out! We did interview the employees that entered your room on that day. There was a project person cleaning bathtubs and then the housekeepers that were supposed to clean the room. The project person was the only person in the room prior to your call to the front desk. He is an employee in good standing and denied taking or even seeing the tip, but based on the information we had we did handle it as a disciplinary action none the less.

Again, my apologies for this situation. It is certainly not the memory we hope to leave you with. Please let me know if/when you come back to Madison so that I can make sure you have a wonderful visit.

Best wishes,

Jason

Jason Havey | General Manager

Room Tip: You have a choice of either a lake view or Capitol view. Both are pretty cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I'm sorry that the situation with the housekeepers tip soured what was otherwise appeared to be a nice stay. I truly hope that we are able to have the opportunity to regain your trust next time you travel to Madison. We take great pride in our service standards and would really like you to see us at our best.

Thank you again for the feedback and I look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights while attending a conference. This Hilton could be any hotel at most major city conference centers. There seems to be a trend in hotels lately--pseudo 1950s decor in rust and brown with swirly rugs. They all seem to have it, and it makes them all feel exactly the same. The t.v. remote didn't work real well since the on/off and channel change buttons had been pushed so many times that they didn't fuction. Hot water was problematic. Room 831 certainly didn't have much of it. I asked if they could fix it, but it was never done. The other issue was that maid service wasn't always completed until fairly late in the afternoon. That seemed odd, but I guess it wasn't really a big deal. The Conference Center was lauded as a Frank Lloyd Wright wonder. It wasn't. It was concrete, concrete and more concrete. In a city that is working hard to restore its lakes' water quality this should be the first thing to GO! A huge clump of concrete destroying the shoreline and hanging out over the lake seemed to be an odd choice of location for a conference focusing on lake management, but it was a great example of what NOT to do! The staff was very pleasant, but this hotel could have been in any city anywhere...and wasn't really very memorable (except for the cold showers). I sure won't use my Hilton Honors Points to go back there.

Room Tip: The "lake" view includes a lot of concrete. Those who had a view of the state capitol see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exVermonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I apologize for the issues in your room. We have resolved the issue with the cold water in your room, which was unfortunately an issue specific to that room. I'm very sorry for the inconvenience. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show great improvement.

Best wishes,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The location is very good and the room and bed both were very comfortable. The breakfast spread on the VIP level was very nice with great views. The only annoying thing was getting charged for valet parking on one of the nights when they didn't have space in the self-park garage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junkrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Property: Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Address: 9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, perfectly located in downtown Madison just two blocks from Capitol Square, is an elegant property connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with spectaculor views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. With an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces, the hotel boasts full service dining and bar options as well. Transportation service is provided complimentary to downtown locations, including the University and Kohl Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing