We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have never written a review on a travel website before, but I read them frequently and felt compelled to add my experiences with this Hilton. I travel frequently for business and have stayed at this Hilton more than once in the past 3 years, the most recent being two weeks ago. Every stay was consistenly excellent. The rooms are well appointed with wonderful beds and bedding, and spotlessly clean; I've had a view of the Capitol from one side and a view of the very large lake from the other. The staff - from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the bellmen - are friendly, courteous, well-informed, and extrememly helpful. I have dined in the smaller room lake-side off the lobby, and also in the Chop House, which is one of the finest restaurants in Madison. The hotel is centrally located and seems to always have their shuttle available for transportation to and from the airport or wherever else necessary in the area. In my travels I have found this hotel to be one of the very finest.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank polly r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank Polly! We strive to provide the best service in Madison and I couldn't be happier that you had great experiences!

We look forward to continuing the trend next time you are in town!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    314
    132
    46
    25
See reviews for
242
242
48
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel has a good location with updated rooms and decent Internet connection (for an additional fee). Those who complained of poor Internet reception were probably trying to connect via the free Wi-Fi in the in lobby. You get what you pay for, or don't pay for.

The only grudge I have with this hotel is management and the cleaning crew. Maybe I have my undies in a wad for no reason, maybe I don’t. This is what happened: I had gone to the famers’ market and they gave me three golden dollar coins. I decided to leave the three coins on the bed for the cleaning crew to take. I came back to my room about 30-minuts later and the coins were gone … the room had not been touched. The real cleaning crew came while I was still in the room and they said they did not take them, and had never seen the coins.

I alerted management and while they seemed concerned, it was not a big deal to them. They said they would follow-up with me. They did not until I sent the general manger a note. While I appreciate the manger finally writing back, I found his excuse to be, well … not so believable.

What the General Manger did not realize is one of his assistant mangers had told me they were having cleaning crew issues and they had hired an outside contracting company to clean. In short, don’t leave any valuables out in the hotel; the cleaning crew cannot be trusted not to mention the management. Just my opinion.

This is the email the manger sent me after I reached out:

Mr. XXXXXXX,

Thank you for reaching out! We did interview the employees that entered your room on that day. There was a project person cleaning bathtubs and then the housekeepers that were supposed to clean the room. The project person was the only person in the room prior to your call to the front desk. He is an employee in good standing and denied taking or even seeing the tip, but based on the information we had we did handle it as a disciplinary action none the less.

Again, my apologies for this situation. It is certainly not the memory we hope to leave you with. Please let me know if/when you come back to Madison so that I can make sure you have a wonderful visit.

Best wishes,

Jason

Jason Havey | General Manager

Room Tip: You have a choice of either a lake view or Capitol view. Both are pretty cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I'm sorry that the situation with the housekeepers tip soured what was otherwise appeared to be a nice stay. I truly hope that we are able to have the opportunity to regain your trust next time you travel to Madison. We take great pride in our service standards and would really like you to see us at our best.

Thank you again for the feedback and I look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights while attending a conference. This Hilton could be any hotel at most major city conference centers. There seems to be a trend in hotels lately--pseudo 1950s decor in rust and brown with swirly rugs. They all seem to have it, and it makes them all feel exactly the same. The t.v. remote didn't work real well since the on/off and channel change buttons had been pushed so many times that they didn't fuction. Hot water was problematic. Room 831 certainly didn't have much of it. I asked if they could fix it, but it was never done. The other issue was that maid service wasn't always completed until fairly late in the afternoon. That seemed odd, but I guess it wasn't really a big deal. The Conference Center was lauded as a Frank Lloyd Wright wonder. It wasn't. It was concrete, concrete and more concrete. In a city that is working hard to restore its lakes' water quality this should be the first thing to GO! A huge clump of concrete destroying the shoreline and hanging out over the lake seemed to be an odd choice of location for a conference focusing on lake management, but it was a great example of what NOT to do! The staff was very pleasant, but this hotel could have been in any city anywhere...and wasn't really very memorable (except for the cold showers). I sure won't use my Hilton Honors Points to go back there.

Room Tip: The "lake" view includes a lot of concrete. Those who had a view of the state capitol see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exVermonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I apologize for the issues in your room. We have resolved the issue with the cold water in your room, which was unfortunately an issue specific to that room. I'm very sorry for the inconvenience. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show great improvement.

Best wishes,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The location is very good and the room and bed both were very comfortable. The breakfast spread on the VIP level was very nice with great views. The only annoying thing was getting charged for valet parking on one of the nights when they didn't have space in the self-park garage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junkrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend in mid-November. The rooms were fine, but service was terrible. We called for room service 3 times: around 10 AM, 4 PM and 6 PM - and nobody came. When we got back to the hotel after dinner, we called again and and finally, someone came with fresh towels and and the room was serviced at 9 PM while we waited outside in the corridor, with a very tired 2-year old toddler.
The hotel staff also took my ID at check-in and did not return it. When I noticed it was missing after our trip, I called to ask for it. They said they haven't seen it, but asked me to "come back in 2 days when the safe is open". When I pointed out that I am unlikely to drive 3 hours to the hotel unless they can confirm they have my ID, the staff got rude and sarcastic.
We don't recommend this hotel - terrible, terrible service!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I am very sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help our housekeeping department deliver this brand promise. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Our slow response was not acceptable and we have put procedures in place to ensure that other guests to not receive a similar response.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Hilton the first weekend of November. My experience was fantastic. The food and service was excellent. The staff went out of their way to make my experience wonderful. They made me and my family feel like we were an important guest and not just a number. I would highly recommend staying at the Hilton.

Room Tip: The beds were excellent. It was like sleeping at home. The view facing the Capitol was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_BNeenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

As a Hilton Honors member, I was upgraded to a wonderful room on the 10th floor with a view of Lake Monona. It was a great place to stay as I was visiting my grandson at the University and it was so convenient to walk everywhere. I did not have any meals at the Hilton so can't comment about that but did love the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. The farmers market on Saturday morning around the capitol building was lots of fun. Overall, a great location in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Become a Hilton Honors member!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBuss, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are thrilled that you found the Hilton Madison to be such a Great Place! We are so fortunate with our location right in the heart of downtown Madison and hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future. Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 63 in Madison
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Property: Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Address: 9 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703-3421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, perfectly located in downtown Madison just two blocks from Capitol Square, is an elegant property connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with spectaculor views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. With an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces, the hotel boasts full service dining and bar options as well. Transportation service is provided complimentary to downtown locations, including the University and Kohl Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing