We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor - but not much else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2003

Stayed at the Monona Terrace labor day weekend, 2003. Although the gardens are beautiful, the location is great, and the decor of the hotel has been very thoughtfully planned - there were major problems with our stay and our room. This is a hotel that upon first glance appears to be a 4 star facility. However, we found that it functioned at a 2 star level. The rates are at a 4 star level.

Upon check in - the King, non-smoking room that we had reserved months earler was not available. There were no parking attendents or bellmen visible anywhere, and the hotel parking lot was full. The front desk clerk told us to park in the lot a couple of blocks away, and they would charge us for parking on the hotel bill. They told us to just take a ticket as we went into the lot, and show them the voucher they gave us when we left. My wife took the keys and voucher and other papers up to the room with the luggage, while I parked the car.

Well, when I got to the parking lot, they wouldn't let me in without paying, unless I had the voucher. It appeared that they had changed their routine because of the Taste of Madison event going on that day.
However, getting back to the hotel was a problem since I was at the end of a one-way street going the wrong way to easily return. So, I paid again and parked.

Since they didn't have the room we reserved they "upgraded" us to a lakeside room on the "club" level with two full size beds. This included evening appetizers and drinks, and breakfast.

The room had a beautiful view, and lovely furniture. But, in spite of the beauty of the furniture, somehow the room just wasn't attractive or well laid out. The beds were uncomfortable, the A/C kept the room alternately too hot or too cold, and when it kicked in it sounded like there was a truck starting in the corner. But, in a way this was good because it drowned out the constant drone of the adjacent elevators and some other nearby air handling unit. And, it had obviously been a room that allowed smoking, and was now masquerading as a non-smoking room after a few squirts of febreze.

There were swarms of lady bugs doing laps up and down the corner between the ceiling and the wall over the beds, and nests and webs of spiders on the same spot on the opposite side. One wall of the room had a myriad of tears, holes and tape from abortive attempts to hang something there.

The lounge that was supposed to have something to eat in the evening had a few very delicious appetizers. But, we got the last couple, and it didn't seem that anyone came to replenish them.

The water in the shower was tepid, softened, and without pressure.

In the morning, breakfast was supposed to be available from 6:30 -10:00 am, but by 9:00 there was essentially nothing left but a loaf of rye bread and some boxes of cereal - and during the ensuing hour, the food was not replenished. So, we packed our bags and went somewher nice for breakfast.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. I've had better stays at much less expensive hotels. I have no idea if our experience was typical for this hotel, but I doubt if I'll give them another chance.

10  Thank TravelinJabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,158 - 1,164 of 1,172 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Madison, WI
17
Reviewed March 8, 2003

The rooms were nice, but the parking terrible. There were no spaces, it is too expensive and then the "Madison Club" members are given priority over hotel guests? Allow plenty of time for an elevator as well. Staff were friendly, but nothing special.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2003

On a previous business trip, I stayed at the Monona Terrace Hilton Hotel. It is a really beautiful hotel if you like elegance. However, upon trying to cancel my last reservation due to a change in our company schedule, they refused to accept my cancellation. No matter what I tried to convey to the hotel manager, I was out of luck. Even the national Hilton operator (who talked with the hotel first) couldn't believe it. If you have a death in the family and need to cancel, you must prove it by way of death certificate. I will never, ever, stay with Hilton again. They got me for one night, but they will never see me again.

24  Thank Bunny5942961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank fraframan2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_Harless, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank A5940SYmarcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_Harless, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank tzuhuit2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_Harless, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank MAGDALENA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_Harless, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 64 in Madison
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#11 of 64 in Madison
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Address: 9 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703-3421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range: $136 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, perfectly located in downtown Madison just two blocks from Capitol Square, is an elegant property connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with spectacular views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. With an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces, the hotel boasts full service dining and bar options as well. Transportation service is provided complimentary to downtown locations, including the University and Kohl Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing