We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the City and views of the Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is a good example of a Hilton and a great location close the the capital building and square with restaurants and some shopping within walking distance. The Hotel restaurant is above average and has a good selection on the menu. The staff had to work through some technology issues while I was there and handled it very well. The Bar tender in the on site bar was great and was a pleasure to speak with.

Room Tip: Get the lake view if possible.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PowertravelerIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

919 - 925 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton Madison Monona Terrace in late February. Room appeared to be recently remodeled. Bathroom is on the small side but the room was a relatively large size. Bed was comfortable. Disappointed that they were double beds instead of queen size beds. But all in all nice hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southerncalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBuss, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2012

Room with a view is right! Thank you for sharing your great pictures here. You'll have to come back and join us when the lake isn't frozen! Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Hilton Madison Monona Terrace twice in the past 6 months. Both stays met and exceeded my expectations. During the first visit, I dined at the Chophouse. One of the items I enjoyed was the cheese sampler as an appetizer. Delicious! Both rooms were clean and the hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. During my last stay I forgot to pack up some clothing and discovered after I returned home that I left it in the closet of my hotel room. I call the front desk and they said they would track it down and ship the clothes to my home. A few days later the UPS man delivered the clothes I left hanging in the closet with a nice note from the housekeeping staff. Thank you Hilton Madison Monona Terrace for two excellent stays.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the lake are enjoyable whether the lake is frozen or not.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikaMarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBuss, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2012

Thank you so much for the feedback on your last two stays with us! We are very lucky to have such a phenomenal restaurant with the Capitol ChopHouse on property. Furthermore, great customer service is really something that we pride ourselves in here, and I'm thrilled you were able to experience this with the return of your lost and found items. We are looking forward to your next trip to Madison. Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Nice stay, the location is perfect right on the lake and connected to the conference center. The location is close to downtown without being right in it. You can walk to dinner/drinks, shopping and the capital. Yet you are about 5 blocks from the university and the brew pubs. The hot tub is nice and the pool is small. Rooms are clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only issue we had was we booked the "bed and breakfast" package and what they don't tell you is that if the hotel is below a certain percent of rooms booked they do not provide you with a buffet. You can still get any one item off their menu but we personally enjoy a buffet. So slightly disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanzan0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBuss, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. Your comments about our location are spot on. I wanted to apologize that we weren't offering the full buffet during your visit. It is rare for us to do this but unfortunate that it affected you. We hope you will consider joining us again the next time your travels bring you back to Madison. Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I am always greeted with exceptionally friendly service when I stay at the Hilton. The check in and out process is fast and easy. The rooms are comfy, spacious and clean. The Hilton in Madison provides excellent customer service and the people at the front desk, no matter how late I am checking in, always have a smile. In the age of poor customer service....the Hilton is the refreshing difference.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmac124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBuss, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

We are honored that you consider us the only place to stay in Madison and would like to thank you for your continued loyalty! We are thrilled that you have had such great experiences time and time again. We hope you will be able to join us again soon. Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Unfortunately, we had some loud neighbors. That is understandable but everytime someone used the water we could hear the water running in the pipes loud and clear. No one asked us how our stay was when we were checking out.

Can't beat the location. We had breakfast in the restaurent downstairs and that was fantastic.

Room Tip: Room was nice except for the noise. I am thinking that we just had a bad room location.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBuss, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. I wanted to extend my apologies for the noise you experienced during your stay. We are very fortunate with such a fantastic location, and I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast so much. We have recently revamped our breakfast and truly appreciate the feedback. We hope you will visit us again soon. Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My wife and I returned to Madison for a short trip and had our first stay at the Hilton. The room was very nice and had a beautiful view of both the capital and lake. The hotel had great service and was right by the capitol and State Street. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBuss, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled you had such a great first experience at our hotel and look forward to your return trip. Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.7 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Address: 9 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703-3421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range: $164 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, perfectly located in downtown Madison just two blocks from Capitol Square, is an elegant property connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with spectacular views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. With an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces, the hotel boasts full service dining and bar options as well. Transportation service is provided complimentary to downtown locations, including the University and Kohl Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing