We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good take out”
Review of Nile

Nile
Ranked #46 of 997 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cape Coral, FL
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good take out”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Got a vegetarian platter for take out and the food was very good and the prices were decent. Preparation was quick and staff was friendly when I picked up my food. Would recommend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dinamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed!”
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Having been to Lulu's many times before, I was anxious to try its new location and joint venture... the Nile. They did not disappoint! I agree that being in a strip mall is not ideal, I much preferred Lulu's old-style building. However the food more than made up for it!

Our waiter was quite attentive; the food choices were quite varied and were served piping hot and quite quickly. We ordered chicken on the Greek salad and it was grilled to perfection! Try it with almonds and pita chips. We also had sampler plate of hummus, baba ghanouj, and falafel. I have to say it was some of the best falafel I've ever had!! Super moist inside and SO tasty! The olive oil dip that was brought out first was excellent, as was the grilled pita that accompanied it~definitely fresh!

The portion sizes are large, so not a bad idea to order a few things to share. There were three of us and we had more than enough! My 10 1/2 month old grandson enjoyed it all as well! The prices were very reasonable, and yes, we will definitely return!

Helpful?
2 Thank kargalvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I enjoyed all the choices on the menu. Trying different types of new foods to me is always fun.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Current fav restaurant in madison”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have been to Nile about 10 times in the past 3 months. Have not disappointed yet. As a matter of fact it was a very random stop the 1st time we stopped by because of the poor location, but it was absolutely worth a try. We didn't know we liked Mediterranean food until we tried Nile. I would recommend this to anybody; you have to have the hummus for sure. Everything else has been great too including the service.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We've only gone once. We love middle Eastern food and were big fans of Lulu's (Nile's previous incarnation), but Nile didn't impress us. The food was ok, but nothing amazing and our waiter was strange - he was alternatively overly attentive, with repeated visits to our table, loud and making odd jokes that fell flat, then disappearing for a long time. There was also a problem with the bill. I certainly wouldn't let a problem with waitstaff put me off a restaurant, but he really stood out since the food seemed average and there was nothing else compelling enough to make us try again.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Maubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nile also viewed

 

Been to Nile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing