We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My back is still aching from the bed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My back is still aching from the bed...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

Stayed 2 nights there and I wish I hadn't. The bed was horribly uncomfortable, shower made funky noises, after 3 trips downstairs..finally got a remote that worked for the tv.
The evening reception, well what can I say? Doesn't everyone love lil smokies, meatballs from a bag, chips, cookies and beer? The breakfast was just ok....i've stayed at many HIE and this one by far is so unlike the others.
Asked both days to switch to a king room, where the sign in the elevators boasted that : there is now carpeting in ALL of the sleeping rooms and the king rooms now have a new pillow top mattress and 32" flat screen tv. According to the desk clerk, they were almost sold out so I coudln't get switched. That definitely sucked.

Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenninmoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    70
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
68
61
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

I'm a big fan of Holiday Inn Express and this one did not let me down. There were four of us sharing a room with two double beds and yet I still didn't feel too crowded. We were there for a college football game. This location is about 3-4 miles away from the stadium, yet we still walked there and back. So, if you're looking for downtown night life, this might be a little far out. The breakfast was good, as I find the HIX breakfast to be among my favorite for "free" breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bab250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina - Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed here for one night in August, 2009 on a driving holiday.
Check-in was a little slow as the desk clerk was away from his position. But the room was large and clean. The bathroom a little small. The bed very comfortable. Wireless internet worked properly. Breakfast the next morning was good – typical HI Express - hot scrambled eggs, bacon and biscuits, and cold cereals etc.
The pool looked nice, but we didn’t use it.
Air conditioning worked well.
The room was quiet.
The location is a little removed from I-94, so it was a little hard to find. And there’s not too much around, but it is right next door to the Alliant Energy Centre, if you are attending an event there.
We got a really good rate of $75 - not sure why.
All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joebaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreatLakes
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

Older Holiday Inn which is nicely updated in decor, beds, and linens. Clean and comfortable. Front desk clerks were EXCELLENT. Nice pool. Pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julymystery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, IL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

Hotel was clean and staff was friendly. The bed was good, not as good as other HI's. The bathroom was small but functional. The small fridge in the room rattled most of the night so I unplugged it. We could hear the folks in the room next door running their hot tub. Breakfast was perfect. A lot of food choices and well stocked. Good location for us going to the UW Kohl center concert.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techmom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2009

We've used the HI Express at Deforest many times and we would give it higher grades than this version on John Nolan Drive in Madison, although the Madison HI Express enjoys a far better location in terms of access to the city. First, the high points: the staff is extra friendly and helpful. The pool and hot tub temperatures are right. Deducts included the great difficulty we had connecting to the wireless internet. (If you have trouble, get a wireless bridge from the desk right away, rather than screwing around with tech support for an hour on the phone.) We also found the overall condition of the hotel to be in need of some improvement. You may not necessarily be able to put your finger on anything in particular, but it all adds up to the need for a serious deep cleaning and some touching up (not renovation, just yet.) Bottom line: it's a particularly good location if you have something to do at the Alliant Energy Center and the staff is great, but we can't give it more than a C+ on a grading scale.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Standby4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

The staff was friendly. The rooms were clean. The free drinks and cheese were nice (but only available on weekdays). The breakfast was a little better than average.
However, the pool was painfully cold. The staff (politely) disavowed any responsibility for the pool, blaming a contractor.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Freezing Pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Madison Hotel
Sheraton Madison Hotel
#24 of 63 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
6.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Address: 722 John Nolen Dr, Madison, WI 53713-1422 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Madison)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete Renovation in 2014! Comfort Inn a Madison, Wisconsin hotel near Alliant Energy Center Enjoy your Madison, WI vacation at the Comfort Inn(R), located in the downtown area within walking distance to the Alliant Energy Center and Veteran's Coliseum. Shopping, dining and sightseeing await you during your stay at the Comfort Inn, and you'll be just minutes away from some of the most popular Madison destinations such as: •Wisconsin Children's Museum •Wisconsin Veteran's Museum •Capital City Bike Trail We are also easily accessible from Highway 12/18, near the University of Wisconsin and the Monona Terrace Convention Center, Camp Randall and the Kohl Center. Your guest room at the Comfort Inn is complete with a flat-screen television, microwave, hair dryer, MP3 radio, iron and ironing board. Additional amenities include: •Free wireless high-speed internet •Free daily newspaper •Free hot breakfast and coffee Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Madison, WI the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Keep up with your workout regimen at our fitness center, and enjoy our indoor heated pool. Parking is free and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses. This is a pet-friendly hotel, fees apply. Book your stay the Comfort Inn and enjoy a worry-free and fun-filled visit to Madison. Our friendly and professional staff will ensure your trip is memorable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Madison Hotel Madison
Holiday Inn Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing