We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No complaints.”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Nice place for a quick visit to Madison.

Hotel is a little older, but in good shape. Check in was very friendly.. received a couple drink tickets for the bar. Room was very clean. Breakfast well stocked. A great value compared to downtown hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnilguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    72
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
71
63
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

First impression of of Holiday Inn Express from the outside--normal/average Holiday Inn hotel.
First Impression walking into Holiday Inn--Lounge needs a SERIOUS updating. The bar/sitting place is dark and gloomy. Felt like I was walking into a strip club.
Hallways are old looking, old elevator.
Checked into my room and it was fine. Clean, white sheets on bed, old bulky looking furniture, maroon and green decor. Bathroom is dated. I just got that feeling of old but they were trying to make it feel new.
Employees were fine.
Free internet service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Natalie R,

Thank you for staying with us. Your feed back is very important to us. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We do not think of ourselves as "basic" or average, as we strive to be the best. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate departments. We always welcome opportunity to improve.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Had a horrible experience in terms of customer service. Went for a conference at work and 2 rooms were accidentally booked at this hotel and the one right next to it! The hotel messed up on the confirmation email so I accidentally called and booked at the other hotel. I came home to find my credit card was charged and called to see if at the very least they would reduce the rate or anything b/c no one stayed in the room. They wouldn't change a thing and didn't take any responsibility for their error in the email address which they messed up! We had some co-workers that stayed here and we stayed at the Sheraton next door which was cheaper and way nicer!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
124 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Thanks for the great stay....
Nice quiet room...
Thanks so much.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrome1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I've been to a good number of Holiday Inn Express hotels over the years and this one was probably the worst I've stayed in. Overall it was a good hotel, but compared to other Holiday Inn Expresses it was not great. The building itself was old, but had obviously been remodeled in the last 5 years or so. The pool area was fine, but the chlorine in the hot tub was overwhelming. I can normally stay in for a while and 5 minutes in this one made my eyes hurt. Additionally, the pool was broken down most of the day, so we were not able to use it until the evening hours.

Our friends also had a room at this hotel. When we booked the rooms we made sure to request the same room type so that we might be able to have rooms near each other. When we got there we were not given the same room types. Our friends were given and executive level room and we were in the standard Queen room. However, we all still paid the same price. Additionally, we were not able to have rooms near each other for this reason. It seemed odd that they were given an executive level room when we are the Priority Club members and they are not.

Generally, speaking I would look for a different hotel the next time I'm in Madison. The Sheraton next door looked very nice. I would only stay in this hotel again if the location was appropriate and others are not available.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beccababe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Hotel choice in Madison depends on what experience you crave. If It is OK to be off campus (across form the coliseum), this is a good choice. A huge savings over the Sheraton at the same location and an eager to please staff. M-Th there are complimentary snacks and 2 beverages from 5-7 and a better than average breakfast included every day. The business center is also better than most. Parking is free and adequate. Our room had a table and 2 chairs so bringing dinner in was an option.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowwowwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We got a room here on new year's eve at the very last minute for $100, including tax. We were upgraded to an executive king room at no charge on top of that deal, too. The hotel was a little hard to find but ended up being in a great location, right along a bike path to downtown Madison. Our cab ride to dinner at capitol square was abt $13, and we actually walked back since cabs were scarce after the bars closed. It takes about an hour, but the walk goes along the lake. Staff was really nice. The beds were firm and comfy, and best of all the place was CLEAN, which is the most important part. Will be back on future trips to Madison!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Madison Hotel
Sheraton Madison Hotel
#23 of 63 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
6.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Address: 722 John Nolen Dr, Madison, WI 53713-1422 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Madison)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete Renovation in 2014! Comfort Inn a Madison, Wisconsin hotel near Alliant Energy Center Enjoy your Madison, WI vacation at the Comfort Inn(R), located in the downtown area within walking distance to the Alliant Energy Center and Veteran's Coliseum. Shopping, dining and sightseeing await you during your stay at the Comfort Inn, and you'll be just minutes away from some of the most popular Madison destinations such as: •Wisconsin Children's Museum •Wisconsin Veteran's Museum •Capital City Bike Trail We are also easily accessible from Highway 12/18, near the University of Wisconsin and the Monona Terrace Convention Center, Camp Randall and the Kohl Center. Your guest room at the Comfort Inn is complete with a flat-screen television, microwave, hair dryer, MP3 radio, iron and ironing board. Additional amenities include: •Free wireless high-speed internet •Free daily newspaper •Free hot breakfast and coffee Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Madison, WI the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Keep up with your workout regimen at our fitness center, and enjoy our indoor heated pool. Parking is free and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses. This is a pet-friendly hotel, fees apply. Book your stay the Comfort Inn and enjoy a worry-free and fun-filled visit to Madison. Our friendly and professional staff will ensure your trip is memorable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Madison Hotel Madison
Holiday Inn Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing