We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Really nice zoo

This Zoo is free. The continually make improvements for the animal's welfare. Lots if stuff to do... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
limey52
,
Madison, Wisconsin
via mobile
Great zoo

The Henry Vilas Zoo located just on the southern edge of the UW Madison campus is a small but... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
0221Serendipity
,
Madison, Wisconsin
Read all 1,569 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Madison
Reviews (1,569)
Filter reviews
1,547 results
Traveler rating
958
450
107
21
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
958
450
107
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews polar bear train ride merry go round prairie dogs red panda reptile house wide variety of animals lake wingra perfect size free admission children's area bison few hours great for kids all ages street parking whole family
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,547 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

This Zoo is free. The continually make improvements for the animal's welfare. Lots if stuff to do & see. Children really love visiting. There are lots of places to sit & rest. Employees & volunteers are friendly & helpful. We really enjoyed our visit. The neighborhood has beautiful old homes nearby.

Thank limey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Henry Vilas Zoo located just on the southern edge of the UW Madison campus is a small but terrific zoo that's always a pleasure to visit. There's plenty to see here to occupy a day trip and there is ample parking within waking distance.

Thank 0221Serendipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good size for spending about 2-3 hours while in the area. Don't miss the kids area with fun play area, train rides, and carousel.

Thank yippee8999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is what a zoo should be. Accessible, easily walkable, animal- and people-friendly. We're tired of paying big bucks to big zoos to see acres of habitat and rare glimpses of animals. We spent 30 minutes watching the rhinoceros play with a log ten feet away from us while we heard lions roar and saw giraffes galloping a stone's throw away.

Thank badgerbob2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible rainy cold weather but a cute fun zoo I’m still trying to figure out how you take care of all your animals since you do not charge a fee we have been to zoos all over America and at least they charge something to get in it was cold a lot of the animals worn out but the zoo is well-kept

Thank paws0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A free Zoo? Yes a free zoo with only a request of a donation. The Henry Vilas Zoo has been in a positive growth for a period of time. It is a small & kind zoo, very close to the heart of Madison, WI. Relaxing and caring with a community focus on the environment and those that inhabit it. That is the feeling you get from this zoo. It is a great place to visit with out-of-town guests. When you don't know where to bring out of town guests...go to the zoo.

Thank Krissy_Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was fun seeing the different animals at this zoo. I have never seen a Rhinoceros before so that was a fun experience. The cages/living areas seemed a bit small though. Our visit was during the week on a rainy day, so the zoo was not busy at all. I would guess that if it was a busy time this zoo may be quite crowded. Very enjoyable with the different animals.

Thank kathyreeves2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A wonderful free zoo, donations are voluntary. It's nicely laid out with many exhibits for a small zoo. Lots of hands on things to do for kids. The new polar bear habitat is awesome with big windows to watch the bears swim. Near a small beach and lots of picnic areas. Really fun for all ages.

Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Madison Zoo is and always will be on of my favorites. It’s incredible that it’s free! I haven’t been up there for a couple of years and they have made some changes. They have a new polar bear enclosure where you can view from several locations allowing you to watch the bear no matter where it is, on land or under water. They have also made a new area for the brown bears and seals with the option to view from several locations. If you haven’t been to the Madison Zoo for a while or ever, it’s a must see if your in the Madison area.

Thank mwnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

had never been to henry vilas zoo before, it was nice but small compared to other zoos. being its free we had fun seeing several animals. this zoo would be perfect for younger children.

Thank Ralph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews