We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superbly Crafted Brews & Excellent Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vintage Brewing Co.

Vintage Brewing Co.
Ranked #40 of 975 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Midwest
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superbly Crafted Brews & Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is one of the best places in the Madison area to get both great beer and food in one setting. The beer they have been creating is top-notch, and they always offer a wide assortment of styles on tap. The food offerings are equally impressive. Add a vintage-looking setting (picture some old signage and memorabilia) and you have an awesome place to throw a few back, enjoy some great food and conversation with family and friends. The Ulfberht is one of the best porters I have ever had. See...Even a Packer fan can enjoy something with a Viking bent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoAtTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    58
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Vintage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great for after work, family, or friends. The 'WoodShed' is in the top 5 IPA's at least on my list. The food is good, atmosphere is ..one of a kind. Vintage kitchen tables, old tv shows playing, old beer signs everywhere. A trip down memory lane.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Burgers, Burgers and other Stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

When you're in the area of Southwest Madison, WI and you see the exit sign for Whitney Way comin' up on the Beltline; your stomach is growlin' and the spouse is howling start lookin' for the "Vintage Brewing Company"! Burgers with a great bunch of sauces to go with them. Wraps and Entrees...What more can ya ask for??? Great Grub!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danheibler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome brewery & restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

As expected the place was packed on a Saturday night so we put our name down and went to the bar for drinks until our table was ready. We were not given the best first impression with the hostesses... they were not welcoming at all, it seemed like they didn't want to take our names. We almost left because they were so rude, but let me tell ya why we're glad we stayed. At the bar we ordered the beer flight, which you pick as many beers you want to try for 1.50 each (they give you hefty size tastings). Their beers are unique and very tasty.. no way you won't find something you like. Looking through the menu we decided why not order the soft pretzel appetizers while at the bar, and there came two freshly baked pretzels with two types dipping sauces. Of course our buzzer beeped just after we started the pretzels. Moving on to dinner, our service blew us out of the water, especially for a brewery/restaurant. Our waiter's name was Mark and he could not have done more for us! He is half the reasons we look forward to going back. We ordered the pork chili, avocado tartare and BBQ baked mac n cheese- my only complaint is there wasn't more of the pork chili; a cup of chili really means a cup... like a teacup, so order the bowl! The mac n cheese was large and decadent. All in all, the beer was great, ambience great, our server excellent, and we cannot wait to return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alicia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
245 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Food at the Brew Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Grilled Chicken Salad was amazing. An original presentation on a classic, combines a large chicken breast, greens, beans and a medium spiced mango salsa - delicious. Another guest had the grilled turkey bacon sandwich - that he raved about. Maybe the best burgers in Madison as well. Didn't partake in the liquid lunch, but they have a tremendous line up of beers and maybe the best brewmaster in Madison.

Worth a trip back, just north of the Beltline Hwy on Whitney way across from HyVee and near the UW Research Park and CUNA National.

Enjoy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank escape2az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vintage Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing