We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Burger in the greater Madison Area? Affirmative.”

Vintage Brewing Co.
Ranked #42 of 983 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Burger in the greater Madison Area? Affirmative.”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Thrice thusfar I have eaten at the Vintage Brewing Company. Each time I have had the same reaction to the "Home Grown Burger", that reaction being Wow! They don't kid around when they say the burger is cooked to perfection. It was incredibly juicy, which is what I look for in a burger. The bun did not get soggy and the apples and cheese on the burger added their own great flavor.

I have eaten a lot of burgers around Madison, and there is really no comparison to the flavor explosion of this burger. If you doubt this review, try it for yourself it is bound to impress even the snobbiest of burger snobs. Beef.

Side note--this place had a lot of good Belgian style beers when I went.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scoki_Sokquart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    59
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Burger in Madison”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

If you like microbrews, you will love their selection. Their food is fresh and we have never had an average burger. They are delicious and made to perfection. They have daily specials, kids menu, appetizers and plenty to choose from.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average in all regards”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Waited for a table for about 20 minutes on Sat eve. Got pushed out of the way in the lounge area so the band could set up. Once seated service was fairly quick. Menu selections were ample. $1 extra charge for extra sauce on fish tacos? Really? Burger and Sanwich were average. Brisket was good. Tried several beers that were all good but unremarkable. Service was average. Atmosphere was average. Dinner for 4 with a total of 6 beers and 2 strongbow ciders was $82 plus gratuity. I will give it another shot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank centralwisboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, WIsconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Burger in Madison”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

What a great surprise Vintage has proved to be. The previous establishment in this location suffered from poor food, poor service, and poor atmosphere. Vintage has achieved the opposite. The Home Grown Burger is incredible. All of the burgers are 1/2 pound patties of top grade beef from one of our great local butchers, Knoche's. The Home Grown has a thick slab of Wisconsin aged white cheddar that is paired with argula and apple slices - all on the burger - a combination I would not have thought of that tastes marvelous together. A friend had the Black and Bleu burger and raved about that as well. The steak fries were hot and crisp. Service was fast and pleasant. The decor is Vintage as the name applies with tables, lamps, and wall decor from the 40's and 50's. There is a warm cozy fireplace in the main dining room.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank badgertravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great beer, great food”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I go to Vintage at least once a month. I go for the beer. The brewmaster at Vintage is an artist...he creates some of the best beers ever. The beers on the cask pump are especially outstanding. The only problem is that there always many more I want to try than I can handle in one sitting.

But, while I go for the beer, I am always pleased with the great food too. My favorites include the mac and cheese (with spicy barbequed pork mixed in), the whitefish sandwich, and the fish tacos. There are plenty of other choices, ranging from sandwiches to well gourmet meals, but somehow I miss out on these since I don't want to miss my favorites.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler53051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintage Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Vintage Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing