We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always our first choice to stay when in Madison”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wisconsin Union Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Wisconsin Union Hotel many times and for many reasons. The location (center of campus) is ideal, the rooms are always extremely clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the underground parking is a bonus, too! When we know we are visiting Madison, the Union Hotel is always my first reservation choice. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHW764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 160 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

On the upper levels of the new Student Union this hotel is a hidden gem. Staff was attentive when the Keurig coffee maker in our room needed replaces. Best bed in the Midwest and high quality pillows made for a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Rk J,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review for the Wisconsin Union Hotel. I’m glad to hear that we were able to assist you during your stay, and it’s an even grander compliment to hear that we were able to assure you a great night’s sleep.

On, Wisconsin!
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed two nights for graduation in May 2013. Rooms were spotless, and for being in the middle of campus, were also very quiet. Lots to see and do right in the area and in the union itself. We'll return again for visits to the campus. On, Wisconsin!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim and Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Jim and Julie M,

Thank you for your short, and very sweet, review! Housekeeping takes great pride in the work they do every day and this is just the positive feedback they strive to receive. Graduation weekend is definitely one of our busiest weekends, and it is great to hear that everything was at or above the bar we set for ourselves.

Thanks again for staying with us— On, Wisconsin!
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The convenience of this on-campus hotel for a graduation event is reason enough to stay here, but the rooms are beautiful, the breakfast spot and wine bar are fun, and the service is personal and accommodating without being intrusive. To top it all off, it's a high-performance ("green") building, outfitted tastefully throughout with evident Badger pride. My only regret is that I have no upcoming occasion for which to return anytime soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2RomeSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear 2RomeSoon,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for what sounds like was graduation weekend! Although separate, the Wisconsin Union Hotel and the Union aim to be the fun and welcoming, on-campus experience you have described. I am so happy to hear that my staff was able to provide you with outstanding service while showing our Badger-pride. I hope you do find a reason to come back and visit us soon!

On, Wisconsin!
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I had picked up my daughter from O'Hare and didn't want to drive back to Green Bay, so I made arrangements to stay at the Union. I'm an Alumna and my daughter is currently a Sophomore at the UW Madison, so I thought it would be fun to stay right on campus. The cost is appropriate for the location especially since it is right on campus! Excellent service, very comfortable bed, very clean! I'd go back in a heartbeat. The Union has restaurants, a small gift shop, places to study and/or work in a sunny, open setting indoors or one can sit at tables outside (weather permitting, of course). Large flat screen TV's are scattered around the Union some listing the days events and others tuned to CNN, etc. I was very pleased with our accommodations. The Union has come a LONG way since I graduated from there in 1989!

Room Tip: I can't recommend one room over another, but be sure to treat yourself to some excellent ice cre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptsip04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

First time stay at hotel and it was excellent! The decor was very nice, bathroom amenities were great and fun to hang out at the Union. The reviews say it all! Will definitely come back. Excellent location and service. Noise was not an issue for us. Liked the many options we had around us. Even the art gallery was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I recently spent one night here while visiting the U of Wisconsin. I was pleasantly surprised by this remarkably clean, cheerful and comfortable room located right on campus. Bed was a treat, filled with sumptuous pillows. The shower was great -- euro style -- with quality bath products at the ready. If you like red and appreciate the Badgers, you will be delighted by the Wisconsin Union!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MassFamilyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear MassFamilyTravelers,

I’m so glad to hear that you found our rooms so cheerful and comfortable. The front desk staff and I, along with house-keeping, push for just the kind of experience you have described above. We hope that if you ever return to the University of Wisconsin, you will stay with us!

On, Wisconsin!
Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 64 in Madison
777 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
0.4 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#12 of 64 in Madison
705 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisconsin Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisconsin Union Hotel

Address: 1308 W Dayton St, Madison, WI 53715-1149
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Madison
Price Range: $130 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wisconsin Union Hotel - Madison at Union South offers a warm, inviting oasis of ‘green’ hospitality, welcoming you to one of the nation’s most livable cities with peaceful ambiance, artful decor, and unsurpassed service. This brand new 60 room boutique hotel is sure to please. Set in the heart of a vibrant Madison neighborhood, the new Union South is nestled between the Computer Sciences & Statistics Building and Engineering Hall on the south side of the UW-Madison campus, just across Campus Drive from the Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing