We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value Hotel in the Midwest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wisconsin Union Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
westport
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Best Value Hotel in the Midwest”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our little family of four booked one of the extended stay suites and boy were we pleasantly suprised. We had a full galley kitchen with 3/4 size fridge, a nook with a desk, flat screens in both the bedroom and in the sitting room with sofabed, a great view of the Union south plaza/Camp Randall, parking in the basement (hassle-free), and all the amenities of the Union right downstairs. My kids loved the bowling and air-hockey, and they could run amok on the plaza all they wanted in the mornings before my coffee kicked in.

All this for $200. If you aren't a Union member it will be more. I am going to spread the rumor that it is prohibitively more so that I get to stay here again. As a matter of fact, forget you read this and stay at the Concourse, or the Edgewater and leave this place for me.

I can't imagine a better place on a football weekend, and when word gets out these rooms will probably have to go lottery, since the band performs on the plaza before the game, and they won't sell you enough beer not to make it back to the Union from Camp Randall across the street. The best hangover food in the world is mere blocks away at Mickie's Dairy Bar, to boot.

Sure, there's no room service, and yeah, it'd be nice to be closer to State Street (maybe - if you aren't keen on sleep), and ok, this is the 'wrong' Union and you can't fool us with the terrace furniture on the concrete patio with the fake stream. This is still the bargain of the century.

The real measure of the place will be taken in two years after a few seasons of football weekend revelry have dinged up the furniture and soiled the linens beyond bleach, but until then, you won't do better in a 100 mile radius.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank screwjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I'm extremely grateful we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you an unforgettable experience here at the University of Wisconsin. As you had mentioned, football weekends are very popular and book quickly; Union members and students are allowed to book a year in advance for special event weekends such as these, however, all other guests of the University are required to wait 21 days prior to the weekend to book.

I'm also happy you appreciated your room overlooking the terrace and stadium -- during football games guests are able to see all the action out on the terrace which includes spectacular performances from the UW band; these rooms only run $5 more than a standard room which is well worth the experience.

We hope to see you back for the upcoming football season!

Thank you,

Tyler Dovenbarger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    44
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
23
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Not only does this hotel offer the perfect location for nightlife and UW events, but it offers awesome amenities. Each room is equipped with a mini fridge and Keurig coffee maker, which are quite nice to have (in addition to your usual supplies, such as an iron and hair dryer). It was very clean, nice flat screen TV, extremely comfortable bed, accommodating staff and quiet rooms (you can hear guests doors closing, but this seems to be the case at most hotels).

The ONLY reason I didn't give this hotel 5 stars is because the water pressure was horrifying -- I know it's an energy-efficient hotel, but it took me 10 minutes to simply wash the shampoo out of my hair with what tiny trickle of water was provided. The rooms were also pretty small, but it was sufficient for my husband and I.

We were in town for a wedding, which was at the Union South and also very nice, and rooms were $117 per night on a Fri-Sun.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a "view." It didn't have much of a view, but it did not overlook t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chriskitten8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I would first like to apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the water pressure during your stay. There were issues throughout the downtown area that caused this problem and it has since been resolved.

We do our best to make everyone's stay here as convenient and comfortable as possible and are extremely glad you appreciated all of the amenities we have to offer.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon in the near future!

-Tyler Dovenbarger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The university of wisconsin was our third university on our mid west swing. loved everything. this was the best place we stayed! Very new, beautiful room! Wisconsin theme, what else would you expect. we drove in for the 12:30 tour, room wasn't ready but got parking pass, walked into info session which is in the same location and then went on tour, done! no need to find parking. after tour room was ready! perfect location.
i like to have breakfast included but it was worth not having it to be right on campus! the student union is great and the information dest for the university is right there. next day was street fair, easy walk but we drove so we could go to milwaukee. we have done so many schools and you should so stay here! (i never say that in my reviews!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheleNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! Madison is an extremely unique city with an excellent campus that has much to offer. The hotel is currently in collaboration with some of the food outlets in Union South to work out a plan that will eventually include breakfast in our rates. We are hoping to have this accomplished in the coming months, but for the time being breakfast is served at 7am on the first floor of Union South and is available for all guests of the hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

-Tyler Dovenbarger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Union South hotel is not bad. I stayed there for 13 nights for work. My AC did not work properly and I asked for it to be fixed multiple times and it took a week for them to do anything about it. The restaurants there were pricey and the food was alright. All in all it served its purpose.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
I'd like to begin by thanking you for your feedback and ensure you that this matter has been looked into. It seems as if there was a communication error somewhere along the way, however, our staff has been made aware of the issue and it has been resolved.

We did have maintenance look into the issue during your stay and they had said it had been taken care of. Our staff is currently taking corrective measures to put an effective communication strategy in place to let guests know what issues have been brought to our attention, looked into, resolved etc. As of now we call our guests, however, we know a majority of our guests are here on business and are very busy, therefore, a note card slipped under the door may be more effective.

Being an environmentally savvy hotel, the lights and thermostat are both controlled using your key card and activated by motion sensors in the room. This way, after leaving your room, within 30 seconds if there is no motion, the electricity in the room will shut off, conserving energy. Typically the thermostat will start cooling within 15 minutes upon check-in.

We take feedback very seriously and appreciate those who bring these issues to our attention so we can address them immediately and provide the best service possible to all of our guests. We hope to see you again in the future so we can show you the true standards the Wisconsin Union Hotel strives to provide every one of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Union South hotel was perfect for our visit to Madison. The UW freshman orientation activities were centered at the Union. The hotel was modern, clean and well run. Since it's a student Union, it had many facilities for food and activities and was convenient for walking to the rest of the UW campus and downtown Madison.
Thanks for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
SOAR is definitely a very busy time for us over the summer! The hotel, being located on the 4th and 5th floor of Union South is an extremely convenient spot for SOAR guests as all the SOAR activities take place in Union South just a couple floors beneath your room.

SOAR registrations happens to be a few hours before check-in time, however, the hotel is able to provide you with permits that will allow you access to our underground parking facility. There is a 10-minute parking zone outside the hotel entrance off of Dayton St. you may park in temporarily, we may then issue you a permit that will allow you access below the building for the duration of your stay. At this time we may also issue guests free Wi-fi access codes to get online if needed.

We're glad you're initial stay here went above your expectations and are looking forward to hosting your future visits. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Sincerely,

Tyler Dovenbarger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently spent a weekend on the campus of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The first night we stayed at the brand new Union South hotel, a state-of-the-art facility that is also very environmentally sound. Everything about our stay was terrific, from the location, to the staff, to all of the emenities. It is also very reasonably priced, and even more so if you are a University of Wisconsin Union member. The location is close to the campus and the famous State Street area which is the heart of downtown Madison. The second night we stayed at the Memorial Union which has some guest rooms on the fourth floor (six, I believe). These accomodations are more austere, but you can't beat the location. A very short walk to State Street and right on the shores of Lake Mendota! The Terrace of the Memorial Union is a great place for a beer, a brat, and ice cream cone, and/or just good conversation. The same can be said for the staff at the Memorial Union. We have stayed there many times before, and the students at the front desk have always been very nice and quite helpful. We will definitely be back to both locations. A perfect getaway from Chicago, Milwaukee, or elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPM36422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Being a recent graduate of UW - Madison myself, I couldn't agree with your review any more. The location along with complimentary underground parking is extremely convenient to anyone who is visiting whether it be for a tour of campus or just to see the many sights Madison has to offer. All tours of campus actually start on the first floor of the facility the hotel is located, and as you said, State Street along with Lake Mendota are just a short 15 minute walk away.

Thank you for your candid comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Tyler Dovenbarger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Daughter got married at Union South this summer which warrants another excellent review for venue, service and setting. Had family and friends in 59 of the 60 rooms at Union South. Staff, Andrew, Jessica, Tyler and Eric all worked efficiently and pleasantly to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Service was fast and attentive to details. The only negative of the whole weekend was when the elevator stopped working. Would not hesitate to stay there again and look forward to it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blhoadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We're extremely happy everything (aside from the elevator mishap) went smoothly with your stay here at the Wisconsin Union Hotel. We can assure you the issue was taken seriously and was looked into and resolved immediately. It seems as if those things tend to happen at the most inconvenient times, but we thank you for your patience and understanding.

The new Varsity Hall is an exceptional new, and modern venue for any wedding reception and the Union's Catering team does an excellent job to ensure every event goes above and beyond expectations.

Although the Wisconsin Union Hotel is unable to accommodate wedding block reservations, we do our best to ensure wedding guests who choose to stay with us are grouped together and any special requests are met. The majority of feedback received from all wedding parties who have held their reception here, been married here, or have stayed with us here at the hotel has been exceptional, and we're very happy to be able to provide top notch service for you on such a special day.

Sincerely,

Tyler Dovenbarger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#11 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.1 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
1.0 mi away
Best Western PLUS InnTowner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisconsin Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisconsin Union Hotel

Property: Wisconsin Union Hotel
Address: 1308 W Dayton St, Madison, WI 53715-1149
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wisconsin Union Hotel - Madison at Union South offers a warm, inviting oasis of ‘green’ hospitality, welcoming you to one of the nation’s most livable cities with peaceful ambiance, artful decor, and unsurpassed service. This brand new 60 room boutique hotel is sure to please. Set in the heart of a vibrant Madison neighborhood, the new Union South is nestled between the Computer Sciences & Statistics Building and Engineering Hall on the south side of the UW-Madison campus, just across Campus Drive from the Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing