We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wisconsin Union Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at The Wisconsin Union Hotel for a family wedding and were immediately welcomed by friendly staff and every staff member we met throughout our visit did everything to make us feel welcome and had all of our needs met. I was most impressed with the key card system to get to the hotel room floors using the room key card to get to the sleeping rooms. Very secure. The rooms were wonderfully spacious and very quiet. Having a microwave and mini fridge made things very convenient bringing our own items and having choices for casual food choices at restaurants within the building. A choice to eat inside or outside was nice and the atmosphere was relaxing inside and outside were both very relaxing. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the rooms were spacious, very clean and quiet. We decided to go back to take in some sights and activities in Madison and plan to stay there again when we do go. The Wisconsin Union Hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: When booking a room ask for the room most requested by repeat guests and/or what they would recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback! Summer months are the busiest for the hotel with wedding parties, new student orientation and University conferences so we make sure we're always going above and beyond to make sure everyone's stay is exceptional. We do take pride in our environmentally friendly standards and are very happy for your appreciation of our private key card access system. Things have gone very well over the past year since we've opened and it is because of people like you we can learn and grow from feedback and provide the best customer service possible.

Thank you again!

Tyler Dovenbarger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 159 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stayed here for business at the University, and was amazed at the hotel. Very quiet even though it is right on campus, great staff, new, modern, and a very large room. Fitness center within the hotel was nice, and the location is easy. I would pick this for a personal or business trip anytime. PS the bathrobes rock.

Room Tip: My suite had a great fridge, freezer, microwave and stovetop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Only by chance was I visiting my son in Madison during Mifflin. Upon entering Union South I was skeptical that this was the right choice for someone who prefers a quiet room (there were students EVERYWHERE).

I was pleasantly surprised after making it up to my corner room on the 4th floor (401), which was large (a suite), well-designed and had highly effective climate control. It was so quiet most of the time I felt like I was the only one there. With Mifflin (a generally out-of-control, drunken free-for-all) happening the conscientious management slipped notes under all the doors letting guests know their expectations for quiet (thank you), and that all noise complaints would be directed to the Madison PD. They took their guest experience seriously and that was greatly appreciated.

Located in the new Union South, it was a convenient location to walk to my son's dorm and also to the Capitol square and around town. If I didn't want to go anywhere outside the building the Union had a couple restaurants, Peet's coffee at the Prairie Fire, and a great little wine bar. The market stocked necessities plus a generous supply of Babcock Hall ice cream. Conveniently, my room had a refrigerator and freezer...

When I return to Madison for my next visit, the Union Hotel will be the first call I make.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Staci G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

We're extremely happy with your pleasant experience here at the Wisconsin Union Hotel and try every day to exceed our guest's expectations. Being located in the student union we are fully aware of events happening on campus and in the building. We host guests who stay with us for a wide variety of reasons and do our best to ensure everyone has a peaceful and memorable stay.

Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you back here again soon!

Tyler Dovenbarger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

If you’re looking for a place to stay that’s in the middle of the action around Camp Randall Stadium, this is the place. The Union is completely new and very nice – I grew up going to Badger games and staying in the old Union South so this is definitely a different scene. Room was comfortable, clean and modern. Comfy bed. Several different eating options on the 1st floor of the Union so no shortage of convenience. There is underground parking for hotel guests – but you need to check in first to get your pass. There is a circle for temporary parking right off Dayton so you can park there while you run in and check in.

One thing to note is that there is quite a bit of noise generated at night from The Sett, which is located on levels B, 1 and 2. We stayed on a Friday night and the noise from the band playing was pouring out to the patio and therefore our 5th floor room which faced the patio. If you’re looking for a little more peace and quiet during your stay, you might be better served by requesting a room without a patio view, or an odd room number (evens face the patio/Camp Randall).

We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. GO BIG RED!!!!!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a quiet room, request one that doesn't face the patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank badgergirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. Union South indeed is quite the busy place and we do our very best to keep the hotel as quiet as possible at all times. Typically on the weekends the Union does host various musical artists who perform on the first floor, however, we've performed sound checks and have taken various steps to prevent any noise on the first floor from disrupting our guests. Our round the clock staff is always here if there is ever any issue such as this that needs to be addressed.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and do our best to address your concerns to ensure you have an excellent stay. We hope to have you back in the near future.

Thank you!

Tyler Dovenbarger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My son and I stayed here during a recent college visit. The hotel was the perfect place to stay in order to experience the campus first hand. My prospective student enjoyed the bowling alley and pool tables in the student union. The hotel is connected to the student union so there are plenty of places to eat. We were walking distance to the university and the state capital and the staff was alway willing to help plan bus routes if needed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

The Wisconsin Union Hotel is the perfect place to stay for a campus visit. The hotel, located on the 4th and 5th floors of Union South, one of two student unions on campus, provides the ultimate experience for both parents and perspective students.

We hope you were able to experience everything the new Union South has to offer including a wide variety of dining options along with recreational activities such as bowling and rock climbing. Fun doesn't stop here at the Union, the hotel is just a short walk from Madison's historic State Street and Memorial Union located on Lake Mendota where you can unwind from a long day and grab a bite to eat on the Terrace overlooking the lake.

We're extremely happy your stay here at the Wisconsin Union Hotel was a memorable one and hope to see you back again real soon!

-Tyler Dovenbarger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Wisconsin Union hotel during a recent college visit trip (2 nights). This hotel is located in the new U-W Union South - a newly constructed building that opened April 2011. Location is very close to Camp Randall stadium. Staying here was particularly handy for us, since admissions office information sessions and tours start right in the first floor of this building. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds...very comfortable, with U-W color scheme. Nice bathroom with step-in shower. We did not get a discount, since we are not alums and were just visiting. Parking (included in our rate) was in the basement of the building, with direct elevator access to the lobby and room floors. Desk staff were friendly and helpful. The first 2 floors and basement of the building are a traditional (albeit modern) student union, with various causal restaurants, a convenience store, a bowling alley/billiard club, movie theatre,various function rooms and various open seating areas for students to meet/greet/eat. As a result, there is always a "buzz" when you enter the building later in the day....but it must be a well-insulated building since we could not here any of this buzz in our room. Upper floors are accessed only by hotel guests via a card key slot in the elevators. Eating at the hotel is self serve at these same restaurants mentioned above. I do not think they offer room service food options, Although this is not the cheapest option in Madison (although if attending a U-W event, discount rates are often provided), if you are doing something at the U-W, it is certainly one of the most convenient and comfortable options around. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZurichDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

As always we thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback; it is one of the most if not the most important indicators of how we're doing and what we need to do to go above and beyond our guest's expectations.

We're extremely happy you enjoyed your tour of the campus and hope you'll be back to stay with us for SOAR, the Freshman orientation program. UW Madison is an excellent university and whether you're coming for a tour or for SOAR, the Wisconsin Union Hotel is the perfect place to stay. All tours and the majority of SOAR events are held right here in Union South meaning you are only an elevator ride from where you need to be.

As you mentioned, the Union can be quite the busy place, however the hotel is nestled on the top two floors which only hotel guests may gain access to using their hotel key. This allows guests to enjoy all the Union has to offer such as bowling, live music, billiards etc. while having the luxury to go back to their own quiet, comfortable room to unwind from the day's activities.

Again, we greatly appreciate your feedback and encourage it from others. We hope to see you back again in the near future!

-Tyler Dovenbarger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My wife is a UW alum and has previously stayed in the old union hotel located in the main union, on the lake. She always referred to it as something close to dorm style. On this trip, we decided to check out the newer Union Hotel in the refurbished Union South. What a surprise! This place was great down to the smallest detail. Staff friendly and helpful. Parking convenient. The room was well-appointed and included a good view. Loved the UW decor everywhere. Only wish there were a better breakfast option on site. All other aspects of this place rock! First hotel I ever stayed in that include a climbing wall and a bowling alley. Awesome! This is my new go-to spot in Madison.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAMT2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
1.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#13 of 63 in Madison
680 reviews
1.1 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisconsin Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisconsin Union Hotel

Address: 1308 W Dayton St, Madison, WI 53715-1149
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Madison
Price Range: $130 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wisconsin Union Hotel - Madison at Union South offers a warm, inviting oasis of ‘green’ hospitality, welcoming you to one of the nation’s most livable cities with peaceful ambiance, artful decor, and unsurpassed service. This brand new 60 room boutique hotel is sure to please. Set in the heart of a vibrant Madison neighborhood, the new Union South is nestled between the Computer Sciences & Statistics Building and Engineering Hall on the south side of the UW-Madison campus, just across Campus Drive from the Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing