We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on UW Campus”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wisconsin Union Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel on UW Campus”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Great value for a centrally located hotel on the University of Wisconsin, Madison campus. It is located in the new Union South building next to Camp Randall Stadium. The rooms were great, lots of space (there were 4 of us), they are very eco-friendly. We stayed in a 1-bedroom suite, free wireless internet connection, kitchenette (with stove/ refrigerator/microwave), fitness center is small (3 cardio machines: treadmill, elliptical, bike; some weights), friendly and professional staff, parking included. There are a number of choices for meals and a bar downstairs or you can go into town. They have a rec center in the basement with bowling alley, pool tables, climbing wall. State Street with all of the restaurants, bars, shops is about a 15-20 min. walk. Best kept secret in Madison. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Suites are great, I think there are at the end of the hallway (they are the furthest from the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmlk82212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    44
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
23
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We can appreciate the security and "Green" efforts made by the hotel. However, as individuals we do not share the complete enthusiasm for "Green". This push by the hotel was at times rather annoying.

The staff was super, the rooms were nice, the location was great, parking was very good and secure. The annoyance of "Green" was not enough to make our time there negative. Our experience was very positive. Our other family groups were on the same floor, thus, close by.

Room Tip: The rooms were quite comfortable. Considering the location, you MUST be a Badger fan to fully appre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myke794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
First and foremost, we here at the Wisconsin Union Hotel want to thank you for choosing us for your accommodations here in Madison. We all strive to make everyone's stay here as personable, comfortable and convenient as possible and value your willingness to share your experience with others.

The entire Union South is collaborating with Madison in efforts to be more environmentally friendly by reducing energy usage, recycling etc. and by no means do we intend to make this an inconvenience for guests. Any additional feedback you have on our efforts would be much appreciated as we want to address all concerns our guests may have and get them resolved as quickly as possible. Please feel free to e-mail any suggestions to hotel@union.wisc.edu

Again, thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Sincerely,

Tyler Dovenbarger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, France
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Was in town for a 9-day workshop this July, and stayed here the entire time. The rooms seem new, and are very comfortable and pleasantly decorated. There's no free breakfast, but you're upstairs from the student center, which has coffee shops, etc., and there is a grocery store (Trader Joe's) a 15 minute walk away. The rooms come with a refrigerator and microwave, so it's easy to store food for yourself. Also, the pod-based coffee maker in the room Great access to campus. If you're a runner, be sure to ask for directions to the paths along the lake, which are just across campus.

The bottom line is that this was a very comfortable home base for my extended stay. I am a bit of a slob and was kind of camped out in the room for some of my stay, and the room was always well and promptly made up. The staff took great care of me. Someone (thank you, whoever you are) even noticed that I was using lots of coffee pods and left me extra.

There are only a couple of downsides to the place. One is that there is not much other than campus in the immediate surroundings of the hotel, and downtown is a bit of a hike. Also, the freebie soap/shampoo/conditioners are not so great, but this is really a minor detail.

Room Tip: There did not seem to be any distinctions between the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrinne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The staff at Union South were amazing! Our oldest daughter was married on the UW campus and had her reception at Varsity Hall in Union South. The staff at Union South not only did an amazing job with the reception, but the coordination of 25 rooms with family and friends coming and going at different times and days throughout the week went without one snag!

It was an amazing experience!

Room Tip: We had several rooms....some with views, two suites, and some rooms with handicap accessibility....a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schmitt450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Public Relations Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Hello,

First, we would like to thank you for choosing the Wisconsin Union Hotel and Union South for your daughter's wedding. We appreciate the fantastic review not only for the hotel but Union South as a whole. We hope that you are able to stay with us again in the near future!

Best Regards,
The Wisconsin Union Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed during our son's college orientation. The rooms and amenities are great. There's a nice coffee bar/wine bar on the first floor of the union. The parking is attached and included (a big plus on the campus). If you're lucky enough to get a room during football season, Camp Randall is just a block away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRGreenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Public Relations Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for choosing the WIsconsin Union Hotel during your son's orientation. We would like to thank you for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that in the future you are able to stay with us again!

Best Regards,
The Wisconsin Union Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Brand new and absolutely the perfect place to stay when visiting the UW-Madison campus. Puts you right in the middle of where you need to be and parking is included in the price! Once word gets out about this gem, I think it will be booked solid. Very secure with key card access needed for access to the hotel room floors (4th & 5th floors of the Student Union). Very "green" and energy efficient - must put key card in slot when in room to get lights to work - recycling bins everywhere. Gorgeous walk-in tile shower - huge flat screen TV.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcook344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Public Relations Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for choosing the Wisconsin Union Hotel for your stay in Madison! We appreciate the review and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope that you are able to stay with us again!

Best Regards,
The Wisconsin Union Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed one night with kids ages 7 and 10. My son was attending a camp all week on campus and so the location was perfect for the final night and pick up. The price was right as well at $119--better than most comparable nearby hotels. Very clean and well stocked. Union breakfast options very convenient as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankieWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Public Relations Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Hello,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Wisconsin Union Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay as well as the price! We hope that you are able to stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
The Wisconsin Union Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 63 in Madison
697 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#11 of 63 in Madison
649 reviews
1.1 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
1.0 mi away
Best Western PLUS InnTowner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisconsin Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisconsin Union Hotel

Property: Wisconsin Union Hotel
Address: 1308 W Dayton St, Madison, WI 53715-1149
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wisconsin Union Hotel - Madison at Union South offers a warm, inviting oasis of ‘green’ hospitality, welcoming you to one of the nation’s most livable cities with peaceful ambiance, artful decor, and unsurpassed service. This brand new 60 room boutique hotel is sure to please. Set in the heart of a vibrant Madison neighborhood, the new Union South is nestled between the Computer Sciences & Statistics Building and Engineering Hall on the south side of the UW-Madison campus, just across Campus Drive from the Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing