We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“2nd visit as good as the first” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 43 North - CLOSED

43 North
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: E. Main St. at S Webster St
Description: Contemporary American dining just off the Capital Square.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“2nd visit as good as the first”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We found this spot about a year ago, and we had the opportunity to come back and confirm just how good a place this is. Great meal, fresh local ingredients, energetic staff - it is now on our short list of Madison favorites. We had their special of the day - a Black Cod that was outstanding. Shared a great cheese plate for dessert that featured local cheeses. Service was outstanding. Will keep coming back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Whr53022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Restaurant Week Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Went with three friends for restaurant week, all were impressed with the drinks and local wine/beer offerings. The food was delicious and it was great to see into the kitchen as it was being made. The place was fancy but still approachable, a nice upbeat switch from Cafe Continental that had previously been in the location. Looking forward to eating here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, WI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I just ate at 43 North for a company dinner. We had the place to ourselves. The food, wine, and service were outstanding.
I would love to go back and see what other wonderful things they have on the menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3ThreeSons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“outstanding food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I was on business trip and we were walking with my collegue trying to find a decent place for dinner and I am glad we ended up at 43 North. The duck with grapefruit wasabi glaze I remember for a long time. I love duck and game, and that one was one of the best I ever had. Moist, tender, with perfect crispy for duck top and very yammy. Since that trip in May, I was in Germany and Italy, dining in MIchelin star restaurants and always had duck as a main course- none it even closely resembled the dish I had in Madison. Outstanding food. Bravo! Service is slow, but it is on purpose- do not rush eating your meal, enjoy every bite while it lasts.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great food, not-so-great service...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We recently went to this restaurant which is in a pleasant location in downtown Madison. It was a weekday evening and not crowded; perhaps 3 or 4 other tables there. The menu is diverse and allows the very nice option of either full or half portions for most items. We thought the food was fabulous, starting with two excellent salads and ending with 3 delicious entrees (the scallops, the salmon and the waygu beef). The real problem was the service. It was quite slow in spite of them not being busy. Also, the waiter started to put down my husband's entree at the same time as my salad, which would be strange enough even if he hadn't ordered his own salad.
All in all, great food, but don't go if you're in a hurry!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanniedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 43 North also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing