We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hyatt Place Downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Madison

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Madison
Ranked #8 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santiago
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hyatt Place Downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed there 6 nights this july. Great location just 2 blocks from the Capitol. Free shuttle service for longer distances up to a 2 mile radio. Airport pick up. Varied and good tasting breakfast service each morning from 7 to 10 on the side of the main lobby. Staff goes aout of their way to provide good service always with a smile. Rooms have a good work area as well and wi fi speed was beyond good. If I were to go to Madison again, this would be pick once again. Anna from the front desk volunteered great tips on restaurants and sights not to miss.

Room Tip: Serves breakfast. Indoor pool open until late hours. Starbucks service 24/7. If in doubts, just ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmpangui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    170
    41
    12
    12
See reviews for
181
133
15
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This Hyatt Place, while a limited service hotel obviously, provides consistently great service with a smile (I stay here with some frequency).

The location can't be beat. Staff tend to go out of their way to provide the excellent service Hyatt is known for. Anna and Alex in particular are absolutely terrific employees.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed 4 nights; the room was quite nice, but, as mentioned by others, the closet is TINY! The hot/cold breakfast was quite good - a nice variety of foods.Better than most. The front desk staff went out of their way to assist - I would say "2 thumbs up"

Room Tip: Get the 11th floor - nice view of Madison from there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Did three night stay a few weeks ago. The location can't be better, in walking distance of many downtown area attractions, and breakfast is okay if you get downstairs early enough. Upon checking in, took an hour to receive requested foam pillows (allergic to down) and they arrived with hairs all over them. Next day, Housekeeping did not clean room and went to front desk to bring this to their attention, they insisted it was clean, said I was just there, and staff questioned me again, then they asked if I needed anything...I was dripping in sweat from running...I could use a shower with fresh towels so someone was finally sent to room to clean. Next stay, room was cleaned but my hanging garment bag had been removed by staff. Bathroom was also extremely small, tight. No true business center, two computers with bar stools within lobby area. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Upper level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

You can walk to the Capitol and state street. Separate parking for hotel guest and centrally located in heart of downtown Madison. Check in was perfect with Rebecca Swanson. She was absolutely outstanding!! She listened to our needs and answered all of our questions, very professional and personable! Clean room/bathroom and they also have soft water. Very spacious lobby, lots of seating area for breakfast. Would recommend this place!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Opusx100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend visit to Madison. The location is great - downtown, within walking distance of the Capitol, the State Street shops and restaurants and the lake. The room was nicely laid out. The complimentary breakfast is good - they really try to put out some breakfast food (varieties of breakfast sandwiches, etc.) that are somewhat above average for the typical free hotel breakfast. They have a small "deli" area where you can buy drinks, salads, and sweets at any time, which was nice. Staff was very helpful. We would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

This is a very comfortable hotel just a few blocks from the capitol building and walking distance to the university. Friendly staff. On Saturdays during the summer, the farmers' market on the square is a fun visit. Good free breakfast. Only drawback is the awkward closet.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.3 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn on the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Madison

Property: Hyatt Place Madison
Address: 333 W Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53703-2968
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Madison
#6 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#8 Family Hotel in Madison
#18 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Place Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Madison Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing