We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Madison
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakton, Virginia
1 review
“great customer service”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

A bed and breakfast kind of feel in a chain hotel. Nice, clean room and very friendly, responsive service. The staff was genuinely kind and helpful. I ended up ordering from the "room service" (pickup) menu twice and it was excellent. The fitness center is small, but the four machines (ergo cycle, elliptical, and two treadmills) are high quality. I was thinking that I would be finding a local gym to get a sufficient workout, but I was pleased to find dumbbells from 5-50 lbs (not pictured on the website for some reason) and an adjustable bench. Overall, this is a great option if you don't need a big, posh kind of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    207
    56
    19
    13
See reviews for
237
156
18
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I was not familiar with the fact that the "Hyatt Place" chain is a budget offering from Hyatt. Initially I was disappointed by its somewhat spartan appearance. However, our room was adequate and clean, and even had a small sectional couch which was fun for the kids. Sink is located outside of bathroom in the main bedroom, so the bathroom area was small for four to share. Breakfast was typical free breakfast of a chain -- dry bagels, horridly plastic little circular eggs, canned fruit, but decent oatmeal with toppings and good coffee. Small pool with no jacuzzi. Small workout room with just two treadmills and an elliptical. Free computers with Internet downstairs.

The location of this hotel is perfect for sightseeing Madison. However, if you're looking for something a little nicer (and a little pricier) go to the Hilton, which is also perfectly located.

Their "restaurant" is simply a bunch of frozen things that the desk clerks put into a convection oven. Don't think about getting room service here as your primary meal!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisterbay716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Room and property were very clean and modern. Stayed in two queen bed suite with two daughters and wife. Great use of space we didn't feel cramped at all. Front desk staff was great. Only gave 4 vs 5 because cleaning staff spoke barely any English came to room at 9 am Sunday and wanted us to check out. I don't care of they speak English or not, and the rooms were clean (most important thing), but if they don't know to come back later when I am standing in my PJ's at 9 am while answering the door, they need some customer service training. While the cleaning person was nice they were clearly confused and a discussion was not possible they just stood there looking at me. I called front desk they handled well. Also they quit serving Sunday brunch at 10 am 11 would be nicer. That being said I Would stay again gladly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DVerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great little place in downtown Madison and close to an abundance of things in the city.

The room was spacious and accommodating but the lights in the bathroom took a very long time to "warm" up and had to turn on and wait about fifteen minutes for the brightness to be where it should be (otherwise its pitch darkness).

Be sure to pack up your things before you leave and TRIPLE check everything.
The housekeeping is HORRIBLE.

I managed to somehow leave my man's "fancy" razor in the shower (and it was the only thing in there and you'd really be a dunce if you missed a black handle looking thing in a beige shower stall!).

I called the hotel immediately the same day I checked out and notified them of my lost object and that consisted of leaving a message for housekeeping.

Some things about the Housekeeping:
1.) They NEVER call you back---I called FIVE times to see why they hadn't called me back and if they found my item. When they do call back, it happens when you're not around and turns into a game of phone tag followed by another few days of waiting for them to call back AGAIN.

2.) One occasion when I called I was put on hold and the manager came on and was apologetic but that never got anything solved as I still had no answer about whether they have or they don't have my lost item.

3.) Why do they have an answering machine in housekeeping in the first place when they can't follow up in the first place!

It's been over a MONTH and they called me to ask me for more details about my lost item---once again I ended up leaving a message, called back and spoke with the lobby staff and I'm STILL waiting for a call back to see if they found the item or not. I'm assuming they did since they're asking for more details! How difficult is it to recognize a razor handle!!!!

Overall the lobby staff are very nice.

If the hotel Manager is reading this....I want some answers and a call back in relatively quick turnaround to an issue! Simple advise; if you run your hotel and treat your customers like it's a five-start resort, I guarantee that you'll have more pleasant guests who are willing to forgive bad housekeeping habits like not finding a very recognizable item!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njnow02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Hyatt Place Madison, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Please contact me at the hotel so we can resolve this. The phone number is 608-257-2700.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have been travelling to Madison WI for decades. I normally stay at other central downtown hotel locations on my visit, but those hotels were sold out this weekend. I was pleasantly surprised with the room ammenities and hotel ambience at Hyatt Place Madison! Great hotel! Centrally located downtown and near campus (though there are other hotels that are closer to campus). The Hyatt Place Madison offers shuttle services. I will definitely consider this hotel as one of my future hotel options for downtown Madison!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I picked this hotel for its location. Overnight stay in October 2013. Selected a junior suite even though it seemed pricey. Very disappointed with room quality. Dated, no microwave and the small fridge did not quite close properly, the free coffee provided in the room was of poor quality. The location was not quite as ideal as I thought it was going to be. It was still quite a walk to restaurants on a cold night. Pool was tiny, more like a decorative pond. Breakfast buffet was the only nice surprise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I am always impressed by Hyatt Place when I've stayed in other locations and it was no different for our stay in Madison. Although my husband did all of the checking in and business with the front desk (he had no complaints), I enjoyed the modern set-up of our king bed room, shower that felt amazing, and free breakfast that was a unique spread with many different options. I wished we could have stayed all weekend instead of just one night. Even though it was freezing, the walk from the capitol square is not bad. We booked during Madison's new "Hotel Week" so we got a pretty good deal, it was nice that the hotel participated.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flonlolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.3 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.4 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Madison

Property: Hyatt Place Madison
Address: 333 W Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53703-2968
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Madison
#6 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#8 Family Hotel in Madison
#18 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Madison Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing