We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just terrible!”
Review of Cancun - CLOSED

Cancun
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Just terrible!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I placed an order online to be delivered. It took an hour and a half to arrive, which wouldn't have been so bad if the food wasn't completely cold when it did finally show up. I ordered nachos and fajitas. The nachos were soggy and had MAYBE a handful of cheese. The fajitas would have been fine, IF they had included the tortillas...I imagine the food would be better in house, but I think I will be trying a different location in the future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdwardK58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandown, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Best. Burrito combination we have had since coming to Madison!! Fabulous fresh ingredients and excellent seasoning ! We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wunderdgnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the tenderloin!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

There is a dish on the menu that is outstanding, tenderloin tips in a red spicy sauce with jalepenos and also comes with a large enchilada with cilantro sauce that is as big as a burrito! I think it is called filete a la mexicana. Try it-so yummy! Love this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miladygodiva9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Cancun: A Madison West-Side Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Cancun is an alternative to the local chain of Mexican restaurants in Madison. We stopped in for a change of pace. At the dinner hour we were one of three tables--really quiet. The decor is bright and colorful, but the benches in the booth seem "sat out." The service was great. We had previously enjoyed the salsa and chips--the salsa had a nice cilantro flavor and some moderate heat. This time the salsa was not as good. We ordered fajitas to share and they were presented on a sizzling cast iron skillet with tortillas in a covered wicker basket. They seemed heavy on the green peppers and onions with less meat, but the flavor was good. Mid-way through dinner my companion and I noticed a gritty-ness to the food. The server thought it was the fajita spices and the chef came out to check on us, too. They stressed that the shrimp in the fajitas were well rinsed. We were given a free dessert. Bottom line: the food and the ambience was not quite as good as we had experienced before.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aquadroplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“disappointing experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We tried this place after discovering Pedros west had closed. The food was mediocore at best.... a magnifying glass would have helped locate the chicken pieces in the nachos! We ordered appetizers and four different entrees. The flavor was not bad but the skimpy servings that were not reheated throughout negated the experience. The restaurant had only two other tables filled yet they seated us all next to each other like a fast food diner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hellofromme123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cancun also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing