We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Madison neighborhood gem - just ask the locals!”

Daisy Cafe and Cupcakery
Ranked #5 of 26 Dessert in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Port Orchard, WA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Madison neighborhood gem - just ask the locals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We visited the Daisy Cafe on our first-ever visit to Madison for business. The Cafe is well-known to locals and recommended by people we met. As in our many foreign travels, we find the best food and cultural experiences are to be discovered in neighborhoods off the beaten path, and Daisy Cafe, located about 2 miles from city-center, didn't disappoint. Nothing cookie-cutter here.

We now know that the restaurant started 3 years ago as Daisy Cupcakery, and the display of gourmet cupcakes greets guests inside the door. The decor is neighborhood-friendly with large windows connecting patrons to the busy street. Living-room seating gives those waiting for a table extra comfort, and large hanging leaded-glass art panels and support columns define the otherwise open floor. Diners sit at tables for two or four, and each furniture group is unique - we sat at a table that was like those I grew up with at our family vacation home over many decades. Artworks adorn the walls, and we learned that all pieces are by the owners or their family members. Restaurantuers as artists seems a good marriage of talents. Eclectisism permeates traditional in this decor.

We were there for a late lunch on a Friday. My wife's order of huevos rancheros were, in both our estimates, the best we've ever tasted. We've visited at least 25 major cities in Mexico over the years (including going to cooking school in Oaxaca), and Daisy's version is exceptional. I ordered from the highlighted meatloaf menu - chorizo and cheese - and I could now see myself eating their meatloaf every week. Both meals came quickly, were well-presented, and were more-than-filling. Great food at great values. The lunch menu is extensive and the many attractive items hard to chose among. If we hadn't planned short on a busy UW football game day, we would have returned to explore other items on our way to the airport.

During our "long" lunch hour - Daisy's serves beer, wine (including every varietal of 'Cupcake Vineyards' production), and cocktails - we observed the owner's attention to everything going on in the restaurant as he conversed with some new guests. He maintained an eagle-eye on customer reception, food prep, and even the replacement of a wet napkin. If there is one common characteristic of good restaurants, it is active owner / manager involvement. It is clearly part of the "bones" of this place, and that is probably the biggest reason that Daisy's sits in the top 6% of TA ratings of Madison restaurants.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spyder3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    43
    16
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our family chose this restaurant for a brunch/lunch get together and none of us had been there before. The best omelet I've ever had (chorizo & avocado), everyone raved about their selections. It was busy and noisy, but that's perfect when taking small children. We'll go back soon!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Smitty70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
417 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“It's OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This has been our third experience at Daisy. Thus far, breakfast , lunch and dinner. This time dinner. We made a reservation for 7:30 and were seated promptly. Restaurant was fully occupied. We were brought water quickly and ordered a glass of wine. 20 minutes later, we still had not any wine and had difficulty waving down the waiter. There were only two wait staff which was clearly not adequate on a busy Friday night. Many tables remained uncleared while people waited to sit down. Our entrees were fried cod and chicken meatloaf. Both were average. The cod arrived luke warm and was accompanied by pzarmesan mashed potatoes and a very good veggie slaw. My partner enjoyed her meatloaf with fresh vegetables well sauted and three cooked tomatoes. As we were ready to leave, our waiter brought us two cinnamon rolls and apologized for the earlier delays. That was a good touch and the fact that the wait staff is empowered to correct an error is a good sign. We find the cupcakes (prior visits) to be average, too small and not a particularly good value. There are better cupcake choices in Madison. The store in Hilldale is superb (cannot remember the name as I write this). Daisy needs to stop reading about their past accolades and get down to the basics of running a fine restaurant in a very competitive landscape.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GiseppeGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow and more wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Cupcakes to impress and food enjoy! Plus, you get a great relaxing environment to enjoy fabulous food served by super staff. Bring the kids or your sister, they know how to make your dining out time enjoyable. Circle park is close by and don't forget a visit to the nearby Gail Ambrosius Chocolates. I love the antique tables and super dark coffee.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agingxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cupcakes gallore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Their food is excellent. They really have pride in their food and the cupcakes have been beautifully decorated.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daisy Cafe and Cupcakery also viewed

 

Been to Daisy Cafe and Cupcakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing