We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bayou - CLOSED

The Bayou
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place To Eat”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was a great place to eat. The service was excellent, the food was expertly prepared (Blackened Shrimp, Jambalaya and Red Beans with Rice). Great atmosphere - felt alot like I was in New Orleans! Prices were very reasonable. This stop was totally worth every penny.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina53403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food & awesome atmosphere”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Walking in, I was pleasantly surprised by the NOLA decor. :) Our server was friendly & helpful. My red beans & rice were amazing & my husband ordered a jambalaya chimichanga that he loved! We also had beignets for dessert-delicious! It was pretty low-key for a Saturday night. The server told us they have live music some nights too. It would be fun to visit then and sit on the balcony.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RevGetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Food was excellent; seating, not so much”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a coupon in our Bucky Book we wanted to use & at 2pm on a Saturday, there was plenty of seating. Started out with the fried cheese curds - yum! Then had the cajun nachos which were quiet delish! They need to do something about their small, metal lawn chairs for seating. If I were eating outside, it would be one thing, but to be inside, I wasn't impressed. Though I did choose to sit there instead of bar stools around the table. I guess you could say it was the lesser of the evils. For the food I'd have given it 5 stars, but I downgraded to 4 because of the seating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chefgraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YUCK”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

seating is metal lawn furniture and the skinny curly haired kid smoking dope out front with his meth addict looking friend turned out to be the manager. never again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Bad experience”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I read a lot of the bad reviews on Yelp and Trip Advisor but decided to try it anyway because I love New Orleans cuisine. It was honestly one of the worst dining experiences I have ever had. We called and made a reservation and when we got there we had to sit at a high top in the bar and the table was dirty and sticky. The decor was kind of neat but the service was so awful. We waited 30 minutes before our waiter even came to take our order. The table next to us stood at their table to signify they wanted to leave just so they could finally get their bill. The management needs to hire more servers. Only 2 servers on a Saturday night for the whole restaurant is not a good idea. The food was pretty bland. I got the cajun pasta and my husband got the etoufee (mushy slop). Both had the same taste so it was obvious their recipes and flavor don't vary much from one another. I would only give it 1 star but am giving an extra star for the unique decor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LNM1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bayou also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing