We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They overchage you.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Madison
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Madison
gainesville fl
1 review
“They overchage you.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

I got this hotel from priceline. It says 79.99 without tax (14.5%). So it should come to 91.59. But they charged me 93.17. I called them and they told me it was because they had a safe in the hotel.
The mattress was terrible.
Overall, it is not worth it.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ychd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    24
    15
    7
See reviews for
20
30
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

I stayed here with my tour group, and they were well organized to check everyone in, but the air con wasn't working at all in our room once we got there. The machine was powering, but no cold air came out of it. Luckily when we got back to the room after an evening out, it was ok, and proceeded to get colder as the night wore on.

The mattress was quite poor, and I could feel the springs in my back. The pillows were so large and firm, that it hurt my neck to use it, so I ended up sleeping without a pillow altogether.

Breakfast was included the next morning, and consisted of breads, waffles, hard boiled eggs, coffee, and juices.

Overall the stay was mediocre, and I am glad we were only there one night.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

This place provides good, basic lodging at a reasonable price. If you want something special or fancy, look elsewhere. There are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance that will fit anyone’s taste or budget. The first room I was put in had a very loud air conditioning unit, but the front desk personnel put me in a different room. Free breakfast includes standard cereals, juices, bagels, and make-your-own waffles. You can’t take any of the food with you, though, so forget eating in your room or making a second meal off the breakfast bar. Free Wi-Fi Internet worked well, as did the multi-channel Cable (Satellite?) TV. I’d definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValueOriented11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sensan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

I would never stay at this hotel again. The mattresses were older and very soft. The rooms were clean. But two out of the three of my family had very cold showers in the morning with standing water in the tub. This was early in the morning too. WIth all the stays at hotels in the past, this has never happened to us before. This was a convenient location and the staff was helpful when we checked in.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sensan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

Certainly not your midrange motel in quality but the price is certainly right. The place is old but has been kept up quite well and is clean. Rooms are old and small as are the bathrooms but everything seemed to work OK and you get a free newspaper in the morning and they do have internet. Sorry, no pool.
The breakfast is mostly prepackaged food and not much to brag about but the folks are friendly and if you have the need for a motel on the far east side of Madison, this place will work.
Be sure to request that your room be in the main building as there is an additional building but I was not in it and don't know what it is like.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Smelled nice upon entering. Convenient location. Clean bathroom. our total came to 70 dollars with tax. Large TV.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

We were headed to see Michael Feldman's "Whad'Ya Know" at the Monona Terrace, but didn't want to pay the $228 that the attached hotel was asking. The reviews on here were generally non-negative, and the ones that were negative were older.

You know when you walk into a room and just feel "icky"? That's this place. I'm fine with popcorn ceilings and blank panels on the walls and ceilings where fixtures used to be... that shows evidence of renovation. This place just gave us the creeps, though. If you come, bring your Lysol.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryancopeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN East Towne Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Madison-Northeast
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Madison East
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Madison
Red Roof Inn Madison
#56 of 63 in Madison
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Madison

Property: Econo Lodge Madison
Address: 4726 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Madison 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing