We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pet Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Madison West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Madison West
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

They bill themselves as pet friendly, and they are. Our two Westies received a warm welcome and even treats from the desk clerk the next morning. Other than that it's pretty basic. The room was clean and quiet. The continental breakfast was very limited. The location was convenient for the highway, but not much else. If you're looking for something other than pizza delivery, the Dhaba Indian Bistro about three blocks away on Greenway Boulevard was very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM1253, General Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers on Trip Advisor know about your experience at our hotel. Our staff members strive to provide superior customer service and accommodations to our guests, and always love seeing their furry companions as well. We invite you to visit us again during your next trip to Madison to experience our recent renovations and breakfast upgrades. We hope to you see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Sarah Andler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    75
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
60
32
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriends and I are staying here and are absolutely appalled by the bar tender! He is very RUDE and needs to work on his customer relation skills! I have read the reviews on TA and was very open minded walking into the pub, however...the bartenders rudeness was apparent from the start. I have worked in customer service for 15 years and know a thong nor two about the way to speak to customers. This bartender definitely needs a lesson in how to treat the customer! My girlfriends and I only ordered wine, yet he insinuated that we were making his job complicated. I will be speaking to the management before we check out about his awful demeanor.
On a brighter note...we absolutely LOVE our room! There are 6 of us staying in a suit and there is PLENTY of room. Would like to say we'll be back, but due to the rudeness of the bartender, we may think twice. Too bad one bad seed can ruin it for everyone else.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Amie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

However I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your suite.

Please contact me directly in regards to your experience at our bar so I can correct this situation for you.

Rest assured this quality of service is not up to our standards. I'll be sure to address and follow up with our bar staff.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Linda Ly
Front Office Manager
lly@wiscohotels.com
608-836-3033
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This place was wonderful. The continental breakfast far surpassed my expectations! It was awesome and the staff worked hard to keep everything fresh and supplied. The jacuzzi in the room was great, the bed was comfortable and we had more than enough pillows (which is unusual). We really enjoyed the hot tub and heated pool after having a long day on our feet! The hot tub is HUGE with plenty of room for everyone! It was nice that the room did not smell of chlorine.
We especially enjoyed your happy hour and JD, the bartender. He was so awesome! He was a lot of fun to talk to, very courteous and prompt! I loved his hair and wanted to run my fingers through it, but was afraid to ask! Please tell him Joie says, "HI!" I will not forget the good times we had at the bar with him....
If we are ever back in the Madison area we will stay here again! It was wonderful and a good value....
Thank you so much for a memorable, fun and comfortable experience!
Joie G

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the end of June. Friday evening check in was quick despite slow computer issues. Complimentary cocktails 5-7 was a bonus. Although, upgraded drinks may cost $1. Bottles of beer and rail drinks were free.
The room was clean and roomy. The shower head has multiple settings and good water pressure with a rounded shower curtain for extra space. Both beds were surprisingly comfortable and the pull out couch bar, did not prevent sleep. We did not utilize the breakfast as we checked out prior to it opening.
Overall nice stay and I would recommend this location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stay was nice except both of the rooms we booked were damp and uncomfortable. Our rooms smelled musty/moldy/like mildew. My entire family had breathing problems the week we slept there. Also the breakfast area was never fully stocked. The front desk staff was awesome!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lettyanne09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Comfort Suites in Middleton and found most of the staff would go above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. However, when we went to the hotel happy hour, we were shocked at the attitude and appearance of the bartender. Not only was he rude, condescending, and pompous, but his hair and clothes were disheveled, and was in no way professional. First, the happy hour is advertised as complimentary to guests, and we were under the impression the selection was free - there is no written menu that was presented to us that stated otherwise. After we were served our drinks, we were told there was a charge, which I was fine with paying, and told the bartender as such, yet he continuously embarrassed me by interrupting my conversation and gesturing from across the bar that I owed him money several times. If the hotel wishes to charge for its "complimentary" happy hour, that is perfectly understandable, but I would encourage them to have a more formal billing process and posted menu. And lastly, my daughter was in the bar area, and informed me of the following: The bartender spilled a drink on the bar himself, did not apologize or offer to replace the drink to the customer, and he threw a bar rag at the customer, insinuating it was the customer's responsibility to clean it up.

Overall, the experience was okay. We have been to other Choice Hotels in the area, and have had a better overall stay with a better value elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you would like a quiet stay, do not stay on the first floor as it is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadisonLover1754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa-shi, Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were traveling through Madison and stopped here for the night. We had our two boxers with us and unlike other hotels this was not a problem. They got us a room immediately and the service was great. The room was spacious and clean, no problems at all. I would definitely stay here again if I'm traveling thru Madison!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West/Middleton WI West
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison West
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Madison - Junction Court
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Madison West

Property: Comfort Suites Madison West
Address: 1253 John Q Hammons Dr, Madison, WI 53717-1941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Madison
#28 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Madison West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Madison Wisconsin Hotel is situated walking distance from shopping, dining and more on Madison's West Side. Free hot breakfast buffet daily, free cocktails to the hotel's lounge Mon. - Sat. from 5-7pm, free high speed internet including wireless and free airport shuttle based on availability. Amenities include an oversized pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Relax in a Two Story Suite and/or Whirlpool Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Madison West Hotel Madison
Madison Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing