We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, quiet & good sized room & bath” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Madison West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Suites Madison West
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Schofield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quiet & good sized room & bath”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Although the facility is showing some wear & tear, it is clean and conveniently located. Room and bath were spacious. Complimentary cocktail hour & breakfast were nice. We would stay here again. Front desk personnel were very helpful.

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatCherylSchofieldWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, General Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your stay on Tripadvisor! We truly appreciate your feedback and are so glad that you found your accommodations spacious while staying with us. Our staff strives to make each and every guest feel welcome and comfortable while staying with us, so we are very pleased to hear that they were helpful to you. We are in the beginning process of upgrading some of our facilities, so please visit us again next time you are in Madison to enjoy the improvements at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    76
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
66
34
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This motel has the best customer service I have ever experienced in my motel stays..room was exceptionally clean, check in was quick. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone traveling to Madison,WI. The dining area had plenty of tables and room for the free breakfast,several choices of coffee.. We loved it!!

Room Tip: we just booked a regular room...it was so spacious..the free internet was easy to access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, Director of Quality at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank-you for letting us know about your stay on Trip Advisor ! We are so glad to hear that you felt we had best customer service that your experienced in your travels ! We really do care about our customers and try to make them feel at home. I'm also happy to hear that your room was exceptionally clean and Thank-you for recommending our hotel to those traveling to Madison,WI.
We are glad you loved it and we hope to see you again the next time your in Madison !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osseo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Convenient access, great parking, friendly and efficient front desk staff, comfortable room with a very comfortable bed, great shower, in-room coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave. I was very pleased with this hotel. We were checking in , and the desk clerk told us they had a nice breakfast starting at 7 AM. When we mentioned that we'd have to miss it as we had to be out early to make a 6AM flight out of MSN, she said no problem, they'd make us grab and go bags in the morning, just ask the clerk when checking out. We did, and he gave us a choice of apple, banana, or orange to go with the granola bar and bottle of water. We knew we couldn't get the water through airport security so we left it in the car but the fruit and granola bars were very nice to have while traveling. I slept very well here, which was very much appreciated considering how early we had to be to the airport, which is easily reached bypassing the city on the west side.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, General Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks for letting us know about your stay on Tripadvisor ! We are gald that you found us easy to access . We aim to please so are happy to hear you felt our staff was friendly and efficient. We are glad you felt comfortable with your room, bed, shower and our other amenties such as in-room coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave. I'm also happy to hear you liked the grab and go breakfast bag to make your early start ! Thanks again for staying with us and letting us know how your stay was ! We hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

At this price, I simply expect a clean room with nice staff. I got both. I did have one issue, though. I booked a non-smoking room. The room smelled of smoke. When I went back to the front desk, they said that this is a non-smoking room now, but that it used to be a smoking room. Well, they didn't do a very good job of getting the smell out. They moved me to another room and all was well. So overall, I had a good stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crnky_asian_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, General Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor ! We are glad to hear that you felt you had good service and a clean room at a fair price. I'm sorry that your first room had a smoke smell but was glad that the staff was able to get you moved to another room. It is true that the room you were first check-into was a smoking room in the past. Thanks for letting us know about the issue so we can try to get it resolved ! We hope to see you again soon ! Thanks again for staying with us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milton, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights over Labor Day weekend. Our last stay at a hotel in the area was a little disappointing, but I am happy to report this hotel was MUCH better. The price was economic and the room was great. VERY comfortable beds with lots of pillows and a generous supply of towels. The beds were a little smaller than I expected, but I realized too late that I had reserved a room with double size beds instead of Queen. There was a refrigerator and microwave for keeping leftovers from the great area restaurants. Our check in and check out times were speedy. The breakfast buffet was better than many hotels and the eggs tasted like We didn't get a chance to use the pool, but it looked nice with a VERY large hot tub. The decor was just a little dark, but it was tasteful and comfortable. They also had a very "green" energy conserving system that I had not seen before where you have to put your room key in to turn on the electrical system in the room. Quite interesting. Not to mention the recyclable trash can in the room. This is an excellent place to stay for anyone who is interested in saving our resources. We will definitely be staying again when we come to the area to visit our son in college!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hinnahwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay ! We are glad you tried our Hotel again and that you found it more enjoyable ! We try to please and are glad that you enjoyed our Breakfast and Comfortable beds and our Hotel amenties ! Thanks Again for staying with us ! Hope to see you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Spend three nights in this hotel while visiting Taliesen and House on the Rock in Spring Green WI. Stayed here because there were movies and restaurants in the area. The staff was very helpful in recommending places to eat and things to see and do. The room was very comfortable, with nice decor, comfortable beds with plenty of pillows, refrigerator in room, and very hot water. They had the typical breakfast bar, nothing exceptional, just filling. Overall had a very nice stay. Recommend the hotel very highly.

Room Tip: Ask for room on front side of hotel nearest the parking lot, the room we had was on the back side an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, General Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay on Trip Advisor ! As you had mentioned we are in a great location. We are close to shopping. resturants, movies and a little under a hour to House on the rock area ! We are glad your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed our beds, pillows and hot water ! Thanks for recommending our hotel and please come again the next time your in Madison !

Amy Miniya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We just returned from a short trip to Madison and stayed at this hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We received a courtesy call to our room after checking in to see if everything was satisfactory. Everything was very clean and inviting. They even had warm chocolate chip cookies at the front desk when we went out for a while. The pool area was also nice. The free breakfast was quite good. I did not take advantage of the complimentary drinks at the bar, but that was a nice option. The only downside was the pull-out couch. It did not make for a very comfortable bed, but it was tolerable. I would recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Wi-fi was spotty on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teachermom83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, General Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with our Hotel and thank-you for taking the time to let us know on TripAdvisor ! We are glad to hear that your enjoyed our Amenties such as, breakfast, pool area and cookies ! I'm glad you felt our service was good and our hotel was clean! Sorry that the sofa sleeper was not as comfortable as the rest of the hotel. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you the next time your in Madison !

Amy Miniya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West/Middleton WI West
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison West
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Madison - Junction Court
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Madison West

Property: Comfort Suites Madison West
Address: 1253 John Q Hammons Dr, Madison, WI 53717-1941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Madison
#28 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Madison West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Madison Wisconsin Hotel is situated walking distance from shopping, dining and more on Madison's West Side. Free hot breakfast buffet daily, free cocktails to the hotel's lounge Mon. - Sat. from 5-7pm, free high speed internet including wireless and free airport shuttle based on availability. Amenities include an oversized pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Relax in a Two Story Suite and/or Whirlpool Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Madison West Hotel Madison
Madison Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing