We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Comfort Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Madison West
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Comfort Suites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

This was the second year in a row that we chose to stay at the Comfort Suites and we love it more each time. The young lady at the front desk was helpful when we checked in. We reserved a whirlpool suite and it was very clean, large and comfortable. Since last year they have updated the beds and bedding and they are both wonderful. We also love that this is a totally non smoking property so when we were in the lounge for our 2 free drinks each night there was no smoke to deal with. The hotel is in a great location. Not too close to the craziness of downtown and not too far to get down there either (it took us about 15 minutes to get to the square for dinner). We had a great stay and look forward to going back again soon!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank bsisvogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, September 2, 2008
Thanks for choosing our Hotel when your in Madison. We wanted to also thank-you for your feedback regarding our hotel and are glad that you enjoyed your stays with us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    82
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
75
36
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2007

I am a business traveler, and the Comfort Suites of Madison is an excellent value.
The room is very large, most are either King or double bed suites, with a small half wall (less than 4'), that houses a sleeper sofa, microwave, and fridge. The bathroom are clean, and very large as well. This would be an excellent choice for a family as well.
The pool is oversize, and I was the only one that used it on a weekend night. The workout center has freeweights, treadmill, and two other machines, and cold water, TV and fans available.
The front desk staff was very friendly, and spent the time to explain the conveniences that you had available to you.
The location is very convenient to shopping, and to many restuarants (many will deliver, and there is room service, with free kid's meals with an adult entree), but it is about 8-10 minutes from the University/Downtown.
Complimentary breakfast, that has eggs, and make your own waffles available...
I would strongly recommend, and visit again!!

  • Liked — Size and cleanliness of room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WisconsinHigh_Miler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2007

We just returned from a weekend sports tournament and were pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

The rooms are VERY clean and we love the 100% no smoking atmosphere. We were also very happy with the size of the room. There were only 2 of us but this room could easily accomodate more. The bathroom is sizeable as well and the shower had great pressure. Again all very clean and tidy.

The beds were comfotable and ample pillows were provided.

A continental plus breakfast is included and there was a great selection of cold and hot foods- different on both mornings which was nice.

The pool was very nice and not over chemicaled like some can be- very spacious atmosphere with a prety decent game room attached

The staff was great and very pleasant- I would stay here again anytime!!

  • Liked — location, room size
  • Disliked — noisy hallway close to lobby
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sccrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2007

I staid two nights at the hotel for work. Unfortunately, the previous night their elevator broke (with someone inside it, the front desk lady said) and I was on the third floor. The staff was nice enough to carry my luggage for me, and I saw that they offered it to anyone that checked in after they explained about the elevator. (It was fixed after about a day and a half.)

I had a double decker room and was amazed at how large it seemed. The sitting area was nice and I was able to set up my computer without any problems... However, I was using a lot of bandwidth and don't think the hotel or it's firewall liked that too much. Although I was hardwired I did occasionally lose connection and need to re-agree to the hotel's terms of service to continue.

The stairwells and hallways were rather warm, for the most part, but the rooms could get nice and frosty depending on your likeness. The bed had a mattress pad that, I think, was pillow top so it was pretty soft to sleep on. The pillows were soft and squishy and they had an alarm clock next to the bed that was very helpful.

I had two bathrooms, one with a whirlpool tub. In the downstairs bathroom I found a spot of blood on the side of the toilet (that wasn't mine). I simply closed the door and didn't use that bathroom... I know it's easy enough to miss a spot here or there. I also found 1 out of the 13 towels I was given had a small spot of dirt, but I simply didn't use it. The whirlpool tub was rather nice upstairs... the water staid hot even though it took a lot to fill it. There was a water line on the tub that I scratched at, but it didn't come off and the rest looked and felt clean.

There isn't a restaurant in the building, but there are plenty nearby and the Hilton hotel down the road delivers food the the rooms of Comfort Suites for a charge. In the evening there is a free three drink happy hour and in the morning there is a small continental breakfast with the normal cereal, yogurt, coffee, bagels, and muffins. They also offered some eggs and ham, but to me they didn't taste that great.

All in all it was a decent enough hotel. I felt safe and the staff was nice. I probably would have liked it a little bit more clean, but I was far from concerned that I'd catch something from the surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank brinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, September 2, 2008
Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback on TripAdvisor. We apprecatie the comments that are made and from those comments we try to improve as needed. I apologize about our Elevator during your stay and can safely say that is not a typical experience. Thanks again for staying with us and letting us know about your experience !

Hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2007

This hotel had a very friendly staff, nice sized rooms and comfy beds. Our suite had 3 t.v.'s and 2 bathrooms. The free high speed internet even worked on the 3rd floor. Easy access to the highway and close to food and shopping. The free breakfast had some hot items. The only compaint I have is the elevator was extremely slow! My family will be back!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank spackler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2005

I have no idea what these bad reviewers are talking about. I thought the facility was very nicely done, our room was excellent and our king bed was very comfortable. We were very happy with our stay!!

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2005

My friend and her family took me with them to the Comfort Suites. We had a double decker suite on the top floor, just like the first reviewer. The sleeper sofa was sooo uncomfortable. My 11 year old friend and me (11) had back aches after sleeping on the sleeper sofa. Never will stay here again. Water in pools is way too salty, highly chronated.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, September 2, 2008
Thank-you for your feedback regarding our Hotel. I'm sorry you had a bad experience. We try to create a pleasant stay for all of our guests and am sorry to hear your's was not up to standard. We value all concerns and Thank-you for bringing them to our attention !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison West
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison West/Middleton
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Madison West/Middleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West/Middleton WI West
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Madison West
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Madison West

Property: Comfort Suites Madison West
Address: 1253 John Q Hammons Dr, Madison, WI 53717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Madison
#28 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Madison West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Madison Wisconsin Hotel is situated walking distance from shopping, dining and more on Madison's West Side. Free hot breakfast buffet daily, free cocktails to the hotel's lounge Mon. - Sat. from 5-7pm, free high speed internet including wireless and free airport shuttle based on availability. Amenities include an oversized pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Relax in a Two Story Suite and/or Whirlpool Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Madison West Hotel Madison
Madison Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing