We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but be sure you know what you are getting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Madison West
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but be sure you know what you are getting.”
Reviewed November 15, 2009

I booked a King 1 bdrm suite since my boyfriend stays up later than me (watching T.V.) and I get up in the a.m. earlier than him. (to have breakfast, go out, etc.) I always get a 1 bdrm suite when traveling so that we do not disturb one another's sleep. The problem with their 1 bdrm suites is that the bathroom and clothing closet is in the bedroom. There is no door separting the bedroom from both the bathroom sink/vanity & clothes closet. Plus the sink/vanity/closet have a very bright light. The toilet/shower do have a door but you still have to go through the bedroom to get there. If you are a light sleeper and on different sleep schedules from your parter, this will not work. You would have to upgrade to a 2 bdrm suite. The hotel staff is great/very friendly. About 15 min. drive to campus. Very clean, new. Nice kitchen. Smaller living room area that what you would expect in a "suite."

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jizell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    126
    24
    16
    4
See reviews for
184
97
27
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2009

The hotel is fantastic, new, clean...Thus being said - the front desk help is in need of training they gave out our room key to another traveler and we later found out people were in our room! Might have been a fluke - but the hotel is worth the stay anyway!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jusjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

My wife and I stayed here over the weekend of July 18 and we were very surprised at the great value here. This hotel is quite new, having opened in October 2008. It's in excellent condition and we were very satisfied with this place.

It was an excellent value, too. We had been traveling for a week and we had stayed in quite a few hotels. This place was not only the most comfortable of the lot, it was also the lowest price. We paid under $90 for the night (excluding taxes) with our AAA discount. That was a refreshing change.

Don't be intimidated by the far west location. It's still only an easy 10 minute drive to downtown Madison.

We also enjoyed the free DVD movies.

Breakfast was not just your typical hotel fare, but instead it included a nice omlet.

We didn't use the full kitchen with dishwasher, pots, pans, dishes, etc., but would have if we were staying for several days. We appreciated and used the full size refrigerator/freezer.

This hotel also has a nice exercise area and a pool. It also has a 24 hour business office for guest use with fax and internet access.

Very good hotel and an excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailorJon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I was working out this side of town and was able to walk to the office from the hotel. the room was great. high quality fittings and everything appeared brand new. The place was very clean and breakfast was provided every day. I wouldn't stay here if you wanted to hang out in town, as it is a little way out of town.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grassgrowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, Il
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were traveling with two other couples and we all agreed that the accommodations were great. We chose it especially because of the suite arrangement since we wanted to spend the evenings together just talking, with wine and snacks, and all six of us were comfortable in a living room. The kitchens were very nice but we didn't really use it much. The free breakfasts were very good; plenty of room for all to sit and eat with food replaced quickly. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms and other parts of the hotel were clean and well maintained. It looks like a newer hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

I don't know if this hotel is so nice because it's still very new, but everything just worked out very well! Love the room that we were in, and breakfast buffet was marvelous!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison wi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

I'm writing this as I sit on my king bed in my 1 bedroom suite at this hotel! It just opened in October 2008 and everything is brand new...which means it is clean and beautiful! Just lovely aesthetically. However, as with most new things, there is the "new" smell which really is offgassing of chemicals from the new furnishings, carpets, glues used to put those things in place, paint, etc etc etc...and so with all this, there are high levels of VOC fumes present. Add to this that you are unable to open any windows for fresh air and there is no way to use the in room A/C to just fan in fresh air from outdoors...it causes a headache BIGTIME! The indoor heated pool looked lovely until we opened the door and went in to chlorine fumes so bad that our eyes were red and watering, we had to leave. We tried to vent the one door in there to the outside but the receptionist came back and told us that was not allowed. When I inquired as to the health effects and hazards of inhaling chlorine gas, she just shrugged it off and responded that she has to close it. Case in point...this place is beautiful, good location, but it is unhealthy and will hurt your head (I'm not even sensitive to these things usually, I'm from a very smoggy place so you'd think this wouldn't bother me at all...but the fumes are pretty strong). One more thing to mention, the maids didn't come to clean our room until almost 5pm...at which time we were in for the evening with our young children so our room was never cleaned....annoying, but less so next to the headache from the fumes. Wouldn't stay here again without some fresh air (open windows). And I forgot to mention they allow VERY large dogs here...ones which bark and attack kids...yikes...not a good idea, but a-ok here! Probably not long before this place will be run down from animals...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
1.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Madison
Radisson Hotel Madison
#20 of 63 in Madison
529 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#17 of 63 in Madison
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Madison West

Property: Homewood Suites Madison West
Address: 479 Commerce Dr, Madison, WI 53719-4924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Madison
#3 Family Hotel in Madison
#7 Business Hotel in Madison
#9 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Madison West 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Madison West hotel, located in Madison, Wisconsin, next to Princeton Club West. This hotel is convenient to the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Kohl Center, CUNA Mutual, Epic Systems, West Towne Mall and several great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Madison West Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing