We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent staff and amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites Madison West
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel with excellent staff and amenities”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed for three nights over Memorial Day weekend with our toddler. The staff was super nice and the included meals (breakfast and dinner) were above par. Clean rooms, fully apportioned with everything we needed. Having a gourmet grocery across the street (Brennan's) was also a plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portlandvisitor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    126
    24
    16
    4
See reviews for
184
97
27
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Across the board, excellent. Clean and comfortable, priced right. Great staff. I have stayed here approx 10 times, never have been dissatisfied

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestExplorer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Full Disclosure: We stayed on Hilton Honor Points so this visit was free. However, I think I was more critical thinking they'd give us a crappy room seeing that we weren't paying guests. Nothing could be further from the truth!

Check in was quick and my daughter and I perused the meal area trying to get a feel for what would be offered the next morning at breakfast. The 17 year old spied the waffle station and was immediately pleased.

We were given a room on the 1st floor (I usually ask for a top floor room but forgot this time) and I immediately thought...our sure -- we get stuck in the dungeon. We moved our stuff down to our room and were thrilled to see that our room was looked out at street level (the lobby is actually on the 2nd floor) and was very nice.

The room was clean, clean, clean!! The shower would accommodate someone above the height of 5'5" which is sometimes rare. Even though we were given a 1st floor room the room was extremely quiet and we never heard anyone above/alongside/or outside in the hallway.

The hotel is in a great location. We found a back way to the West Towne Mall vs. taking the freeway. Much closer and more convenient. There were many great placed nearby and we ate at R.P. Adlers on Saturday night and we walked home and got right in the 1st floor door and avoided the elevator ride if we had gone to the 2nd floor enterance. There is a Milio's sandwich place directly across the street too and a coffee place also.

And breakfast...YUMMY! I eat the same breakfast at a hotel each time (english muffin with peanut butter, yogurt, and maybe some egg type of thing). I had this same meal but the western omlet was surprisingly good. The kid loved her omelet and my husband cannot go wrong with a bagel and 2 boxes of Fruit Loops! Sunday morning they had Mimosas for Mother's Day and the waffles had fresh strawberries too!

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay. We are quite the fans of these properties but our favorite is in downtown Chicago as these rooms are HUGE!

Bravo Homewood Suites Madison West. If we ever have the need to stay here again you will be our first and only choice!!

Room Tip: I was surprised that a first floor room was so quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Convenient west side location. Nice room. No complaints, but breakfast was a tad spartan. Not up to the standards of other Homewood Suites that I've visited or even the Hampton Inn which is located next to this property. The staff, however, was very helpful and helped me get a banana from the Hampton Inn for my breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights for a business trip. The hotel is located near a strip mall, which though not a very sceninc setting, does provide you with some restaurants and shopping nearby. My room had king sized bed with desk, sofa and kitchenette with a dishwasher. The hotel provides free breakfast (with make-your-own waffles) and dinner (just one entreé). The staff were very friendly and helpful. One morning while having breakfast I sat and watched as the cleaning staff came in to work through the lobby. Each staff that entered gave a genuine "good morning" to the front desk staff which was met with an equally genuine "how are you?" and smiles. Staff working the dinning area not only greeted each person walking in, but also hugged a few. This atmosphere made me appreciate my stay in the unscenic location of West Madison more than my recent trip to a Maui hotel (see my other reviews).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B and P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I've stayed here on business several times now and I never want to stay elsewhere when I'm in Madison. The hotel is super clean and very well maintained. The staff are beyond friendly. The breakfast is free and better than a lot of restaurants and they do free dinners a few nights a week. The gym is small but I always got a treadmill when I wanted one so I can't complain. The rooms are spacious and the fact that there's a kitchen is awesome. The only downside is there's no bar on premises but you can walk to the brewpub across the road. Plus that's probably a good thing considering I always need to get up early when I'm in town. Don't stay anywhere else in Madison!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dogfish60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. They have a great free breakfast an everything is very clean.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgiese84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
1.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Madison
Radisson Hotel Madison
#20 of 63 in Madison
529 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#17 of 63 in Madison
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Madison West

Property: Homewood Suites Madison West
Address: 479 Commerce Dr, Madison, WI 53719-4924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Madison
#3 Green Hotel in Madison
#7 Business Hotel in Madison
#9 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Madison West 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Madison West hotel, located in Madison, Wisconsin, next to Princeton Club West. This hotel is convenient to the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Kohl Center, CUNA Mutual, Epic Systems, West Towne Mall and several great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Madison West Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing