We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice bakery food with friendly service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Brioche presents True Food

La Brioche presents True Food
Ranked #129 of 975 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice bakery food with friendly service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile


Went here for brunch on Saturday. Lots of selections for us egg eaters. I had a good scramble with standard greens. The balsamic didn't really go with my scramble but it wasn't bad. The eggs Benedict looked amazing.

Others had a big cinnamon roll and a morning bun which is the real reason to go here. Ya gotta have one of those!

Service was great. Very attentive and asked all the right questions about the complicated drinks. Even whether we wanted raisins on our rolls.

Nice brunch or lunch spot. I would go again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    31
    13
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
254 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Better for lunch than dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Bun, as a friend and former server called the place, is a great place for breakfast or lunch. Egg dishes or soup & sandwich combos are fresh and flavorful. The coffee is good and a wide variety of bakery goodies await.

My experience at dinner has been more spotty. The service is still good but the food tends to come a bit slower and cooler. Also, the menu seems to try too hard to be trendy and sometimes misses the mark. (My pork chop on this visit was tough.)

Dinner prices are reasonable for most items. But it is hard to recommend coming here for dinner when you are only a few blocks away from Lombardino's, which is a step up in quality without a price bump.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MadisonGrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Savor the flavor!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This lovely restaurant in Madison, WI has never failed to provide me with a great dining experience. I go there whehever I visit Madison! From comfortable seating to comfort food, La Brioche is a favorite of mine in the Mad City dining scene. And I love the fact that you can get breakfast any time! All of the food is presented in a relaxing atmosphere and the serving staff always make you feel like you are their only customer -- even when the place is very busy. A great place to dine with a friend when you want to feel that you are not being hurried and also seems to be very popular with larger groups. And watch out -- the cupcakes are too tempting!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portage wi
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect place to unwind and have a good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This restaurant is a regular on my list when visiting Madison - the environment is enjoyable (inside or outside, depending on the weather), the food is fresh, most of it local and the staff are just the right amount of friendly. I can't recommend anything in particular because I always try something different and so far haven't been disappointed. Only negative is that sometimes that soups are too salty. But hey, the breads are great and if you enjoy tea, make sure you try any of them. You get your own pot -each one is different - and it's always a taste delight. Conveniently located so parking isn't a problem and usually there's no wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kirchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
413 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Value? Quality? Mixeds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our luncheon included vegetable quiche (spinach and feta). The crust was flaky and overall taste flavorful. Second option included a one-half BLT sandwich and potato chive with cream cheese soup. The soup was thick and very salty. The sandwich had a large heaping of arugula, small tomato and one slice of bacon (Not a particularly good value). Ambience is pleasant and the restaurant has outside patio seating.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GiseppeGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Brioche presents True Food also viewed

 

Been to La Brioche presents True Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing