We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great staff, great food”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The breakfasts at this Hampton Inn make it one of my favorite places to stay. We stayed for four days and each day the breakfast offered new and delicious hot dishes. They offer in-season fruit that tastes like its locally grown. The room was comfortable, even the pull-out sofa. The staff is exceptionally nice and everyone always speaks and greets the guests. The property has a nice indoor swimming pool that offers a play area for kids. There’s also a nice hot tub for adults. The business center and fitness center are on a smaller scale but offer everything a traveler needs. The staff makes a special effort to welcome guests -- they even put up balloons and a welcome table on the weekend of University of Wisconsin graduation. Construction makes it a little difficult to find the hotel but it's worth the effort. Special tip: make sure you go to the front entrance to register. The back entrance is attractive but the door is key-coded. I saw a couple haul their luggage up the back stairs before they realized they couldn’t get in to register.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for your wonderful review! We are always working on improving the quality and variety of items we offer for our breakfast and are very excited to hear that you enjoyed the options that were available. Our ultimate goal is to exceed expectations for every guest and I hope that we were able to do this during your stay. We hope to be able to see you again soon!

Matthew Hiel
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    138
    26
    16
    4
See reviews for
208
97
23
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I looked for a place to stay midway between Indianapolis and Minneapolis and Madison fit the bill. The hotel met our needs of handicapped accessibility for my wheelchair bound husband. It was easy to find, very clean and the staff was welcoming. We did not wish to go out to eat dinner and the staff provided several options for take-out and delivery. The room was large and comfortable. High Speed internet worked great. My only complaint would be that the mattress was a bit soft for my tastes but that is a personal preference. It was clean, comfortable and would suit most to a tee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bobbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We really value feedback from all of our guests, as this allows us grow and improve constantly. I’m glad that we were able to meet your accessibility needs as we do our best to accommodate the needs of each and every one of our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Matthew Hiel
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel several times after our daughter moved to Madison. The staff are very friendly and helpful; the rooms are clean; the breakfast is actually quite good. We've been very happy with our experiences at this hotel and will continue to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amery
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My daughter lives in Madison, so I visit her at least a couple of times a year. I always stay at the Hampton because I know I'll be satisfied. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the beds are comfortable. They have a great breakfast included with your stay that frequently includes fresh berries and cheese omelets. The pool area is nice and its easy to get to off of hwy 12. I feel the price is reasonable for the quality lodging.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello ShelleS61,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your review. I will be happy to share your comments with our entire staff. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you the next time you stay in Madison!

Matthew Hiel
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We would suggest the Hampton Inn to anyone traveling to the Madison area. The staff were friendly and helpful from check in to check out, the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the pool had great water features that our kids LOVED! The complimentary breakfast had tons of choices- even a make your own waffle station! The location was also great; it's walking distance to a number or restaurants and even a grocery store. We really enjoyed our stay and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello Leslie W,
Thank you so much taking the time to share your wonderful recommendation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I will be happy to pass along your feedback to our front desk and housekeeping teams. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
291 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was booked solid, but we got our reservation in just in time. The catch was we (2rooms) were just below the gym. Thankfully they were able to switch us to new rooms as guests checked out. The breakfast was better than I remembered, with fresh berries and even granola. The staff was friendly and helpful throughout the stay. Thank you!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
13 Thank Shibumi365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello Shibumi365,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! I am glad that we were able accommodate a room move for you. Also, thank you for the kind words regarding the breakfast. We are continually trying to improve the variety and quality of food items that we offer. Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West and we hope that you will consider us for your next business trip!

Sincerely,
Matthew Hiel
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel of this class...newer property and kept extremely clean. Front desk staff is very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast area is spacious and one of the best in a Hampton I have experienced. Fresh fruit (strawberries, blueberries, oranges, apples, and bananas) in addition to all the other hot and cold items. This stay was during several events in town and they handled groups well. Parking is adequate with some overflow in the back, lower lot. I actually stayed here twice in the same week/ weekend. Second time back was upgraded to a suite which was very nice and spacious with microwave and refer. I'll be back to this place and highly recommend to others when in the area.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hello Dave S,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that your breakfast experience was a pleasant one. We are constantly striving to improve the food items that we offer at our breakfast and it is encouraging to hear when our guests enjoy them. I will be very happy to share your comments with our entire front office team. Thank you so much for staying at the Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West and we look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Matthew Hiel
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Madison
Radisson Hotel Madison
#16 of 63 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Madison West
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
Address: 483 Commerce Dr, Madison, WI 53719-4924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Madison West hotel, located in Madison, Wisconsin, next to Princeton Club West. This Hampton hotel is convenient to the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Kohl Center, CUNA Mutual, Epic Systems, West Towne Mall and several great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Stes Madison West Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing