We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in west Madison”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed at several Hamptons on a 10 day trip through Michigan, Illinois and Wisconsin and they were all consistently very good. Without exception, the beds were very comfortable, the rooms and bathrooms clean, the wireless access excellent, and use of printers etc. very handy and all included in the room price as was breakfast. This hotel had a particularly great pool for kids with lots of features and openings onto an outdoor patio. Breakfast options included hot items, waffles, the full range of muffins, breads, etc., fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, you name it. Staffing was appropriate in terms of making sure items were refreshed quickly and tables cleaned. All the staff that we had contact with were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel is right off an exit and near a large shopping plaza with grocery store, Lands End Inlet, Outback restaurant, etc. all of which we took advantage of. Many great dining options in downtown Madison which was an easy 10 minute drive away. We were at this hotel for 3 nights in a king room. Chose it for driving proximity to FLW Taliesin in Spring Green, Wisconsin. Got an excellent AAA rate - Hampton provides good value if you need wireless access, business services, pool, fabulous fitness rooms and breakfast with great coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 641 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

Very good rooms and installations. I really recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruoli2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

My husband and I and our two teenage girls used this hotel as a base for visiting The House on the Rock and Cave of the Mounds (lovely drives from the hotel to both places). The hotel was VERY clean and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was decent; there was a wide variety of things to choose from, including plenty of healthier choices like yogurt, granola, and bagels. The breakfast room is large, bright, and pleasant. Kids loved the pool. If you have little ones, there is a nice shallow area for them to play in with slides and fountains, etc. Pool area is extremely clean and tidy.
Cleanliness is my number one priority in a hotel, and this is one of the cleanest I've stayed in.
Our double room was spacious and comfortable. The climate control was also one of the best I've encountered. I think this hotel is a very good deal for the money and would definitely recommend it for those who don't want to stay in downtown Madison.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apisparva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

As Hampton slowly overcomes it's reputation as a mixed bag, this location stands out as one of the very good ones. Relatively new with an attractive location, it is as clean and comfortable as you would expect from a new Hampton, with a friendly staff and an adequate breakfast. Rooms are nicely decorated and the Suite Shop is well stocked. The bed is standard issue Hampton. Bathrooms are appropriate for persons of size and the shower is appropriate for persons of height up to roughly 5' 11". Housekeeping is prompt, comprehensive and polite. The television offerings are more robust than at a lot of other facilities, though no PPV for those of you who want to watch movies.

Check out time is noon, which is appreciated. Not everyone is an early riser.

Considering that, in the past, I've paid more for much worse Hamptons, I'm going to recommend this one without reservation. It isn't perfect however, so here are the minor quibbles:

-Internet access during peak times is subpar, and during off peak times is below average.

-The parking situation is below average as well. The lobby is on floor two, with the property split with half the parking facing this entrance and the other half facing a stairs only entrance to floor one.

-Not the easiest location to find off of the expressway.

-Newspaper delivery is spotty, for those of you who expect this particular perk.

-The workout facility is closed between Midnight and five am. As it does not abut a room, there is no need for this. It should be open 24 hours.

-If staying near the elevator, be aware that the muzak system is loud and the noise will bleed into your room.

-Soundproofing between rooms is very good but not perfect. A small amount of road noise bleeds in as well.

-The air conditioning unit in room does not have a constant on fan setting, unlike other hotels. For those of you who rely on the ambient noise of a fan to sleep, this can be an inconvenience. The unit shuts off when it reaches a temperature whether you want it to or not.

All told, a nice night's sleep at a nice rate in a new Hampton, with services you expect.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cromartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Overall, this was a nice place. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. The front desk staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. When I'm in the Madison area again, I'll be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

This hotel provides all of the facilities of the major chains. It had comfortable and spacious rooms/

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photo131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We frequently stay in Hampton Inns as we travel, and have come to expect a reasonably tasty and filling breakfast, especially given the relatively high price for the room. This hotel is new, has a lovely lobby and breakfast area and amenities we rarely use. The room was more than satisfactory, very quiet with bright light bulbs in the reading lamps by the bed. Pleasant front desk staff. The hotel had been full the night before because of the WI/Ohio State football game. I don't know if this had something to do with the poor quality of the breakfast offerings. The mixed fruit was obviously leftover, the hot items (Canadian style bacon and scrambled eggs) were awful, and the plastic silverware was so small it was hard to use. I finally made myself a waffle which was fine. The other baked goods also looked day old. I hope this was just a bad day, but bad days shouldn't happen in hotels. Usually the breakfast person is very visible, but not on our visit. Several guests had not bothered to throw away their breakfast items, and in the 30 minutes we were in the breakfast room, they were not cleaned up by a staff person, even though it was not at all busy. There were also 4 televisions blaring two different channels. Not what I need in the morning! The sad thing is that the breakfast room itself is one of the nicest and largest we have been in at a Hampton.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MnMomTwinCities_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Madison West
7.2 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West

Address: 483 Commerce Dr, Madison, WI 53719-4924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Madison
#26 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range: $99 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Madison West hotel, located in Madison, Wisconsin, next to Princeton Club West. This Hampton hotel is convenient to the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Kohl Center, CUNA Mutual, Epic Systems, West Towne Mall and several great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Stes Madison West Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing